
DOH 422-144 July 2022 

Request to Change Sex Designation  
on a Birth Certificate for a Minor 

 DOH 422-144 July 2022 
 
 
Who may request a change?  
A minor who was born in Washington State and wants to change their sex designation on their birth certificate 
may request the change using this form.  
 
What is required under WAC 246-490-075?  
Minors (under 18 years of age and not emancipated) 
• The request form must be completed and signed by a parent or legal guardian on behalf of the minor 

wanting to change the sex designation on their birth certificate. Legal guardians acting on behalf of the 
minor must include proof of legal guardianship (i.e. certified court order). 

• The request form must be signed by a licensed health care provider, including licensed mental health care 
provider, whose scope of practice allows them to determine that the requested change is consistent with the 
minor’s identity. 

 
Applicable Fees 
There is no fee to amend the record.  
 
If you would like to order a certificate with a correction request send completed Certificate Order Form with your 
correction request with a check /money order for $25. Include all required documents referenced on the 
instruction page for the certificate. The certificate will be issued after processing the correction. 
 

Exchanging a certificate: If you currently have a certified copy of a certificate that was issued less than 
one year ago, send in the certified copy of the certificate with this correction request; we will exchange the 
certificate at no charge.  

 
Additional Information 
If your child is under 18 years old and you have not legally changed their given first and middle names, you can 
submit an Affidavit for Correction with consent of all listed parents to change the first and middle names. If your 
child’s name has been legally changed on their birth certificate, you must provide a certified legal name change 
court order with this request form. If you want their full current legal name amended on their birth certificate, 
indicate by checking the appropriate box. Additional proof documentation might be requested. For information on 
legally changing their name, please visit our website at www.doh.wa.gov/VitalRecords. 
 
Use by government agencies 
At this time we are unsure if other agencies, such as Passport, will accept these amended certificates. For those 
that include change of sex, nothing on the record will indicate a change was made. This will make it difficult to 
connect the current record with the previous name on other documentation. In some cases, a court order might 
be needed for full use of the new name and sex designation.  
 
   

Mailing the form: 
Center for Health Statistics 

Department of Health 
PO Box 47814 

Olympia WA 98504 
 

Phone: 360-236-4300 
Email: VitalRecordsCorrections@doh.wa.gov  

Web: www.doh.wa.gov/VitalRecords 

https://doh.wa.gov/sites/default/files/legacy/Documents/Pubs/422-182-BirthCertificateOrderForm.pdf
https://doh.wa.gov/sites/default/files/2022-03/422-034-AffidavitforCorrection.pdf
http://www.doh.wa.gov/VitalRecords
mailto:VitalRecordsCorrections@doh.wa.gov
http://www.doh.wa.gov/VitalRecords
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CLEARLY PRINT OR TYPE INFORMATION. See the front-page Information Sheet for instructions and further details. 
WARNING: Willfully providing a false statement to the Department of Health for a certificate is a gross misdemeanor under 
Washington law. RCW 70.58A.590(2). 

 
 

  Complete in Ink 
 

Office Use Only 
 Certificate Number Fee Number Date Amended Staff Initials Amendment Number 

Applicant’s Information 
  First name (as appears on Birth Certificate) 

       
Middle name (as appears on Birth Certificate) 

      
Last name (as appears on Birth Certificate) 

      
 Full current legal name (if different, submit certified legal name change court order) 

      

 Amend name on birth certificate?  
    Yes    No     

Date of Birth (MM/DD/YYYY) 

 
Place of Birth (City or County) 

      
Mother/ Parent 1 name as it appears on Birth Certificate (First, Middle, Last) 

      
Father/ Parent 2 name as it appears on Birth Certificate, if applicable (First, Middle, Last) 

      
Mailing Address (Address, City, State, ZIP code, Country) 

      
Daytime phone  
(       )        -           

Email Address 

                                                                 

  What sex designation is currently shown on the birth certificate?......................................  Male     Female    X      

  What sex designation are you requesting to show on the birth certificate?........................  Male     Female    X      

I authorize the licensed health care provider listed in the health care provider section to release information related to this request. I certify under 
penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington (chapter 9A.72 RCW) that the foregoing is true and correct. 
 
 

X                                                                                                                                                                            
    Parent/ Legal Guardian signature                         Relationship to minor                               Date signed  

 

Health Care/ Mental Health Care Provider Attestation  
This section must be completed by a licensed health care provider or licensed mental health care provider, whose scope 
of practice allows them to determine that the requested change is consistent with the minor’s identity.  

Your name as it appears on your license Credential type 

Professional License number 
 

Expiration date 
 

Issuing state/jurisdiction 
 

Phone number 
(           )                 - 

Email Address 

Attest to the following: 
1. I attest that I have a provider / patient relationship with the minor…...…..…………………………………..  Yes    No 

2. I attest that the requested designation is consistent with the minor’s identity…………………………….……..  Yes    No 
 
 
 
  

By signing and submitting this document to the Department of Health, I certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington 
(chapter 9A.72 RCW) that the foregoing is true and correct.  
 

 

X                                                                                                                                                                                          
           Health care provider signature                                               Print name                                        Date signed      
   


	Complete in Ink

