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State disciplines health care providers 
 

OLYMPIA  The Washington State Department of Health has taken disciplinary actions or 

withdrawn charges against health care providers in our state. 

The department’s Health Systems Quality Assurance Division works with boards, commissions, 

and advisory committees to set licensing standards for more than 80 health care professions (e.g., 

medical doctors, nurses, counselors). 

Information about health care providers is on the agency website. Click on “Look up a healthcare 

provider license” in the “How Do I?” section of the Department of Health website (doh.wa.gov). 

The site includes information about a health care provider’s license status, the expiration and 

renewal date of their credential, disciplinary actions and copies of legal documents issued after 

July 1998. This information is also available by calling 360-236-4700. Consumers who think a 

health care provider acted unprofessionally are encouraged to call and report their complaint. 

Clark County 

 

In August 2013 the Dental Commission charged dentist and general anesthesia permit holder 

Thomas M. Kreger (DE00005279, GA10000108) with unprofessional conduct. Kreger 

allegedly didn’t meet the standard of care in anesthetizing or sedating five patients. He allegedly 

told the Dental Commission his patients received only local anesthetics or moderate sedation, but 

records show five patients were placed under general anesthesia or deep sedation. For nearly four 

years, Kreger allegedly allowed an unregistered, non-credentialed dental assistant to practice. 

 

In August 2013 the Health Care Assistant Program ended probation for health care assistant 

Gerardo J. Nieves (HC60214048). 

 

In August 2013 the Chiropractic Commission entered a modified agreement with chiropractor 

Thomas Kessinger (CH60161096) that gives him six additional months to pay a $4,000 fine. In 

a 2011 agreement after his California license was revoked, Kessinger was given 18 months to 

pay the fine. He was placed on probation for at least five years. 

 

Cowlitz County 

 

In August 2013 the Counselor Program charged agency affiliated counselor John Andrew 

Preheim (CG60155747) with unprofessional conduct. Preheim allegedly hasn’t complied with 

an order that he undergo a mental examination. 
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Island County 

 

In August 2013 the Dental Hygienist Program entered an agreement with dental hygienist Anita 

Lee Rodriguez (DH00001530) that placed her credential on probation for at least one year. She 

must pay a $1,500 fine. Rodriguez, who operates a dental hygiene business, practiced without 

adequate supervision by a dentist and beyond her scope of practice. 

 

Jefferson County 

 

In August 2013 the Chemical Dependency Professional Program ended probation for chemical 

dependency professional trainee Kimberly Annjanette Carroll (CO60146076). 

 

King County 

 

In August 2013 the Nursing Assistant Program issued a statement of charges against registered 

nursing assistant Gary B. Rice (NA00185206). The charges say that Rice is unable to practice 

with reasonable skill and safety because of a physical or mental condition. 

 

In August 2013 the Nursing Assistant Program reinstated the registered nursing assistant 

credential of Sundae Renee Jones (NA60170026) and placed her on probation for at least two 

years. Her credential was suspended for failing to show up on time to care for a vulnerable adult, 

and falsifying records. 

 

In July 2013 the Nursing Assistant Program denied a registered nursing assistant credential to 

Carlton Devon Maxwell (NA60360557). In 2011 Maxwell agreed to facts sufficient for a guilty 

finding on a third-degree theft charge. 

 

In August 2013 the Nursing Assistant Program conditionally granted a certified nursing assistant 

credential to Beth Ellen Tuthill (NC60333889) and placed her on probation for at least one year. 

In 2013 Tuthill’s registered nursing credential was conditionally reinstated. 

 

In August 2013 the Massage Program conditionally granted a massage practitioner credential to 

Ty Dannon Kent (MA60390809) and ordered him to undergo screening for a substance abuse 

monitoring program. 

 

In August 2013 the Nursing Assistant Program charged registered nursing assistant and certified 

nursing assistant Wondu G. Tanetse (NA60187481, NC60190437) with unprofessional conduct. 

The Department of Social and Health Services found Tanetse abused a vulnerable adult while 

working as a nursing assistant in a nursing home. Tanetse isn’t allowed to be employed in caring 

for and having unsupervised access to vulnerable adults. 

 

Lewis County 

 

In August 2013 the Chemical Dependency Professional Program ended probation for chemical 

dependency professional trainee Martin Edward Montague (CO60206713). 
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Pierce County 

 

In August 2013 the Counselor Program charged agency affiliated counselor Vicky Lynn 

Shumaker (CG60164199) with unprofessional conduct. Shumaker allegedly asked a coworker if 

he was interested in buying a controlled substance. She also didn’t respond to a Department of 

Health request for a written response to the allegation. A 2013 first-degree theft conviction 

included the provision that, for 10 years, Shumaker must not be employed working with or for 

vulnerable adults on a paid or volunteer basis. 

 

In August 2013 the Medical Commission charged physician Paula L. Schulze (MD00021853) 

with unprofessional conduct. A 2012 stipulation required Schulze to take continuing education in 

record-keeping and in deep vein thrombosis, and to write a research paper about deep vein 

thrombosis and pulmonary embolisms. She allegedly hasn’t complied. 

 

Skagit County 

 

In August 2013 the Nursing Commission charged registered nurse Erin Lynn Linvog 

(RN60245004) with unprofessional conduct. In 2013 Linvog was convicted in federal court of 

tampering with consumer goods and acquiring controlled substances by misrepresentation, fraud, 

or deception. 

 

Snohomish County 

 

In August 2013 the Nursing Assistant Program charged certified nursing assistant Tami Patricia 

Callahan (NC60079601) with unprofessional conduct. A patient at the facility where Callahan 

worked left her purse containing her debit card in her room when she was transferred to a 

hospital. Between that time and the patient’s death about two weeks later, Callahan allegedly 

stole the debit card, using it for about $3,723 in purchases and withdrawals for her own benefit. 

The Department of Social and Health Services found she financially exploited a vulnerable adult 

and will not allow her to be employed in caring for and having unsupervised access to vulnerable 

adults. 

 

Spokane County 

 

In August 2013 the Chemical Dependency Professional Program charged chemical dependency 

professional trainee Greg D. Stewart (CO60308173) with unprofessional conduct. Stewart 

allegedly admitted forging his school advisor’s signature on a confidentiality form. He allegedly 

admitted consuming alcohol before reporting for work at a chemical dependency treatment 

facility and working there while under the influence of alcohol. While working at another 

chemical dependency treatment facility, Stewart allegedly tested positive for marijuana use. 

 

In August 2013 the Nursing Assistant Program charged registered nursing assistant Robin 

Rebecca Crandal (NA60285324) with unprofessional conduct. While working at an assisted 

living facility, Crandal allegedly knocked a patient to the ground with forceful contact while 

removing the patient from another patient’s room.
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Walla Walla County 

 

In August 2013 the Chemical Dependency Professional Program conditionally granted a 

chemical dependency professional trainee credential to Andrea Leigh Dressler (CO60245625) 

and placed her on probation. In 2008 Dressler was convicted of six counts of obtaining 

controlled substance by fraud. In 2009 she was convicted of three counts of forgery and one 

count of possession of hydrocodone. In 2009 her registered nursing credential was suspended. In 

2012 her chemical dependency professional trainee credential application was denied. 

 

Whatcom County 
 

In August 2013 the Chemical Dependency Professional Program charged chemical dependency 

professional and chemical dependency professional trainee Kevin Patrick Maier (CP60267483, 

CO60138358) with unprofessional conduct. Maier allegedly used controlled substances at a 

treatment facility where he worked, and allegedly used methamphetamine. Charges say Maier 

paid for a client’s hotel room, stayed there with the client after drinking alcohol and being too 

impaired to drive home, and provided a urinalysis test schedule to a second client. 

 

Yakima County 

 

In August 2013 the Chemical Dependency Professional Program denied a chemical dependency 

professional trainee credential to José Guadalupe Acevedo (CO60371695). From 1996 to 2011 

Acevedo was convicted of seven gross misdemeanors. 

 

Out of State 

 

Oregon: In August 2013 the Unlicensed Practice Program notified Sherry Dress of its intent to 

issue a cease-and-desist order. Despite having no Washington midwife credential, Dress 

allegedly advertises that she’s a certified midwife in Oregon with authorization to practice in 

Washington, and that she practices midwifery in eastern Washington. She allegedly provided 

midwifery care to four women in Washington and helped them deliver their babies. 

 
 

Note to Editors: Health care providers charged with unprofessional conduct have 20 days to 

respond to the Department of Health in writing. The case then enters the settlement process. If no 

disciplinary agreement can be reached, the case will go to a hearing. 

The Department of Health website (www.doh.wa.gov) is your source for a healthy dose of 

information. Also, find us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter. 
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