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State disciplines health care providers 
 

OLYMPIA -- The Washington State Department of Health has taken disciplinary actions or 

withdrawn charges against health care providers in our state. 

The department’s Health Systems Quality Assurance Division works with boards, commissions, 

and advisory committees to set licensing standards for more than 80 health care professions (e.g., 

medical doctors, nurses, counselors). 

Information about health care providers is on the agency website. Click on “Look up a healthcare 

provider license” in the “How Do I?” section of the Department of Health website (doh.wa.gov). 

The site includes information about a health care provider’s license status, the expiration and 

renewal date of their credential, disciplinary actions and copies of legal documents issued after 

July 1998. This information is also available by calling 360-236-4700. Consumers who think a 

health care provider acted unprofessionally are encouraged to call and report their complaint. 

Benton County 

In August 2014 the Nursing Commission entered an agreement with licensed practical nurse 

Hannah J. Baird (LP00054640) that places her credential on probation. Baird must undergo an 

evaluation for a substance abuse monitoring program, complete continuing education in ethics, 

and pay a $2,000 fine. While working at a skilled nursing facility, Baird signed-out narcotic pain 

medication for patients on multiple occasions, but didn’t document administering the 

medications to patients. The urine sample Baird submitted on a drug test was found to be 

inconsistent with normal human urine. She admitted buying and submitting synthetic urine. 

Chelan County 

 

In May 2014 the Denturists Board denied a denturist credential to Santiago Felipe Zayco 

(DN60405641). In 2013 Zayco pleaded guilty in federal court to conspiracy to commit access 

device fraud and aggravated identity theft. 

 

Clark County 

 

In August 2014 the Nursing Assistant Program charged registered nursing assistant April R. 

Erickson (NA60400410) with unprofessional conduct. In 2014 Erickson pleaded guilty to 

possession of a controlled substance—methamphetamine, and attempted bail jumping. 
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In August 2014 the Massage Program charged massage practitioner Todd Christiansen, also 

known as Todd Harris (MA00008311), with unprofessional conduct. Christiansen’s Oregon 

license was suspended until he pays a $6,500 fine and completes a course in ethics and 

boundaries. Charges say he hasn’t completed those requirements, and he also didn’t notify the 

Washington program that his Oregon license was suspended. 

 

In September 2014 the Nursing Commission charged licensed practical nurse Cyndi M. McBain 

(LP00028789) with unprofessional conduct. McBain and her husband owned and operated an 

adult family home that housed a patient with dementia. Charges say the patient didn’t receive 

appropriate wound care, was malnourished, and was admitted to hospice care where he later 

died. The Department of Social and Health Services found McBain neglected and abused a 

vulnerable adult by failing to seek appropriate and timely medical intervention and treatment. 

 

Grays Harbor County 
 

In August 2014 the Pharmacy Commission charged pharmacist and pharmacist preceptor 

Douglas L. Morrill (PH00010338, PH60217116) with unprofessional conduct. The commission 

then entered into an agreement that places his credentials on probation for at least one year. 

Morrill must pay a $1,000 fine, complete continuing education in pharmacy law and ethics, and 

write a report. He cannot serve as a pharmacist preceptor while he is on probation. A pharmacy 

assistant/pharmacy technician-in-training at a pharmacy Morrill managed released new 

prescriptions without a pharmacist performing counseling. 

 

In September 2014 the Nursing Assistant Program charged certified nursing assistant Maria D. 

Aceto (NC10045871) with unprofessional conduct. In 2014 she was convicted of third-degree 

theft. 

 

Island County 

 

In August 2014 the Nursing Assistant Program conditionally granted a certified nursing assistant 

credential to Cassandra Denise Pendergrass (NC60489332) and placed her on probation for at 

least 15 months. A 2013 agreement put terms and conditions on her registered nursing assistant 

license. In 2004 Pendergrass was convicted in Nevada of embezzlement of $2,500 or more. 

 

King County 

 

In August 2014 the Nursing Assistant Program reinstated the certified nursing assistant 

credential of Corey Stephen Swinburne (NC60197808) and ordered him to participate in a 

substance abuse monitoring program. Swinburne’s license was suspended in 2012 because he 

didn’t comply with an agreement to participate in a substance abuse monitoring program. 

 

In August 2014 the Nursing Assistant Program charged registered nursing assistant Christina 

Amonoo, also known as Janet Afua Azanor (NA00199349), with unprofessional conduct. When 

she applied for her license, she certified that she’d used no names other than Christina Amonoo. 

The state Department of Licensing later determined her true name to be Janet Afua Azanor. 

Charges say she admitted to a Social Security Administration agent that she used fraudulent 

documents that allowed her to work in the United States. 
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In August 2014 the Massage Program charged massage practitioner Reggy Michael Nelson 

(MA60115994) with unprofessional conduct. After asking a client whether she wanted her 

pectoral muscles massaged, Nelson allegedly removed draping material and manually 

manipulated her breasts. Nelson faces a criminal charge of indecent liberties. 

 

In September 2014 the Nursing Commission charged licensed practical nurse Amparo Soraya 

Delgado (LP00056594) with unprofessional conduct. Delgado allegedly didn’t comply with a 

2014 stipulation. 

 

Kitsap County 

 

In September 2014 the Nursing Assistant Program charged certified nursing assistant Elizabeth 

J. Clement (NC10081160) with unprofessional conduct. While working at a veteran’s home, 

Clement allegedly didn’t follow a requirement to use a hydraulic lift to transfer a patient for 

bathing. Charges say the patient suffered a shoulder injury that required surgery. 

 

Pierce County 

 

In September 2014 the Nursing Commission filed an amended statement of charges against 

registered nurse Erich Arlt (RN00137850). In 2005 Arlt was convicted of two domestic 

violence charges: reckless endangerment and violating a protection order. In 2007 he was 

convicted of two domestic violence charges: felony harassment and telephone harassment. In 

2011 he was convicted of four domestic violence charges: violating a no-contact order, fourth-

degree assault, interfering with the reporting of domestic violence, and reckless endangerment. 

Charges say Arlt didn’t report the convictions to the Nursing Commission as required by law. 

 

In September 2014 the Nursing Assistant Program charged certified nursing assistant Renate 

Ursula Chesmer (NC10093661) with unprofessional conduct. While Chesmer worked at an 

adult family home, the co-worker who relieved her allegedly noted that seven of a patient’s 

oxycodone pills were missing. Chesmer’s employer fired her after she didn’t respond to several 

attempts to contact her about the missing medication. While Chesmer was working at another 

facility, she allegedly admitted taking two patients’ narcotic medication for her own use. In 2014 

she was convicted of third-degree theft in connection with those incidents. Chesmer hasn’t 

responded to a Department of Health inquiry. 

 

Spokane County 

 

In August 2014 the Nursing Assistant Program charged registered nursing assistant Lisa Marie 

Roberts (NA60268041) with unprofessional conduct. Roberts allegedly used a care center 

resident’s credit card to make 376 fraudulent charges totaling $18,553.48, and used the resident’s 

checking account to pay some of the credit card debt she had accrued. Roberts faces criminal 

charges in connection with the allegations.
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Thurston County 

 

In August 2014 the Nursing Commission filed an amended statement of charges against 

registered nurse and advanced registered nurse practitioner Sharol L. Chavez (RN00127449, 

AP30004745) to add allegations that involve prescribing excessive amounts of controlled 

substances. Chavez’s licenses were suspended in 2013 and remain suspended. 

 

Whatcom County 

 

In August 2014 the Pharmacy Commission entered an agreement with pharmacist Kevin L. 

Faris (PH00019349) that fines him $30,000, places him on probation for three years, and 

restricts him from serving as a pharmacist preceptor for the same period. Faris owned a 

pharmacy that didn’t follow rules on appropriate return and reuse of medications from long-term 

care facilities. 

 

In September 2014 the Medical Assistant Program conditionally granted a certified medical 

assistant credential to Patricia Sharon Walden (CM60382670) and placed her on probation 

until at least March 14, 2015. In 2012 her health care assistant license was placed on probation 

until the 2015 date. 

 

Whitman County 

 

In August 2014 the Nursing Assistant Program charged certified nursing assistant Wendy P. 

Harper (NC60114923) with unprofessional conduct. Harper allegedly didn’t comply with 

restrictions in a 2013 stipulation, and falsely documented giving medications to a patient. 

 

Yakima County 

 

In August 2014 the Unlicensed Practice Program notified Vanessa Guizar of its intent to issue a 

cease-and-desist order. Guizar doesn’t have a massage practitioner credential. Charges say she 

advertised massage services, texted an investigator that “I massage just ladies,” and at least once 

engaged in the practice of massage. 

 

Note to Editors: Health care providers charged with unprofessional conduct have 20 days to 

respond to the Department of Health in writing. The case then enters the settlement process. If no 

disciplinary agreement can be reached, the case will go to a hearing. 

The Department of Health website (www.doh.wa.gov) is your source for a healthy dose of 

information. Also, find us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter. 
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