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State disciplines health care providers

OLYMPIA -- The Washington State Department of Health has taken disciplinary actions or
withdrawn charges against health care providers in our state.

The department’s Health Systems Quality Assurance Division works with boards, commissions,
and advisory committees to set licensing standards for more than 80 health care professions (e.g.,
medical doctors, nurses, counselors).

Information about health care providers is on the agency website. Click on “Look up a healthcare
provider license” in the “How Do 1?” section of the Department of Health website (doh.wa.gov).
The site includes information about a health care provider’s license status, the expiration and
renewal date of their credential, disciplinary actions and copies of legal documents issued after
July 1998. This information is also available by calling 360-236-4700. Consumers who think a
health care provider acted unprofessionally are encouraged to call and report their complaint.

Clark County

In September 2014 the Nursing Assistant and the Emergency Medical Services and Trauma
Systems programs amended a statement of charges against certified nursing assistant and
certified emergency medical technician Zachariah A. Merritt (NC10060344, ES01170989).
The amended charges show that Merritt pleaded guilty in 2014 to third-degree rape and
communication with a minor for immoral purposes.

In August 2014 the Massage Program denied a massage practitioner credential to Aifeng Wang
(MA60462486), who didn’t meet the educational requirements.

Grays Harbor County

In September 2014 the Dental Commission ended conditions on the credential of dentist
Richard Alfred Pedersen (DE00005133).
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King County

In September 2014 the Dental Commission ended probation on dentist and dentist moderate
sedation with parenteral agents permit holder Adrian P. Pawlowski (DE00007990,
CS10000246).

In September 2014 the Dental Commission ended conditions on the credential of dentist Joyce
Shu Lin (DE00007327).

In September 2014 the Psychology Board entered an agreement with psychologist Cheryl R.
Azlin (PY00003861) that lifts the suspension on her license. Azlin must use an ethics consultant
for six months, and complete continuing education in law and ethics. Azlin surrendered her
Massachusetts license even though it had expired due to events that happened on or before 2001.
She became friends with a patient; after ending the psychologist-patient relationship, she
accepted a $4,000 loan from the former patient, allowed the former patient to work in her office
and to pay a $6,000 bill on her behalf.

In September 2014 the Agency Affiliated Counselor Program conditionally granted an agency
affiliated counselor credential to Keith R. Sellers (CG60490550). He must continue to comply
with conditions agreed to when his chemical dependency professional trainee credential was
reinstated in 2012.

Kittitas County

In September 2014 the Chemical Dependency Professional Program ended conditions on the
credential of chemical dependency professional trainee Kibra Sharlene Baldwin
(C0O60155320).

Lincoln County

In September 2014 the Dental Commission conditionally granted a dental assistant credential to
Megan Rebecca Schlimmer, also known as Megan R. Clark (D160298272). She must continue
to comply with a substance abuse monitoring contract that took effect in 2012 in connection with
her pharmacy assistant and pharmacy technician credentials.

Pierce County

In September 2014 the Nursing Commission charged registered nurse Robert J. Rodarte
(RN00150356) with unprofessional conduct. Rodarte allegedly didn’t comply with a 2012
stipulation requiring him to participate in a substance abuse monitoring program.

In August 2014 the Massage Program denied a massage practitioner credential to Xiaomeng Cai
(MA60342126), who didn’t meet the educational requirements.

In September 2014 the Nursing Commission charged licensed practical nurse Leanna Dawn
Dedman (LP60389024) with unprofessional conduct. The Missouri Board of Nursing placed
Dedman on probation for two years based on allegations that she mishandled the receipt of an
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order of anxiety medication, and tested positive for controlled substances that she had no
prescription for.

In September 2014 the Nursing Commission charged registered nurse Devin Robert Pikla
(RN60229452) with unprofessional conduct. Charges say Pikla didn’t report for work as
scheduled and during a welfare check was found to be intoxicated; his blood-alcohol level was
413,

San Juan County

In September 2014 the Chemical Dependency Professional Program conditionally granted a
chemical dependency professional trainee credential to Lawrence Richard Uri 111
(CO60472776), placed him on probation and ordered him to undergo an evaluation for a
substance abuse monitoring program. In 2011 Uri was convicted in California of conspiracy to
distribute cocaine and possession of a controlled substance—cocaine, with intent to sell.

Skagit County

In September 2014 the Chemical Dependency Professional Program ended conditions on the
credential of chemical dependency professional trainee Kelly T. Glass (C0O60191529).

Spokane County

In September 2014 the Nursing Assistant Program charged certified nursing assistant April
Dawn Brown (NC60030940) with unprofessional conduct. After a work injury at a skilled
nursing facility, Brown allegedly tested positive for narcotics he didn’t have a prescription for,
and for marijuana.

In September 2014 the Dental Commission ended probation for dentist Scott Daniel Davis
(DE00004572).

In September 2014 the Chemical Dependency Professional Program conditionally granted a
chemical dependency professional credential to Daryl Scott Cline (CP60416722) and placed
him on probation until at least Jan. 31, 2016. In 2013 Cline received a chemical dependency
professional trainee credential under conditions that placed him on probation until that date.

In September 2014 the Psychology Board charged psychologist John F. Robinson
(PY00000916) with unprofessional conduct. Charges say Robinson and a former patient dated,
had a sexual relationship, moved in together, and became engaged. Robinson also allegedly
allowed the former patient to view other patients’ records. Charges say he developed a personal
friendship with and kissed another former patient, and didn’t keep patient records for the
required amount of time.

Thurston County

In September 2014 the Pharmacy Commission ended conditions on the credential of pharmacist
John W. Pemberton (PH00017890).

—More—
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Yakima County

In September 2014 the Medical Commission charged physician Wallace A. Donaldson
(MD00009019) with unprofessional conduct. Donaldson was the attending physician for many
residents at a nursing and rehabilitation center. Charges say Donaldson “demonstrated a pattern
of failing to respond with appropriate urgency to the needs of this group of patients who are very
dependent, cannot advocate for themselves, and are often in the process of dying.” Donaldson
allegedly is often unreachable, doesn’t respond quickly to messages, and is frequently unhelpful.
Charges say he hasn’t appropriately treated the pain of several patients in distress, insists on
mailing prescriptions to pharmacies — a practice described as “insufficient, ineffective,
uncompassionate, and below the standard of care.” Allegations say an 84-year-old dementia
patient died without receiving medication for comfort care in her last hours.

Out of State

California: In September 2014 the Dental Commission charged dentist Ameera Sahla Thomas
(DE60161079) with unprofessional conduct. Thomas allegedly extracted teeth unnecessarily
from a 3-year-old patient and didn’t communicate adequately with the child’s parents.

New Mexico: In September 2014 the Health Care Assistant and Nursing Assistant programs
ended probation for health care assistant and certified nursing assistant Julia A. Bryan
(HC60045027, NC60175643).

Oregon: In September 2014 the Occupational Therapy Board charged occupational therapist
Synnove J. Abrahamsen (OT00004565) with unprofessional conduct. In 2013 Abrahamsen was
convicted in Oregon of unlawful possession of marijuana.

Oregon: In September 2014 the Dental Commission amended a statement of charges against
dentist Delon Karsten Gilbert (DE60361877). It adds details about Gilbert’s 2013 guilty plea in
Oregon to unlawful possession of cocaine, and alleges he hasn’t followed-up with a substance
abuse evaluation. Charges say Gilbert also hasn’t fully complied with an Oregon Board of
Dentistry order to undergo an evaluation, and he provided false information on his Oregon
license renewal applications.

Note to Editors: Health care providers charged with unprofessional conduct have 20 days to
respond to the Department of Health in writing. The case then enters the settlement process. If no
disciplinary agreement can be reached, the case will go to a hearing.

The Department of Health website (www.doh.wa.gov) is your source for a healthy dose of

information. Also, find us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.
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