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State disciplines health care providers

OLYMPIA -- The Washington State Department of Health has taken disciplinary actions or
withdrawn charges against health care providers in our state.

The department’s Health Systems Quality Assurance Division works with boards, commissions,
and advisory committees to set licensing standards for more than 80 health care professions (e.g.,
medical doctors, nurses, counselors).

Information about health care providers is on the agency website. Click on “Look up a health
care provider license” in the “How Do 1?” section of the Department of Health website
(doh.wa.gov). The site includes information about a health care provider’s license status, the
expiration and renewal date of their credential, disciplinary actions and copies of legal
documents issued after July 1998. This information is also available by calling 360-236-4700.
Consumers who think a health care provider acted unprofessionally are encouraged to call and
report their complaint.

Adams County

In September 2015 the Pharmacy Commission agreed to reinstate the pharmacy technician
credential of Jackie K. Shawley (VA00044121). The commission placed Shawley on probation
for at least one year. Shawley’s license was revoked in 2003 after she admitted diverting
narcotics from the pharmacy where she worked and selling them for cash.

Clallam County
In September 2015 the Unlicensed Practice Program entered an agreement with Richard
Marschall that requires him to cease and desist from practicing as a naturopathic physician

without a license, and pay a $5,000 fine. Marschall continued practicing naturopathic medicine
after his license was suspended.

Clark County
In September 2015 the Nursing Commission charged licensed practical nurse Glen Richard

Tilden (LP00043006) with unprofessional conduct. Tilden allegedly didn’t comply with a
substance abuse monitoring contract.

—More—
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Grant County

In March 2015 the secretary of health denied medical assistant-hemodialysis technician and
medical assistant phlebotomist credentials to Olga V. Moskalets (HT60471032, PC60485408).
Moskalets was convicted of second-degree malicious mischief in 2013.

Island County

In September 2015 the Nursing Commission ended probation for registered nurse Diana
Deering (RN00161768).

King County

In September 2015 the Unlicensed Practice Program entered an agreement with Jim Jorgensen
that requires him to cease and desist from practicing as a veterinary technician, and pay a $1,000
fine. While Jorgensen had no credential, he offered his services in a way that lead people to
believe he was a veterinary technician.

In September 2015 the Pharmacy Commission charged pharmacist Nguyen Cam Tu
(PH00042604) with unprofessional conduct. Tu allegedly dispensed an inhaler to his girlfriend,
who didn’t have a prescription for it. Charges say the inhaler was prescribed for Tu. The
prescription label allegedly didn’t include proper labeling information, but did include a love
note from Tu. He allegedly billed two patients’ insurance for items that were given to another
person. Tu allegedly told a Department of Health investigator he had on occasion given other
people legend drugs and controlled substances left over from his own prescriptions.

In September 2015 the Pharmacy Commission issued a statement of charges against the
University of Washington Medical Center’s inpatient pharmacy (CF00001058), and

pharmacists Steven A. Fijalka (PH00011708), the pharmacy’s responsible manager, and Shabir
M. Somani (PH00017358), the chief pharmacy officer. Charges allege inspections in May and
June of 2014 revealed deficiencies in sterile compounding practices. Those deficiencies include
policy and personnel issues such as record-keeping and staff training, as well as cleanliness and
facility design concerns.

In September 2015 the Unlicensed Practice Program notified Shen Yankun of its intent to issue
a cease-and-desist order. Yankun allegedly has no massage practitioner license, but operates a
business that advertises massage and employs unlicensed personnel.

In September 2015 the Unlicensed Practice Program notified Jennifer Lueng of its intent to
issue a cease-and-desist order. Charges say Lueng doesn’t have a massage practitioner license,
and operates a business where an unlicensed person offered to perform massage.

In September 2015 the Nursing Commission entered an agreement with licensed practical nurse
Julita Wanda Gasior (LP00043099) that will monitor her practice for at least one year.

—More—
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Gasior must pay a $500 fine, and complete continuing education in assessment, end-of-life care,
and “do not resuscitate and physician orders for life-sustaining treatment.” While she was
working at a skilled nursing facility, Gasior didn’t follow a physician’s orders about life-
sustaining treatment for a patient.

Kitsap County

In September 2015 the Nursing Commission entered an agreement with licensed practical nurse
Irene E. Cessor (LP00043227) that places her credential on probation for at least three years.
Cessor operated an adult family home where she strapped a patient to a chair with a belt and
propped a mattress against the side of the patient’s bed. She did not follow doctor’s orders for
patient care, including properly managing the patient’s medication. The state Department of
Social and Health Services revoked Cessor’s adult family home license.

Pierce County

In September 2015 the Medical Commission charged physician Cynthia M. Mosbrucker
(MD60016675) with unprofessional conduct. She allegedly violated the standard of care while
treating and caring for a family member. In January 2016 Mosbrucker and the Medical
Commission entered an agreement where Mosbrucker will set boundaries when treating or caring
for a family member.

In September 2015 the Chiropractic Commission charged chiropractor John B. Cornell
(CH00001046) with unprofessional conduct. Charges say Cornell is a member of a company that
provides a concentrated oxygen environment in a tent-like structure. Cornell allegedly referred
seven patients for hyperbaric treatment without documenting that he had examined them.

Skagit County

In September 2015 the Unlicensed Practice Program entered an agreement with Wen Juan Ji
requiring Ji to cease and desist from practicing massage without a license and pay a $1,000 fine.
Ji has no massage practitioner credential, but offered to perform massage.

Spokane County

In September 2015 the Medical Assistant Program entered an agreement with certified medical
assistant and medical assistant-phlebotomist Carol Denise Costanzo (CM60379439,
PC60379445) that places her credentials on probation for at least two years. Costanzo must
complete continuing education in ethics. She admitted using her employer’s prescription system
to enter unauthorized prescriptions for her own use.

—More—
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Whatcom County

In September 2015 the Nursing Assistant and Respiratory Care Practitioner programs agreed to
reinstate the registered nursing assistant and respiratory care practitioner credentials of Scott
Warren Reed (NA00084710, LR00001309) and placed his credentials on probation for at least
three years. Reed must pay a $500 fine, and complete continuing education in patient rights and
dignity, caring for the elderly, preventing pressure ulcers, and personal care. Reed’s licenses
were suspended in February 2015. A vulnerable adult who lived in Reed’s home and who
depended on Reed and his wife for help with daily activities was taken by emergency services
workers to a hospital. She was found to have a stage one pressure sore, urine-soaked clothing,
and dried fecal matter on her body.

Yakima County

In July 2015 the Osteopathic Board amended a statement of charges against osteopathic
physician Larry S. Lefors (OP00000767) to add a reference to a rule related to guidance an
osteopathic physician should follow.

In September 2015 the Nursing Commission entered an agreement with registered nurse Al
Bjorn Casquejo Dizon (RN60287770) that requires him to undergo evaluation for a substance
abuse monitoring program. Dizon admitted using methamphetamine.

Out of State

Oregon: In September 2015 the Unlicensed Practice Program entered an agreement with Xing
Ling Rong requiring Rong to cease and desist from practicing massage without a license and
pay a $500 fine. Rong received a diversion agreement on a criminal charge of practicing massage
without a license.

Oregon: In September 2015 the Unlicensed Practice Program entered an agreement with
Kimberlee Anne Cvitash that requires her to cease and desist from practicing massage without
a license, and pay a $500 fine. Cvitash, who doesn’t have a massage practitioner license, owns a
business that advertised massage and solicited customers. She represented herself as a “certified
massage specialist.”

Note to Editors: Health care providers charged with unprofessional conduct have 20 days to
respond to the Department of Health in writing. The case then enters the settlement process. If no
disciplinary agreement can be reached, the case will go to a hearing.

The Department of Health website (doh.wa.gov) is your source for a healthy dose of information.

Also, find us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.
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