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Learn more...
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Medical Marijuana Program

www.doh.wa.gov/medicalmarijuana

Join our listserv:  
medicalcannabis@listserv.wa.gov

360-236-4819 
medicalmarijuana@doh.wa.gov

What is a cooperative?
The new medical marijuana cooperative 
law replaced the marijuana collectives 
law on July 1, 2016. Up to four medical 
marijuana patients or their designated 
provider* may join together to grow 
marijuana for the patients’ personal use.

Every member must be entered into the 
medical marijuana authorization database 
and have a medical marijuana recognition 
card. The total number of plants authorized 
for the participants may not exceed  
60 plants. 

Cooperatives must register with the 
Washington State Liquor and Cannabis 
Board (WSLCB) and follow all regulations.

Record-keeping
The leader of the cooperative must:

●● Maintain all records required by  
the WSLCB.

●● Ensure that members notify the  
WSLCB within 15 days of joining  
or leaving the cooperative.

●● Wait 60 days after a member  
leaves the cooperative before  
adding a new member. 

Extraction
●● Members of the cooperative may  
extract or separate the resin from 
marijuana using only noncombustible 
methods as referenced in law. 

*A designated provider is someone that the  
medical marijuana patient authorizes to 
purchase their marijuana product or grow  
the marijuana for the patient.

A patient’s guide to ...

Medical marijuana  
laws and rules
The Cannabis Patient Protection Act 
(SB5052) was signed into law April 2015 
and went into full effect on July 1, 2016.  

This law aligns licensing and regulation of 
all marijuana producers, processors and 
retail stores under the oversight of the 
Washington State Liquor and Cannabis 
Board. This includes the new medically 
endorsed marijuana stores.

Read the specific laws and rules for the 
medical marijuana cooperatives: 

●● RCW 69.51A.250
●● RCW 69.50.331 (7-8)
●● Chapter 314-55-410 WAC

http://www.doh.wa.gov/medicalmarijuana
http://listserv.wa.gov/cgi-bin/wa?A0=MEDICALCANNABIS
mailto:medicalmarijuana%40doh.wa.gov?subject=
http://www.doh.wa.gov/YouandYourFamily/Marijuana/MedicalMarijuana/Laws
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=69.51A.250
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=69.50.331
http://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=314-55-410


Cooperative regulations
In order to form a cooperative, all members 
must follow the state law and rules.

Cooperative members may ONLY:
●● Be in a cooperative if they have a valid 
medical marijuana recognition card. 

●● Form a four member cooperative. 

●● Participate in a cooperative if they  
are at least 21 years of age.

●● Grow up to the total number of plants 
authorized, with a maximum of 60 plants.

●● Belong to one cooperative.

●● Grow plants in the cooperative and  
not anywhere else.

●● Use the marijuana and its products,  
and not sell or give away marijuana  
or marijuana products to anyone who  
is not in the cooperative.

A cooperative must be:
●● Located at one of the member’s homes.
●● Limited to one cooperative per tax parcel.
●● Enclosed by an 8-foot fence, if outdoors, 
and cannot easily be seen or smelled.

No cooperative may be located in any 
of the following areas:

●● Within one mile of a marijuana retailer;
●● Within the smaller of either:

- 	1,000 feet of schools, playgrounds, 
recreation centers, daycare centers, 
or any facility restricted to people 21 
years or older, or

- 	The area restricted by ordinances; or
- 	Where prohibited by city, town, or 

county zoning laws.

Forming a medical marijuana cooperative...
Step 1: Have a medical  
marijuana authorization form
To participate in a medical marijuana  
cooperative you must be authorized 
by your healthcare practitioner to 
use marijuana for medical purposes or 
be a designated provider for a patient. 

Step 2: Get entered  
into the database
Each member of the  
cooperative must take their  
medical marijuana authorization form to 
a licensed and medically endorsed 
marijuana store in Washington. A 
consultant in the store can enter the 
information into the medical marijuana 
authorization database and create the 
medical marijuana recognition card.

Step 4: Register your coopertive
One of the cooperative members must  
be designated as the leader and will  
complete the registration application  
on the Washington State Liquor and  
Cannabis Board’s (WSLCB) website.  
Photocopies of all cooperative  
members’ medical marijuana  
recognition cards are needed for the application. 

Step 6: Keep your permit at the growing site
Once you have received your registration, make sure you keep it 
and copies of all the members’ recognition cards near where the 
plants are being grown. WSLCB enforcement officers and local 
law enforcement may visit to ensure you are following regulations.

Step 5: Get your plants
If you are starting a new cooperative, you must buy your plants from a 
licensed WSLCB producer so they will be entered into the tracking 
system. If you are changing from a collective to a cooperative or 
starting a new cooperative, be sure not to grow more than the number 
of authorized plants for each cardholder.

Step 3: Join together
Up to four cardholders may form  
a cooperative that must be 
located at the home of one of 
the members.
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http://www.doh.wa.gov/Portals/1/Documents/Pubs/608017.pdf
http://www.doh.wa.gov/Portals/1/Documents/Pubs/608017.pdf
http://lcb.wa.gov/mjlicense/mj_licensing_forms
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