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Perinatal Program: Goal and Objectives  
 
Federal recommendations 

The Washington State Department of Health (DOH) Immunization Program CHILD 
Profile (IPCP) follows federal recommendations for hepatitis B immunization. These 
recommendations, made by the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP), 
include control of perinatal hepatitis B virus infection (HBV). The latest updated ACIP 
recommendations target delivery hospital policies and procedures and case 
management programs.  

To provide appropriate clinical care to a newborn, you must document the mother’s data 
in the infant’s medical record. ACIP recommends putting maternal data in the baby’s 
medical record and it does NOT violate the Health Insurance Portability and 
Accountability Act (HIPAA). The HIPAA Privacy Rule allows the use of some health 
information: 
 
 
 "A covered entity is permitted, but not required, to use and disclose protected 
health information, without an individual's authorization, for the following purposes 
or situations: (1) To the Individual; (2) Treatment, Payment, and Health Care 
Operations......"  
 
 
Clearly, for treatment and health care relevant to the newborn, we must gather and use 
maternal health information. Find a summary document of the HIPAA Privacy Rule at 
http://www.hhs.gov/ocr/privacy/hipaa/understanding/summary.  

Goal 

Washington State’s Perinatal B Prevention Program has an overall goal to reduce the 
incidence of B virus (HBV) in babies born to hepatitis B surface antigen (HBsAg)-
positive mothers. Local health jurisdictions in our state must complete the tasks to 
reach this goal, including setting up effective delivery hospital policies and case 
management to: 

 Identify HBsAg-positive pregnant women, their household contacts, sexual 
partners, and babies. 
 

 Make sure their at-risk contacts get a three-dose series of hepatitis B vaccine. 
 

 Make sure their babies get proper post-exposure prevention. Correct post-
exposure prevention for babies includes hepatitis B immune globulin (HBIG) 
and hepatitis B vaccine within 12 hours of birth, followed by two additional 
doses of vaccine (at 1-2 months and 6 months of age).  
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Objectives 

Objectives to reach this goal include helping to ensure: 
 100 percent of all pregnant women get screened for HBsAg prenatally or at 

delivery. 
 

 100 percent of delivery hospitals adopt written policies, procedures, and 
written standing orders for HBsAg verification and for testing pregnant 
mothers when they come to the hospital for delivery. 

 
 Identifying at least 90 percent of expected births to HBsAg-positive mothers. 

 
 At least 95 percent of babies born to HBsAg-positive mothers get hepatitis B 

immune globulin (HBIG) and Dose #1 of hepatitis B vaccine within 12 hours of 
birth and complete the 3-dose hepatitis B vaccine series by 6 months of age. 

 
 At least 90 percent of babies born to HBsAg-positive women get a blood test 

(to check for HBV antibodies) 1-2 months after their last dose of hepatitis B 
vaccine or by 9-18 months of age.  

 
 At least 90 percent of at- risk sexual partners and household contacts of 

HBsAg-positive pregnant women complete the three-dose hepatitis B vaccine 
series. 

 
 100 percent of all HBsAg-positive babies get reported to the Centers for 

Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) through the National Notifiable 
Disease Surveillance System (NNDSS). 
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Hepatitis B Facts 
 

 Acute (short-term) and chronic (long-lasting) effects of hepatitis B virus (HBV) 
infection are a major health problem. 

 
 The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) estimates that 79,000 

infections occur in the United States (U.S.) each year with 21,000 of those acute 
(short-term) and symptomatic (showing symptoms). 

 
 About 1.25 million people in the U.S. have chronic HBV  and can potentially 

spread the disease to others. 
 

 Many people with chronic HBV infection are at risk of getting long-term conditions 
such as chronic liver disease and liver cancer. Each year, about 4,000-5,000 of 
these people die from chronic liver disease. 

 
 Hepatitis B infection in the Asian Pacific Islander population is 10 percent or 60 

times greater than that of the general population. 
 

 Hepatitis B infection can spread from mother to child during labor. About 19,000 
babies born in the U.S. each year have an HBV-infected mother, which means 
they are exposed to the virus. Unless they get proper post-exposure prevention, 
up to 90 percent of these babies get infected. Of those infected, 90 percent will 
become chronically infected. Up to 25 percent of the babies who become 
chronically infected will die from primary hepatocellular carcinoma or cirrhosis of 
the liver, usually as adults. 

 
 Getting immunized with hepatitis B vaccine is the most effective way to prevent 

HBV infection. Pregnant women who are chronically infected with HBV – called 
hepatitis B surface antigen-positive or HBsAg-positive – can prevent giving HBV 
to their babies during birth. These women must be identified and their babies 
must get prevention after birth, which means: 

 
 Hepatitis B immune globulin (HBIG) and hepatitis B vaccine within 12 hours 

of birth, and  
 

 Additional doses of vaccine at 1-2 months and 6 months of age.  
 

 CDC recommends testing all pregnant women for HBV early in each pregnancy 
even if they have had the vaccine or test previously. Women who test HBsAg-
negative early in pregnancy but are in a high-risk category for getting HBV should 
be retested when they get to the delivery hospital. 
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Local Health Jurisdiction Tasks Overview  
 
Local health jurisdictions (LHJs) get funds (through the consolidated contract) for 
Perinatal Hepatitis B Prevention program tasks. Each LHJ must: 
 

1. Identify and report HBsAg-positive mothers and their babies. 
2. Manage and track infant cases to make sure they get the correct doses at the 

correct ages and proper testing as follows:  
 The first dose of HBIG and hepatitis B vaccine within 12 hours of birth.  
 The second dose at 1-2 months of age. 
 The third dose at 6 months of age. 
 Post-vaccination testing at 9–18 months of age. 

3. Identify and track at risk-household contacts and sexual partners of HBsAg-
positive pregnant women to make sure they get pre-vaccination testing, HBIG 
and/or hepatitis B vaccine, and post-vaccination testing if appropriate. 

 
Under this program: 

 LHJs should manage cases and complete reports electronically in the Perinatal 
Hepatitis B Module at the Department of Health Immunization Program CHILD 
Profile Web site at www.doh.wa.gov/cfh/Immunize/diseases/hepatitis_b/hep-b-
module.htm or directly here:  

 

 Perinatal Hepatitis B Module: 
https://fortress.wa.gov/doh/cpir/webhepb/welcome.jsp 

 User Guide: 
www.doh.wa.gov/cfh/Immunize/documents/hepbmoduserguide.pdf 

 
 State-supplied hepatitis B vaccine is available for all babies born to HBsAg-

positive women and for household contacts and sexual partners who are younger 
than 20 years old. 

 
 LHJs may get free laboratory screening for hepatitis B if the blood gets drawn by 

the LHJ and sent to Public Health – Seattle & King County  Laboratory and must 
get tested for: 

 

 Pregnant women if they do not have Medicaid or another third party 
payment source that will cover testing;  

 Household contacts and sexual partners of HBsAg-positive pregnant 
women if the contacts/partners do not have Medicaid or another third 
party payment source that will cover pre- and post-vaccination testing; or  

 Babies born to HBsAg-positive mothers if the babies do not have 
Medicaid or another third party payment source that will cover post-
vaccination testing. 

 
 LHJs can get help from the Department of Health Immunization Program CHILD 

Profile (IPCP) to develop, build, and carry out the program. Take advantage of 
site visits by IPCP staff, as well as informational and educational materials for 
health care providers and HBsAg-positive pregnant women. 
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Case Management Snapshot  
 
Managing a perinatal hepatitis B case always starts with the pregnant woman and 
involves: pre-screening, opening a confidential case report, finding household contacts 
and sexual partners, tracking the woman’s baby, following-up with phone calls and mail 
as necessary with contacts, partners, and babies, and closing a case when follow-up is 
finished. Cases may be open for as long as two years. Find a visual snapshot of this 
system below. See next page for another snapshot of the procedure. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

When all follow-ups with 
mother, baby, household 

contacts, and sexual 
partners have been 
documented for pre-
screenings, HBIG, 

vaccination series and post-
testing, Hep B Coordinator 
“closes” the open case in the 
online Perinatal Hepatitis B 

Module. 

 

Woman tests  
HBsAg-positive. 

 

Health care Provider pre-
screens pregnant woman in 

the first trimester of 
pregnancy. 

 
Woman tests  

HBsAg-negative. 

 

Health care provider or 
hospital reports HBsAg-

positive woman to the LHJ 
Hepatitis B coordinator.  

 

Woman gets  
re-screened (if HBsAg-

positive) or pre-screened 
(if HBsAg-negative) at 

hospital at time of 
delivery. 

 

Hep B Coordinator calls hospital 
for infant’s information and dates 
of HBIG and Hep B birth dose. 

Hep B Coordinator enters infant 
information into the mother’s 

open case on the online Perinatal 
Hepatitis B Module. 

 

Hep B Coordinator opens a 
confidential case on the HBsAg-
positive woman or mother using 

“New Case” in the online 
Perinatal Hepatitis B Module.   

 

Hep B Coordinator gets 
household contact and sexual 

partner information from mother 
or hospital. Hep B Coordinator 

works with contacts AND 
partners to make sure they get 

pre-screened. 

 
No hepatitis B case. 

BABY is BORN! 
Hospital gives 
HBIG and birth 
dose of Hep B. 

 

Hep B Coordinator works with 
mother and pediatrician and 
makes sure baby gets the full 
vaccination series and gets  

post-tested.  

 

Based on pre-screening, Hep B 
Coordinator either:  
1. Refers contacts and partners 

to a specialist or 
2. Makes sure contacts and 

partners get vaccinated and 
post-tested. 

Hep B Coordinator enters 
contact or partner information 
into the mother’s open case in 
the online Perinatal Hepatitis B 

Module.  

 

Hep B Coordinator closes 
a case for other reasons, 
such as if mother refuses 

follow-up, can’t be located, 
or if the pregnancy ends. 

 

Also, cases get closed 
for other reasons 
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To get the most updated versions of Prevention Procedures Detail, please print it 
from the Internet: www.doh.wa.gov/cfh/Immunize/documents/hepbprevproc.pdf 
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Perinatal Hepatitis B Module: Overview 
 
Local health jurisdictions (LHJs) should manage and complete reports of HBsAg-
positive pregnant women, their household contacts, sexual partners, and babies in the 
online Perinatal Hepatitis B Module. The Module can be found on the Department of 
Health Immunization Program CHILD Profile’s Web site at 
www.doh.wa.gov/cfh/Immunize/diseases/hepatitis_b/hep-b-module.htm or directly here:  
 

 Perinatal Hepatitis B Module: 
https://fortress.wa.gov/doh/cpir/webhepb/welcome.jsp. 

 
You must have a username and password to access the Module. Ask the administrator 
in your program for help.  
 
The Module captures electronically all the information needed to manage, report, and 
close hepatitis B cases. It is extremely efficient and user-friendly. You can: 
 

 Add records (mother, infant, household contact, sexual partner) 
 Search and view records 
 Edit records 

 

See the User Guide for detailed instructions at this website 
www.doh.wa.gov/cfh/Immunize/diseases/hepatitis_b/hep-b-module.htm or directly here:  
 

 User Guide: www.doh.wa.gov/cfh/Immunize/documents/hepbmoduserguide.pdf 
 

For technical support, contact: 
 

 Chrystal Averette at 360-236-3565 or chrystal.averette@doh.wa.gov or 
 Belinda Baker at 360-236-3587 or belinda.baker@doh.wa.gov 
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Managing Cases  
 
To manage your cases and complete reports, use the online Perinatal Hepatitis B 
Module. The User Guide can help answer questions. You can access the Module and 
the User Guide from the Department of Health Immunization Program CHILD Profile’s 
Web site at www.doh.wa.gov/cfh/Immunize/diseases/hepatitis_b/hep-b-module.htm or 
directly here:  
 

 Perinatal Hepatitis B Module: 
https://fortress.wa.gov/doh/cpir/webhepb/welcome.jsp. 

 User Guide: www.doh.wa.gov/cfh/Immunize/documents/hepbmoduserguide.pdf 
 
If you can’t access the Module, download copies of the forms, fill them out by hand, and 
fax them to the Immunization Program CHILD Profile (IPCP) at 360-236-3670. 
Download from www.doh.wa.gov/cfh/Immunize/diseases/hepatitis_b/hep-b-peri-
pubs.htm or directly here: 
 

 Household Contact: www.doh.wa.gov/cfh/Immunize/documents/348-035.pdf  
 Mother/Infant: www.doh.wa.gov/cfh/Immunize/documents/348-030.pdf  

 
 

Protocol for Perinatal Hepatitis B Infection 
Follow this protocol to manage cases of hepatitis B infected pregnant women and their 
babies, household contacts, and sexual partners. Most tasks deal with recalls and 
reminders to hospitals, health care providers, and those infected. We encourage you to 
focus on relationship-building, strong communication skills, and organizing an efficient 
tracking system for follow-up calls and mailings.  
 
*If you don’t get information on the pregnant woman until after delivery, please skip to 
number 4. 
 
 

1. RECALL: One week after getting information on a pregnant woman. 
a. Call the prenatal care provider, clinic nurse, or clinic manager to get the 

following information: 
i. The pregnant woman’s knowledge of her HBsAg status (yes or no) 
ii. The primary language of the case 
iii. The pregnant woman’s address and telephone number 
iv. The pregnant woman’s due date 
v. The delivery hospital 
vi. The date of positive HBsAg test result 
vii. The pregnant woman’s payment source 

b. Tell the prenatal care provider that you will contact the pregnant woman to 
provide information about perinatal hepatitis B prevention, including case 
management and follow-up for her infant and household/sexual contacts. 

c. Ask the prenatal care provider to mail or fax a copy of the original HBsAg-
positive lab results his or her local health jurisdiction.  
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d. Educate the prenatal care provider about the need to identify household 
contacts and sexual partners. Discuss what actions they will take to screen 
and immunize them. 

e. Enter the Mother/Infant case contact report into the Perinatal Hepatitis B 
Module. 

 
2. RECALL: Two weeks after getting confirmation from a provider that the 

pregnant woman knows her status. 
a. Follow up with a telephone call to the pregnant woman. If you cannot reach 

her by telephone, send her a letter asking her to call you. 
b. Counsel the infected pregnant woman regarding: 

i. How hepatitis B spreads and how to prevent spreading it. 
ii. The need to screen household contacts and sexual partners for hepatitis B 

infection. 
iii. The need for a 3-dose series of hepatitis B vaccine for at-risk household 

contacts and sexual partners.  
iv. The need for sexual partners to get HBIG if the pregnant woman has an 

acute (short-term) infection. 
v. The need for her infant to get HBIG and the first dose of hepatitis B 

vaccine within 12 hours of birth and two additional doses of hepatitis B 
vaccine at 1-2 months of age, and 6 months of age. 

vi. The need to test her infant at 9-18 months of age to make sure the baby 
has protection and no infection. 

vii. The need to get medical follow-ups for the pregnant woman and family 
members who may be HBV carriers. 

c. Confirm which hospital the pregnant woman plans to use for delivery. Let her 
know you will contact the hospital to make sure that her baby gets HBIG and 
the first dose of hepatitis B vaccine within 12 hours of birth. 

d. Tell the pregnant woman that you will follow-up with her until her infant gets all 
three doses of vaccine and has had post-vaccination testing. 

e. Find the name, address, and telephone number of the pediatric care provider. 
Encourage the pregnant woman to choose a provider before she delivers her 
baby. 

f. Record the pregnant woman’s race, ethnicity, and insurance. 
g. Record the names, birth dates, race, health care providers, screening and 

immunization status, or the plan for screening and immunization, of the 
pregnant woman’s household contacts and sexual partners. 

h. Follow-up with the pregnant woman’s at- risk household contacts and sexual 
partners. Work with the pregnant woman, contacts, partners, and health care 
providers to make sure they get screened and immunized. 

i. Send a letter to the pregnant woman explaining the Perinatal Hepatitis B 
Prevention Program to introduce yourself and include written educational 
materials. 

j. Enter a Household Contact case report into the Perinatal Hepatitis B Module 
(see module section for details). 
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3. REMINDER: Four weeks prior to the woman's estimated due date (also 
known as EDC) and if the pregnant woman tested HBsAg-positive before 
delivery. 

a. Send a letter to the obstetrical (OB) nurse manager, infection control nurse, or 
designated staff at the hospital with DOH Guidelines for Hospitals and a 
packet of written educational materials. 

b. Ask the OB nurse manager, infection control nurse, or designated staff to 
report when the baby is born, with the following information: 

i. Date of birth 
ii. Name 
iii. Gender 
iv. Health care provider information 
v. HBIG and date hepatitis vaccine dose #1 given 
vi. Pregnant woman’s insurance or source of payment 

c. Contact the pediatric care provider (when you have this information) to confirm 
that he or she knows of the pregnant woman's HBsAg status, the infant's need 
for hepatitis B vaccine, the importance of the correct vaccine dosage and 
schedule, and to confirm screening and immunization status of other children 
in the house. 

 
4. REMINDER: Two weeks after birth 

a. If you have not received notification of the infant's birth within two weeks after 
delivery, contact the hospital nursery or medical records unit to get the status 
of the infant. 

b. If the child has been born, find out from the delivery hospital if the baby had 
HBIG and the first dose of hepatitis B vaccine. Get the necessary information 
about the infant (see the list in 3b above) and enter the Mother/Infant case 
contact report into the Perinatal Hepatitis B Module.  

i. When reporting past cases: If the mother’s HBsAg status was known to be 
positive at the time of delivery, enter into the Perinatal Hepatitis B Module. 
If the mother’s HBsAg status was unknown at the time of delivery, enter 
the “case” as a household contact into the Household Contact case report 
in the Perinatal Hepatitis B Module. 

c. Send a reminder card or letter to the mother when her baby should get Dose 
#2 of hepatitis B vaccine. 

d. Send a reminder card or letter to the pediatric care provider about the baby’s 
need for a second dose of hepatitis B vaccine.  

e. Contact the pediatric care provider or clinic nurse to find out when they have 
scheduled the baby to get the second dose of hepatitis B vaccine. 

 
5. RECALL: One week after appointment for second dose 

a. Contact pediatric care provider to find out if the baby came in for his or her 
appointment. If yes, record the date of vaccination, vaccine brand, and 
payment source. 

b. Enter second hepatitis B dose information into the Infant report of the Perinatal 
Hepatitis B Module. 
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c. Determine the date the baby should get the third dose of vaccine. Send a 
reminder card or letter to the provider about the importance of the baby getting 
the third dose of hepatitis B vaccine at six months of age. 

 
6. REMINDER: Two weeks before the third dose is due 

a. Send a reminder card or letter to the mother for her baby’s third dose of 
hepatitis B vaccine. 

b. Send a reminder card or letter to the pediatric care provider about the baby’s 
need for the third dose of hepatitis B vaccine. 

 
7. RECALL: One week after appointment for third dose 

a. Contact the pediatric care provider to find out if the baby came to his or her 
appointment. If yes, record the date of vaccination, vaccine brand, and 
payment source  

b. Enter third dose information into the Mother/Infant screen of the Perinatal 
Hepatitis B Module. 

c. Send a reminder card or letter to the pediatric care provider about the 
recommendation that the baby be screened for HBsAg and anti-HBs at 9-18 
months of age.  

d. Determine the date the baby should get post-vaccination tested. 
e. Call the mother about her baby’s need to get a post-vaccination test at 9-18 

months of age. 
 

8. REMINDER: Two weeks before the post-vaccination test is due 
a. Send a reminder card or letter to the mother about her baby’s post-vaccination 

test. 
b. Send a reminder card or letter to the pediatric care provider about the baby’s 

post-vaccination test. 
 

9. RECALL: A week after post-vaccination test appointment  
a. Contact the pediatric care provider to find out if the appointment was kept. If 

yes, record the date of the screening, screening results, and payment source. 
b. Enter screening information into the Mother/Infant case report of the Perinatal 

Hepatitis B Module. 
c. If a post-vaccination test was not given, follow-up with the provider and 

document the reasons why it was not given. 
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Reporting HBsAg-Positive Babies 
 
The local health jurisdiction Hepatitis B coordinator must follow up with HBsAg-positive 
babies to track their progress.  
 
First, you must check the success of hepatitis B vaccination by making sure these 
babies get a blood test after their vaccination. Complete the testing at 9–18 months of 
age, generally at the next routinely scheduled well-child visit for the high- risk infant.  
 
Second, you must report all HBsAg-positive children as acute hepatitis B cases. Unlike 
acute hepatitis B reporting for older children or adults, you must report perinatal 
hepatitis B cases even if the baby has no symptoms (see the CDC case definition at 
www.cdc.gov/ncphi/disss/nndss/casedef/hepatitisb2000.htm). Remember: when we 
prevent the spread of perinatal hepatitis B, we prevent a possibly fatal chronic infection.  
 
Correct reporting means you must: 
 

1. Report the outcome of the pregnancy to the Department of Health 
Perinatal Hepatitis B Prevention Program. 

2. Relay information about HBSAg-positive babies to the communicable 
disease surveillance team of his or her local health jurisdiction. The 
surveillance team, in turn, reports it to the agency’s Immunization Program 
CHILD Profile (360-236-3698) and Communicable Disease Epidemiology 
Program (1-877-539-4344 or 206-418-5500). 

 
Make sure you do proper follow up and reporting, because: 
 

 Not all babies become fully immune after vaccination. The Centers for Disease Control 
and Prevention (CDC) estimates about five percent of vaccinated babies will not 
develop full immunity after getting three doses of hepatitis B vaccine. These babies 
need more follow up, either re-vaccination or medical management of their infection. 

 Vaccinated babies may still get infected. Up to 6 percent of babies born to HBsAg-
positive women may still become infected even after getting proper post-exposure 
prevention. These babies need more follow up, either re-vaccination or medical 
management of their infection.  

 State health departments report perinatal HBV infection weekly to CDC as one of more 
than 50 nationally notifiable conditions.  
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Closing Cases  
 
To close your open hepatitis B cases and complete reports, use the online Perinatal 
Hepatitis B Module. The User Guide can help answer questions. Access the Module 
and the User Guide from the Department of Health Immunization Program CHILD 
Profile website at www.doh.wa.gov/cfh/Immunize/diseases/hepatitis_b/hep-b-
module.htm or directly here:  
 

 Perinatal Hepatitis B Module: 
https://fortress.wa.gov/doh/cpir/webhepb/welcome.jsp. 

 User Guide: www.doh.wa.gov/cfh/Immunize/documents/hepbmoduserguide.pdf 
 
If you can’t access the Module, download copies of the forms, fill them out by hand, and 
fax them to the Immunization Program CHILD Profile (IPCP) at 360-236-3590. 
Download from www.doh.wa.gov/cfh/Immunize/diseases/hepatitis_b/hep-b-peri-
pubs.htm or directly here: 
 

 Household Contact: www.doh.wa.gov/cfh/Immunize/documents/348-035.pdf  
 Mother/Infant: www.doh.wa.gov/cfh/Immunize/documents/348-030.pdf  

 
 

Protocol for Perinatal Hepatitis B Infection 
Follow this protocol to close or “complete” your hepatitis B infection cases when you 
have completed your tasks or when a situation makes further communication impossible 
or not applicable. Below are examples for closing or “completing” mother, household 
contacts, sexual partners, and baby cases in the Perinatal Hepatitis B Module. 
 
For mothers, close or complete the case if you find that: 

1. Mother has moved. 
a. Be sure to notify Department of Health Immunization Program CHILD Profile 

(IPCP) staff of any county, state, or country move by the mother. 
i. If mother has moved to another county within Washington State, contact 

IPCP staff about the move and make a note in the Perinatal Hepatitis B 
Module of mother’s new address so she can get follow up from the new 
local health jurisdiction. Use the Notes section to record that you made a 
referral to the agency.  

ii. If mother has moved to another state or country, contact IPCP staff about 
the move so IPCP can notify the mother’s new state or country of 
residence. Document the mother’s move on the Notes section of the 
Module or the case report form.  

2. Mother has a false positive HBsAg result.  
3. Mother can’t be located. 
4. Mother’s pregnancy ended. 
5. Mother refuses follow-up. 
6. Mother delivered her baby and the baby was adopted or referred to Child 

Protective Services (CPS).  
7. Mother’s baby died. 
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For household contacts or sexual partners, close or complete the case if you find that: 
1. Contact or partner has moved:  

a. Be sure to notify Department of Health Immunization Program CHILD Profile 
(IPCP) staff of any county, state, or country move by the contact or partner. 
i. If contact or partner has moved to another county within Washington 

State, contact IPCP staff about the move and make a note in the Perinatal 
Hepatitis B Module of contact’s or partner’s new address so she can get 
follow up from the new local health jurisdiction. Use the Notes section to 
record that you made a referral to the agency.  

ii. If contact or partner has moved to another state or country, contact IPCP 
staff about the move so IPCP can notify the contact’s or partner’s new 
state or country of residence. Document the contact’s or partner’s move 
on the Notes section of the Module or the case report form.  

2. Contact or partner can’t be located. 
3. Contact or partner refuses follow-up. 
4. Contact or partner was screened and immunized properly. 
5. Contact or partner died. 

 
For babies, close or complete the case if you find that: 

1. Baby has moved:  
a. Be sure to notify Department of Health Immunization Program CHILD Profile 

(IPCP) staff of any county, state, or country move by the contact or partner. 
i. If baby has moved to another county within Washington State, contact 

IPCP staff about the move and make a note in the Perinatal 
Hepatitis B Module of baby’s new address so he or she can get 
follow up from the new local health jurisdiction. Use the Notes 
section to record that you made a referral to the agency.  

ii. If baby has moved to another state or country, contact IPCP staff about 
the move so IPCP can notify the baby’s new state or country of 
residence. Document the baby’s move on the Notes section of the 
Module or the case report form.  

2. Baby can’t be located. 
3. Baby’s information was never on file. 
4. Baby’s mother refuses follow-up for baby. 
5. Baby completed proper prevention (got three doses of hepatitis B vaccine and 

post-vaccination screening and results sent by pediatric care provider). 
6. Baby died. 
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Required Notification 
 
Washington State follows three levels of required notification for certain medical 
conditions to prevent and control communicable and noninfectious diseases. Different 
agencies take care of these different notification levels. 

1. Notification to local health jurisdictions (LHJ): by every prenatal health care 
provider or hospital. 

2. Notification to the Washington State Department of Health: by every local 
health jurisdiction. 

3. Notification to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC): by the 
Washington State Department of Health, Immunization Program CHILD 
Profile (IPCP). 

 
We consider EACH pregnancy in any HBsAg positive woman a notifiable condition in 
Washington State. This can increase the chance that babies born to HBsAg-positive 
mothers will get proper post-exposure prevention. Because of this, the notifications 
must happen correctly as explained and shown in the picture below. 

1. Health care providers notify the Hepatitis B Coordinator at his or her local 
health jurisdiction of the woman’s status.  

2. The Hepatitis B Coordinator then enrolls the woman in the Perinatal Hepatitis 
B Prevention Program, manages her case (including her baby, household 
contacts, and sexual partners), and notifies the correct agency programs.  

3. As a nationally notifiable condition, IPCP notifies the CDC weekly about all 
perinatal Hepatitis B cases.  

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

Pregnant Woman tests 
HBsAg-positive at her 

Prenatal Care Provider, 
Health Care Provider, or 

the Hospital. 
 

 

Prenatal Care Provider or 
Hospital notifies her or his 
local health jurisdiction’s 
Hepatitis B Coordinator. 

 

Hepatitis B Coordinator  
1) Contacts the HBsAg-positive woman to enroll 

her in the Perinatal Hepatitis B Program so 
that she, her baby, household contacts, and 
sexual partners can be tracked and her 
hepatitis B case managed. 

2) Notifies these Department of Health programs 
of the pregnancy and case management 
outcomes: 
a. DOH Communicable Disease 

Epidemiology at 1-877-539-4344 or 206-
418-5500 or through Public Health Issue 
Management System (PHIMS), and 

b. DOH Immunization Program CHILD 
Profile-360-236-3698. 

 

DOH IPCP Hepatitis B staff notifies the CDC of 
each Hepatitis B case through reports and 
notifies them of all positive infant cases  

through the Nationally Notifiable Diseases 
Surveillance System. 
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Required Reportable Conditions  
Hepatitis B Surface Antigen (HBsAg) Positivity During Pregnancy 
 
Since December 2000 in Washington State, HBsAg-positive status during pregnancy 
has been a required reportable condition. Health care providers must report this status 
to local health jurisdictions within three working days, according to state law (see 
Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 246-101-101). 
 
Why Report? 

 Identifying and reporting HBsAg-positive pregnant women during each 
pregnancy helps prevent the spread of hepatitis B virus to their babies. These 
babies have a very high risk of getting the infection and developing serious long-
term medical conditions unless they get proper post-exposure prevention.  

 Local public health jurisdiction staff work with health care providers to make sure 
that: 

 Mothers get counseled about preventing the spread of HBV to their babies 
and their household contacts; 

 Mother’s sexual partner(s) get referred to a specialist for follow-up; 
 Babies get hepatitis B immune globulin (HBIG) and hepatitis B vaccine 

Dose #1 at birth, Dose #2 at 1-2 months of age, and Dose #3 at 6 months 
of age; 

 Babies get post-vaccination testing (HBsAg and anti-HBs) at 9-18 months 
of age (1-2 months after the third dose of hepatitis B vaccine) to check for 
infection and immune status; and, 

 Household contacts and sexual partners get pre-vaccination testing and 
immunization with hepatitis B vaccine, if at risk. 

 
When to Report? 
A report should be made at any time during each pregnancy in which the pregnant 
woman tests HBsAg positive. It is the prenatal care provider’s responsibility to make 
sure the delivery hospital knows of an HBsAg-positive mother prior to her baby’s birth 
so that the baby gets proper treatment. 
 
Reporting Requirements? 
Health care providers who request the HBsAg test during prenatal care or at the time of 
delivery must report all HBsAg-positive pregnant women to the provider’s local health 
jurisdiction. 
 
More Information 
These resources may be helpful for you when reporting: 
 
 Reporting Matrix 

English only www.doh.wa.gov/cfh/Hepatitis/docs/rptmatrix.pdf  
 Reporting LHJ Contact List  

English only www.doh.wa.gov/notify/other/lhjcontacts.pdf  
 Notifiable Conditions  

 English only www.doh.wa.gov/notify/other/providerposter.pdf  
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If you have other questions, please contact your local health jurisdiction or the 
Washington State Department of Health Immunization Program CHILD Profile at  
360-236-3698. 
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Vaccine Specifics: 
Administering Vaccine for Preventing Hepatitis B 

Route and Site 
Give hepatitis B vaccine intramuscularly into the deltoid muscle of adults and children 
and into the anterolateral thigh muscle of newborns and babies. Do not give hepatitis B 
vaccine intradermally OR into the buttock. 
 
You can give hepatitis B vaccine at the same time as other vaccines, but use separate 
sites. 

Dose and Schedule 
You can use different brands of vaccine for the three hepatitis B doses. 
 

 Babies born to HBsAg-positive mothers should get 0.5 ml of Hepatitis B Immune 
Globulin (HBIG) within 12 hours of birth and hepatitis B vaccine Dose #1 
(Engerix-B 10mcg/0.5ml or Recombivax 5mcg/0.5ml) at the same time but at a 
different site. 

 
 Give Dose #2 (Engerix-B 10mcg/0.5ml or Recombivax 5mcg/0.5ml) at 1-2 

months of age. 
 

 Give Dose #3 (Engerix-B 10mcg/0.5ml or Recombivax 5mcg/0.5ml) at 6 months 
of age. 

Vaccination of Premature Babies 
 

 A premature infant born to HBsAg-positive mothers and mothers with unknown 
status must get HBIG AND hepatitis B vaccine less than 12 hours after birth. If 
these babies weigh <2,000 grams at birth, do not count the first dose of hepatitis 
B vaccine as one of the doses in the series. The baby should get three additional 
doses of hepatitis B vaccine, starting when medically stable and at least 1 month 
of age. (Redbook, 2009 Report of the Committee on Infectious Diseases, 2009; 
and MMWR, 2005) 

 
 Premature babies born to HBsAg-negative mothers, regardless of birth weight, 

should get vaccinated at the same chronological age and according to the same 
schedule and precautions as full-term babies. Use the full recommended dose of 
each vaccine, because divided or reduced doses cannot count as valid. Studies 
demonstrate that decreased seroconversion rates might occur among certain 
premature babies with low birth weight (<2,000 grams) after getting hepatitis B 
vaccine at birth. However, we know that by chronological age 1 month, all 
premature babies, regardless of initial birth weight or gestational age can 
respond as adequately as older and larger babies. (General Immunization 
Recommendations, update 2006) 
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Vaccine Specifics: 
Recommended Doses of Currently Licensed Monovalent Hepatitis 
B Vaccines 
 
Recombivax and Engerix-B vaccines have three doses in their series. Engerix-B also 
has a licensed for a four-dose series given at 0, 1, 2, and 12 months. Dialysis patients 
should get Engerix-B at 0, 1, 2, and 6 months. 
 
Key: 

HBsAg = Hepatitis B surface antigen 
mcg  = microgram 
mL  = milliliter 
GSK  = GlaxoSmithKline 

 
Group Merck Recombivax HB Dosage GSK Engerix-B Dosage 

 
Babies,1 children & 
adolescents (0–19 years of 
age) 
 

5 mcg (0.5 mL)2 
Pediatric/Adolescent Formulation 
YELLOW Top Vial 
 

10 mcg (0.5 mL)3  
Pediatric Formulation  
OLIVE GREEN Top Vial 

Adolescent 
(11–15 years of age) Merck 
(11–19 years of age) GSK 
A two dose series for 
adolescents (11-15) is also 
acceptable 
 

10mcg (1.0) 
Adult Formulation 
GREEN Top Vial 
 

10mcg (0.5 mL) 
OLIVE GREEN Top Vial 

Adults (20 years of age & 
older) 

10 mcg (1.0 mL) 
Adult Formulation 
GREEN Top Vial 
 

20 mcg (1.0 mL) 
Adult Formulation  
ORANGE Top Vial 

Predialysis and Dialysis 
patients  

40 mcg (1.0 mL)  
Dialysis Formulation  
BLUE Top Vial 

40 mcg (2.0 mL) 
(Two 20 mcg doses) 
Adult Formulation  
ORANGE Top Vial 

 
Sources:  

 MMWR, Centers for Disease Control, December 23, 2005/Vol. 54/No. RR-16: 
www.cdc.gov/mmwr/PDF/rr/rr5416.pdf 

 Recombivax HB package insert, December 2010. 
 Engerix B package insert, December 2010.  

  

                                                 
1 Infants born to HBsAg-positive mothers should also receive hepatitis B immune globulin (HBIG) 0.5 mL 
intramuscularly at a site different from that used for the hepatitis B vaccine. 
2 Change in dose, licensed in 1998. Infants born to HBsAg-negative mothers now receive the same dose 
as infants born to HBsAg-positive mothers. “If the suggested formulation is not available, the appropriate 
dosage can be achieved from another formulation provided that the total volume of vaccine administered 
does not exceed 1 mL.” 
3 Change in adolescent dose, licensed in 1995. 
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Vaccine Specifics: 
Administering HBIG 

Route and Site 
For newborns and babies: Give HBIG intramuscularly into the anterolateral thigh 
muscle. You can give HBIG at the same time as hepatitis B vaccine, but use separate 
sites. 

Dose and Schedule 
Newborns and babies should get 0.5 ml of HBIG within 12 hours of birth. They should 
also get Dose #1 of hepatitis B vaccine at the same time at a separate site. 
 
For other exposed persons, the dose of HBIG is 0.06 ml/kg of body weight. To calculate 
the dose: 

 Convert body weight to kilograms (kg) 
 Multiply the number of kilograms by 0.06 ml/kg  

 
For example, if the person weighs 110 lbs, the number of kilograms = 110 lbs ÷ 2.2 
(number of pounds per kilogram) = 50.0 kg. The correct dose of HBIG is 50.0 kg x 0.06 
ml/kg or 3.0 ml. 

HBIG Dosage at a Glance 
Use the following table to identify dosage based on weight. 
 

Body Weight in 
pounds (lbs) 

Body Weight in 
kilograms (kg) 

Dose in 
milliliter (ml) 

100 45.5 2.7 
110 50.0 3.0 
120 54.5 3.3 
130 59.1 3.5 
140 63.6 3.8 
150 68.2 4.1 
160 72.7 4.4 
170 77.3 4.6 
180 81.8 4.9 
190 86.4 5.2 
200 90.9 5.5 
210 95.5 5.7 
220 100.0 6.0 
230 104.5 6.3 
240 109.1 6.5 
250 113.6 6.8 

Dose = 0.06 ml x kg of body weight; 1 kg = 2.2 lbs 
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Vaccine Specifics: 
Storing and Handling Hepatitis B Vaccine and HBIG 
 
Always read the package insert. Read the table below for storage and handling 
supplemental information, but this does not take the place of the package insert. 
  

Shipping Requirements: Use insulated container. Must ship with 
refrigerant. 
 

Condition on Arrival: Should not have been frozen. Refrigerate on 
arrival. 
 

Storage Requirements: Refrigerate immediately upon arrival. Store at 2°-
8°C (35°-46°F). Do not freeze. 
 

Shelf Life/Expiration: Hepatitis B Vaccine - up to 3 years. Check date 
on container or vial.  
HBIG - up to 12 months. Check date on container 
or vial. 
 

Instructions for 
Reconstitution or Use: 
 

Inspect visually for particulate matter or 
discoloration. Shake vial or fill syringe well before 
use. 
 

Shelf Life After Reconstitution 
or Opening: 
 

Check expiration date on vial, or manufacturer-
filled syringe. Give the vaccine shortly after 
withdrawal. If pre-filled syringe, administer after 
the needle is attached to the syringe. 
 

Special Instructions: Rotate stock so that you use the material with the 
earliest expiration date first. 
 

 

Best Practices for Storing and Handling All Vaccines 
 

1. Have policies and procedures in place to rotate stock and check expiration date 
of vaccine weekly. Use vaccine with earliest expiration date so none become 
outdated. 

2. Do not use outdated vaccine. 
3. Never store vaccine in refrigerator door. 
4. When transporting vaccine, always use an insulated container with ice packs. 
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Vaccine Specifics: 
Ages and Intervals4 
 
The table below shows the vaccine dose of particular vaccines, with recommended 
ages, intervals, and minimum ages for getting the vaccines. 
 

Vaccine & dose number Recommended 
age for this dose 

Minimum age 
for this dose 

Recommended 
interval to next 

dose 

Minimum 
interval to 
next dose 

 
Hepatitis B15 
 

 
Birth—2 months 

 
Birth 

 
1—4 months 

 
4 weeks 

Hepatitis B2 
  

1—4 months 4 weeks 2—17 months 8 weeks 

Hepatitis B36 
 

6—18 months 6 months7 -- -- 

 
Source:  

 MMWR, Centers for Disease Control, December 23, 2005/Vol. 54/No. RR-16: 
www.cdc.gov/mmwr/PDF/rr/rr5416.pdf  

  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
   
 
   

                                                 
4 Combination vaccines are available. Using licensed combination vaccines is preferred over separate 
injections of their equivalent component vaccines. (Source: CDC Combination vaccines for childhood 
immunization; recommendations of the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP), the 
American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP), and the American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP). 
MMWR 1999;48 [No. RR-5:5]. When administering combination vaccines, the minimum age for 
administration is the oldest age for any of the individual components; the minimum interval between 
doses is equal to the greatest interval of any of the individual antigens. 
5 A combination hepatitis B-Hib vaccine is available (Comvax®, manufactured by Merck Vaccine 
Division). This vaccine should not be administered to infants aged <6 weeks because the Hib component. 
6 Hepatitis B3 should be administered >8 weeks after Hepatitis B2 and 16 weeks after Hepatitis B1, and it 
should not be administered before age 24 weeks (164 days). This applies to all infants, regardless of 
mothers HBsAg status. 
7 Calendar months. 
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Laboratory Screening: 
Guidelines 
 
The following information identifies which screening test(s) should be ordered for 
pregnant women and babies. 
 
HBsAg: Pregnant Women 
A positive HBsAg screening test identifies HBV-infected pregnant women. Babies born 
to HBsAg-positive pregnant women are at high risk of infection unless they receive the 
proper post-exposure prevention. To prevent perinatal spread of hepatitis B, you do not 
need to know if the woman has acute or chronic HBV infection. However, HBsAg-
positive women identified during screening may have HBV-related liver disease and 
should be evaluated for this chronic condition. 
 
In certain cases, HBsAg tests may be reported inconclusively as “indeterminate,” 
“borderline,” or “weakly positive.” Check with the lab to make sure that a repeat HBsAg 
confirmatory assay was done. If the repeat HBsAg assay is still not conclusive, repeat 
the HBsAg test in the last trimester of pregnancy. If the mother’s HBsAg status is still 
unknown at the time of delivery, assume she is HBsAg-positive and treat her infant 
accordingly. 
 
HBsAg and Anti-HBs: Babies (3-9 months after Dose #3)  
For babies born to HBsAg-positive mothers, blood (or serologic) testing after proper 
post-exposure prevention shows if the baby is infected with or fully protected against 
HBV. If the baby is on schedule with hepatitis B doses, testing should happen 3-9 
months after Dose #3. Testing should not be performed before age 9 months to avoid 
detection of anti-HBS from HBIG administered during infancy and to maximize the 
likelihood of detecting late HBV infection (MMWR, 2005). Testing for HBsAg identifies 
infected babies who need medical follow-up. Testing for anti-HBs identifies HBsAg-
negative babies who still need to repeat the series of hepatitis B vaccine for full 
protection. 
 
Interpret results this way: 
1) HBsAg (-) and anti-HBs (+) = infant is immune or fully protected against HBV. 
2) HBsAg (+) and anti-HBs (-) = infant is infected and needs medical follow-up. 
3) HBsAg (-) and anti-HBs (-) = infant is still susceptible and needs three additional 

doses of hepatitis B vaccine followed by re-testing. 
 
HBsAg and Anti-HBs OR Anti-HBc only: Household Contacts and Sexual Partners  
Household contacts and sexual partners of HBsAg-positive pregnant women are at high 
risk of becoming infected. Both should get pre-vaccination testing if possible and those 
who are susceptible should be immunized. Sexual contacts of HBsAg-positive 
women should also get post-vaccination testing. Health care providers make the 
decision about which test(s) to order. The following information may help in the 
decision-making process 
 
1) Testing for HBsAg identifies acute and chronic (carrier) HBV infections. 
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2) Testing for anti-HBs identifies antibody to Hepatitis B Surface Antigen, which is a 
marker of immunity. Its presence indicates protective antibody from HBIG or 
hepatitis B vaccine. 

3) Testing for anti-HBc identifies current and previous HBV infections but does not 
distinguish between the two. 

4) A positive test for HBsAg or anti-HBs indicates that the individual does not need 
vaccine.  

5)  A positive anti-HBc alone indicates that the individual should be referred to his or 
her health care provider for further evaluation. 

 
 
Sources:  

 MMWR, Centers for Disease Control, December 23, 2005/Vol. 54/No. RR-16, 
page 4: www.cdc.gov/mmwr/PDF/rr/rr5416.pdf 

 Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for Disease Control, May 
2009 11th Edition, Epidemiology and Prevention of Vaccine-Preventable 
Diseases (Pink Book), pages 101-103.  
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Laboratory Screening: 
Free Blood Testing at Public Health-Seattle & King County 
Laboratory 
 
Local health jurisdictions (LHJs) can get free laboratory testing for the prevention of 
perinatal hepatitis B if the blood is drawn by the LHJ and sent to Public Health – Seattle 
& King County Laboratory. The Immunization Program CHILD Profile (IPCP) will pay the 
costs of lab testing for the following groups: 
 

1. Pregnant women if they do not have Medicaid or insurance that will cover the 
cost of testing. 

 
2. Babies born to HBsAg-positive mothers if the babies do not have Medicaid or 

insurance that will cover the cost of post-vaccination testing. 
 

3. Household contacts and sexual partners of HBsAg-positive pregnant women if 
the contacts/partners do not have Medicaid or insurance that will cover the cost 
of pre-vaccination testing. 

 
4. Sexual partners of HBsAg-positive pregnant women if the partners do not have 

Medicaid or insurance that will cover the cost of post-vaccination testing. 
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Laboratory Screening: 
Submitting Blood Samples to Public Health-Seattle & King County 
Laboratory 
 
For people whose hepatitis B testing will be paid by the Immunization Program CHILD 
Profile (IPCP), follow this procedure when submitting their blood samples. See “Free 
Blood Testing” for information on which individuals can use this free testing. 
 
1. Ship one red-top tube or 2-3 ml of serum in a standard leak-proof, screw cap 

tube or vial. 
 
a. Place the vial in a primary container with sufficient absorbent material 

surrounding the vial to prevent the contents from escaping should leakage 
occur during shipment. 

 
b. Place the primary container in a leak-proof plastic bag and insert it into the 

outer shipping package. 
 

c. Include a Public Health – Seattle & King County Laboratory form. This form 
must be sent with each blood sample. Find at 
www.kingcounty.gov/healthservices/health/communicable/lab.aspx 

 
d. Mark the outer shipping package, “Clinical Specimen.” 

 
 
2. When filling out a Public Health – Seattle & King County Laboratory form, 

remember: 
 

a. The appropriate box under Perinatal Hepatitis B section of the form must be 
marked to ensure payment for the testing by the IPCP 

 
b. Mark the correct tests for the blood sample. See “Laboratory Screening 

Guidelines” for information on which test(s) to order. 
 
3. Send blood samples directly to: 

Public Health – Seattle & King County Laboratory 
  325 - 9th Avenue, Room BWC03 
  Box 359973 
  Seattle, WA  98104-2499 
 
4. Order lab forms and mailing containers from Public Health-Seattle & King County 

Laboratory by calling 206-744-8950 or going to 
www.kingcounty.gov/healthservices/health/communicable/lab.aspx 

 
 
 
 



Perinatal Hepatitis B Prevention Program Guidelines, Chapter 1: What LHJs Need to Know Page 31 of 98 

Laboratory Screening: 
Serologic Markers 
 
Use the table below to find explanations of hepatitis B markers (antibodies) in blood 
serum. 
 

 
Abbreviation 

 
Full Name Definition/Comments 

HBsAg Hepatitis B surface 
antigen 

Detection of a large quantity of surface 
antigen(s) of HBV in serum indicates 
infection. 
 

Anti-HBs Antibody to Hepatitis 
B surface antigen 

Detection of antibodies to HBsAg 
Indicates past infection with immunity to 
HBV, passive antibody from HBIG, or 
immune response from HB vaccine. 
 

HBcAg Hepatitis B core 
antigen 
 

A marker of current or past hepatitis B 
infection. 

Anti-HBc Antibody to Hepatitis 
B core antigen 
 

Detection of antibodies to HBc indicates 
prior or recent infection with HBV. 

IgM anti-HBc IgM class antibody Detection of IgM class antibodies 
indicates recent infection with HBV. IgM 
is detectable for 4 to 6 months after 
infection. 
 

HBeAg Hepatitis B e antigen Detection of HBeAg correlates with 
higher levels of HBV in serum and 
increased infectivity. 
 

Anti-HBe Antibody to Hepatitis 
B e antigen 

Presence of Anti-HBe in the serum of 
HBsAg carrier indicates lower titer of 
HBV. 

 
Source:  

 Immunization Action Coalition, www.immunize.org/askexperts/experts_hepb.asp  
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Laboratory Screening: 
Interpreting Test Results 
 
Use the table below for help interpreting hepatitis B test results, also called the hepatitis 
B panel: 
 

Tests Results Interpretation Vaccinate? 
HBsAg 
anti-HBc 
anti-HBs 

negative 
negative 
negative 
 

Susceptible Vaccinate if indicated 

HBsAg 
anti-HBc 
anti-HBs 

negative 
negative 
positive with 
>10mIU/mL8 
 

Immune due to vaccination No vaccination necessary 

HBsAg 
anti-HBc 
anti-HBs 

negative 
positive 
positive 
 

Immune due to natural infection No vaccination necessary 

HBsAg 
anti-HBc 
IgM anti-HBc 
anti-HBs 

positive 
positive 
positive 
negative 
 

Acutely infected No vaccination necessary 

HBsAg 
anti-HBc 
IgM anti-HBc 
anti-HBs 

positive 
positive 
negative 
negative 
 

Chronically infected No vaccination necessary 
(may need treatment) 

HBsAg 
anti-HBc 
anti-HBs 

negative 
positive 
negative 
 

Four interpretations possible: 
1. May be recovering from acute 

HBV infection. 
2. May be distantly immune, but 

the test may not be sensitive 
enough to detect a very low 
level of anti-HBs in serum. 

3. May be susceptible with a false 
positive anti-HBc. 

4. May be chronically infected and 
have an undetectable level of 
HBsAg present in the serum. 

Use clinical judgment 
 

 

Source:  
 Immunization Action Coalition, www.immunize.org/askexperts/experts_hepb.asp  

 
 

                                                 
8 Infants born to HBsAg-positive mothers should be tested for HBsAg and anti-HBs after they’ve had at 
least three doses of a licensed hepatitis B vaccination series. This means at 9-18 months – typically at 
the next well-child visit. 
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References and Resources 
References for this Hepatitis B Prevention Program Guidelines Manual and 
Helpful Resources for Local Health Jurisdiction Staff 
 
Manual References 

 CDC Perinatal Hepatitis B Prevention Program Case Transfer Form 
www.cdc.gov/hepatitis/Partners/Perinatal/docs/CDC_Case_Transfer_Form.doc 

 
 CDC Hepatitis B Vaccine: What You Need to Know – Vaccine Information Sheet 

(VIS) www.cdc.gov/vaccines/pubs/vis/downloads/vis-hep-b.pdf 
 

 Hepatitis B Facts: Testing and Vaccination www.immunize.org/catg.d/p2110.pdf 
 

 MMWR (Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report) Recommendations and Reports 
– A Comprehensive Immunization Strategy to Eliminate Transmission of 
Hepatitis B Virus Infection in the United States: Recommendations of the 
Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP) Dec. 23, 2005 
www.cdc.gov/mmwr/PDF/rr/rr5416.pdf 

 
 MMWR (Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report) Recommendations and Reports 

– Recommendations for Identification and Public Health Management of Persons 
with Chronic Hepatitis B Virus Infection www.cdc.gov/mmWR/PDF/rr/rr5708.pdf 
Sept. 19, 2008 

 
 WAC 246-101-101 Notifiable Conditions and the Health Care Provider: 

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=246-101-101 
 

LHJ Resources 
 

 Sample Letters www.doh.wa.gov/cfh/immunize/forms#hepb-sample-letters 
 Before Baby is Born 
 After Baby is Born 
 Completion of Serology (Blood) Testing 

 

 Local Health Jurisdiction Perinatal Hepatitis B Coordinators List: 
www.doh.wa.gov/cfh/Immunize/document/perihepbcoord.pdf  

 

  Stickers for medical charts:  
 Prenatal stickers: Reporting HBsAg-positive Mothers Required 

(www.doh.wa.gov/cfh/Immunize/documents/reportingmother.doc)  
Print stickers on Avery mailing labels 5163 to flag prenatal medical charts 
of HBsAg-positive pregnant women. Print in color. 

 Hospital Sticker: ALERT: Give HBIG and Hep B Vaccine 
(www.doh.wa.gov/cfh/Immunize/documents/hepbalertbaby.doc)  
Print stickers on Avery mailing labels 5163 to flag hospital medical charts 
of babies born to HBsAg-positive mothers. Print in color. 

 Pediatric Sticker: This baby requires hepatitis B immunization 
(www.doh.wa.gov/cfh/Immunize/documents/hepbthisbaby.doc)  
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Print stickers on Avery mailing labels 5163 to flag pediatric medical charts 
of babies born to HBsAg-positive mothers. Print in color. 

 
 Order Hepatitis B Materials: www.doh.wa.gov/cfh/immunize/forms/default.htm  

 

 WAC 246-101-101 Notifiable Conditions and the Health Care Provider: 
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=246-101-101

If you have a disability and need this document in another format, please call 1-800-525-
0127 (TDD/TTY 1-800-833-6388).
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