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Washington State Department of Health 2016 Death with Dignity Act Report 

 

Executive Summary  
 
Washington’s Death with Dignity Act allows adult residents in the state with six months or less 

to live to request lethal doses of medication from a physician. In this report, a participant of the 

act is defined as someone to whom medication was dispensed under the terms of this law. This 

report describes available information for the 248 participants for whom medication was 

dispensed between January 1, 2016 and December 31, 2016. It includes data from the 

documentation received by the Department of Health as of June 30, 2017. 

 

In 2016, medication was dispensed to 248 individuals (defined as 2016 participants): 

 Prescriptions were written by 140 different physicians 

 Medications were dispensed by 47 different pharmacists 

 

Of the 248 participants in 2016: 

 240 are known to have died 

 192 died after ingesting the medication 

 36 died without having ingested the medication 

 For the remaining 12 people who died, ingestion status is unknown 

 For the 8 participants not included among those known to have died, the state health 

department has received no documentation (death certificate or after death form) that 

indicates death has occurred 

  

The state has received death certificates for 239 participants in 2016; we are awaiting death 

certificate information on 1 additional participant.  

 

Of the 239 participants in 2016 who died and for whom we have death certificates: 

 The youngest was 33 years and the oldest was 98 years 

 94 percent lived west of the Cascades 

 97 percent were White 

 43 percent were married at time of death 

 67 percent had at least some college education 

 77 percent had cancer 

 8 percent had neuro-degenerative disease, including Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis 

(ALS) 

 16 percent had other illnesses, including heart and respiratory disease, and unknown 

illnesses 

 

Of the 240 participants in 2016 who died, an After Death Report was provided for 236 participants. Of 

these 236 participants: 

 92 percent had private, Medicare, Medicaid, other insurance, or a combination of health 

insurance  

 87 percent reported to their health care provider concerns about loss of autonomy 

 66 percent reported to their health care provider concerns about loss of dignity 
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 84 percent reported to their health care provider concerns about loss of the ability to 

participate in activities that make life enjoyable 

 

Of the 192 participants in 2016 who died after ingesting the medication: 

 88 percent were at home at the time of death 

 77 percent were enrolled in hospice care when they ingested the medication 
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Death with Dignity Participation in 2016 

 

For the purposes of this report, a participant of the Death with Dignity Act in 2016 is defined as 

someone to whom medication was dispensed in 2016 under the terms of the act. Details of the 

act are included in Appendix A. 

 

To date, the state health department has received documentation indicating that lethal doses of 

medication were dispensed to 248 participants under the law in 2016. These prescriptions were 

written by 140 different physicians and dispensed by 47 different pharmacists. The department 

has not yet received all of the required paperwork for all participants. Table 5 in Appendix A 

shows details of the documentation that has been received by the department. When all the 

required paperwork is not received, department staff contacts health care providers to obtain the 

documentation. 

 

Among the 248 participants who received medication in 2016, the department has received 

confirmation that 240 have died; 192 ingested the medication, 36 did not ingest, and the 

ingestion status is unknown for 12 (Figure 1). Death of a participant is established through 

receipt of the After Death Reporting form and/or a death certificate. 

 

The status of the remaining 8 participants is unknown at the time of this report. Some 

participants may still be alive since they may wait to use the medication or choose not to use it. It 

is also possible that some participants have taken the medication and died, but notification has 

not yet been received by the department because the After Death Reporting form is due 30 days 

after death and the death certificate is due 60 days after death.
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Figure 1. Outcome of the 248 participants who received medication in 2016 under the terms of the 

Death with Dignity Act 
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Update on Death with Dignity Participation 2009-2015 

Since the last Death with Dignity report was published in July of 2016 the department received 

additional information on participants from prior years. As of August 15, 2017, 211 of the 215 

participants in 2015, 172 of the 176 participants in 2014, 169 of the 173 participants in 2013, 121 

of the 121 participants in 2012, 102 of the 103 participants in 2011, 87 of the 87 participants in 

2010, and 64 of the 65 participants in 2009 had died. The status of the four remaining 

participants in 2015, four remaining participants in 2014, the four remaining participants 2013, 

the one remaining participant in 2011, and the one remaining participant in 2009 remains 

unknown. These participants may have died, but no documentation of the death has been 

received. The number of participants in 2009-2016, and the number of these participants who are 

known to have died as of August 15, 2017, are shown in Figure 2. 

 
Figure 2. Number of Death with Dignity Participants and Known Deaths, WA 2009-2016 
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Table 1. Characteristics of the participants of the Death with Dignity Act who have died 

Notes: 

 2016  20151 2014 

 Number % Number % Number % 

Sex2       

   Male 120 50 113 54 75 44 

   Female 119 50 97 46 97 56 

Age (years)2       

   18-44 6 3 5 2 7 4 

   45-54 12 5 12 6 10 6 

   55-64 53 22 39 19 33 19 

   65-74 59 25 65 31 53 31 

   75-84 67 28 42 20 40 23 

   85+ 42 18 47 22 29 17 

   Range (min-max) 33-98  20–97  21–101  

Race and Ethnicity2       

   White 232 97 205 98 159 92 

   Other 7 3 5 2 12 7 

   Unknown 0 0 0 0 1 1 

Marital Status2        

   Married 103 43 99 47 81 47 

   Widowed 47 20 45 21 34 20 

   Divorced 65 27 54 26 37 21 

   Domestic partner (state-registered) 2 1 0 0 18 10 

   Never married/single 17 7 12 6 1 1 

   Unknown 5 1 0 0 1 1 

Education2       

   Less than high school 10 4 8 4 4 2 

   High school graduate 65 27 46 22 37 22 

   Some college 84 35 55 26 42 24 

   Baccalaureate or higher 77 32 99 47 86 50 

   Unknown 3 1 2 1 3 2 

Residence3,4       

   West of the Cascades  224 94 199 95 161 95 

   East of the Cascades 15 6 11 5 9 5 

Underlying illness3       

   Cancer 184 77 148 72 129 76 

   Neuro-degenerative disease (including ALS5) 18 8 17 8 21 13 

   Respiratory disease (including COPD6) 18 8 18 9 4 2 

   Heart disease 14 6 11 5 10 6 

   Other illnesses 5 2 11 5 6 3 

Insurance Status7       

   Private only 43 18 28 14 33 23 

   Medicare or Medicaid only 109 46 102 50 82 57 

   Combination of private & Medicare/Medicaid 40 17 20 10 18 13 

   None 1 <1 3 1 3 2 

   Unknown 16 6 29 14 7 5 

   Other (including VA and other insurance) 27 11 20 10   
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1 Data derived from the death certificate (sex, age, race/ethnicity, marital status, and education) have been updated 

for 2015.  Data have been updated for 8 of the 2015 participants with information received since the 2015 report was 

published. At time of publication, death certificate data are available for 210 of the 2015 participants.  

 
2 Data are collected from the death certificate. At time of publication, data are available 239 of the 240 

 participants in 2016 who died.  

 
3 Data are collected from multiple documents (After Death Reporting Form, Attending Physician Compliance Form, 

and Death Certificate). At time of publication, data are available for 239 of the 240 participants in 2016 who died.  

 
4 Counties west of the Cascades include: Clallam, Clark, Cowlitz, Grays Harbor, Island, Jefferson, King, Kitsap,  

Lewis, Mason, Pacific, Pierce, San Juan, Skagit, Skamania, Snohomish, Thurston, Wahkiakum, and Whatcom.   

Counties east of the Cascades include: Adams, Asotin, Benton, Chelan, Columbia, Douglas, Ferry, Franklin,  

Garfield, Grant, Kittitas, Klickitat, Lincoln, Okanogan, Pend Oreille, Spokane, Stevens, Walla Walla, Whitman,  

and Yakima. 

5 Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS). 

6 Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease (COPD). 

7 Data are collected from the After Death Reporting form. At the time of publication, data are available for 236 of 

the 240 participants in 2016.  
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Table 2. End of life concerns of participants of the Death with Dignity Act who have died. 

 

 2016 2015 20141 

 Number % Number % Number % 

End of Life Concerns2, 3       

   Losing autonomy  206 87 170 84 127 89 

   Less able to engage in activities making life 
enjoyable  

199 84 
170 84 135 94 

   Loss of dignity  156 66 135 67 113 79 

   Burden on family, friends/caregivers  120 51 96 48 85 59 

   Losing control of bodily functions  101 43 102 51 73 51 

   Inadequate pain control or concern about it  97 41 71 35 59 41 

   Financial implications of treatment  18 8 25 12 12 8 

 

Notes: 

1 Data published in 2014 report:  

   http://www.doh.wa.gov/DataandStatisticalReports/VitalStatisticsData/DeathwithDignityData.aspx  

 
2 Data are collected from the After Death Reporting form. At the time of publication, data are available for 236 

   of the 240 participants in 2016 who died. 

 
3 Participants may have selected more than one end of life concern. Thus the totals are greater than 100 percent. 

http://www.doh.wa.gov/DataandStatisticalReports/VitalStatisticsData/DeathwithDignityData.aspx
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Table 3. Death with Dignity Act process for the participants who have died 

 2016 2015 20141 

 Number % Number % Number % 

       

Family and Psychiatric/Psychological 
involvement 

  
    

   Referred for psychiatric/psychological 
evaluation2 

11 5 8 4 6 4 

   Patient informed family of decision3  221 94 174 93 146 88 

Medication4       

   Secobarbital 77 32 109 51 112 64 

   Pentobarbital  2 1 4 2 64 36 

   Secobarbital/Pentobarbital Combination 0 0 0 0 0 0 

   Phenobarbital 1 <1 10 5 0 0 

   Phenobarbital/Chloral Hydrate Combination 106 44 88 41   

   Chloral Hydrate 1 <1     

   Morphine sulfate 52 22 4 2 0 0 

   Other   1 <1 0 0 0 0 

Timing        

 Duration of patient-physician relationship5       

   <25 weeks 125 53 99 49 62 43 

   25 weeks – 51 weeks 25 11 18 9 18 13 

   1 year or more 84 36 81 40 57 40 

   Unknown 2 1 4 2 6 4 

   Range (min – max) <1 wk – 
31 yrs 

 <1 wk – 2 
yrs 

 
<1 wk –
23 yrs 

 

 Duration between first oral request and death2       

   <25 weeks  209 89 164 81 145 87 

   25 weeks or more 24 10 33 16 15 9 

   Unknown 3 1 5 2 7 4 

   Range (min – max) 2 wks –
112 wks 

 0 wks –
95 wks 

 
2 wks –
57 wks 

 

 

Notes: 

1 Data published in 2014 report: 

   http://www.doh.wa.gov/DataandStatisticalReports/VitalStatisticsData/DeathwithDignityData.aspx. 

 
2 Data are collected from the Attending Physician’s Compliance form. At the time of publication, data are 

   available for 236 of the 240 participants in 2016 who died. 

3 Data are collected from the Written Request for Medication to End Life. At the time of publication, data are 

   available for 234 of the 240 participants in 2016 who died. 

4 Data are collected from the Pharmacy Dispensing Record Form. At the time of publication, data are available for     

 all 240 participants in 2016 who received medication and died.  Changes in medications from year to year reflect           

changes, updates, and developments of new medication combinations over time.   

5 Data are collected from the After Death Reporting form. At the time of publication, data are available for 236 of  

   the 240 participants in 2016 who died. 

http://www.doh.wa.gov/DataandStatisticalReports/VitalStatisticsData/DeathwithDignityData.aspx
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Table 4. Circumstances and complications related to ingestion of medication prescribed under the 

Death with Dignity Act of the participants who have died 

 2016 2015 20141 

 Number % Number % Number % 

Circumstances when medication ingested2       

Healthcare provider present        

   Prescribing physician  17 9 9 5 7 6 

   Other provider, not prescribing physician, present  97 51 117 69 78 62 

   No provider  25 13 23 14 21 16 

   Unknown 53 28 20 12 20 16 

Location of patient        

   Home (patient, family, friend)  168 88 146 86 116 92 

   Long term care, assisted living or foster care facility  14 7 17 10 7 5 

   Hospital  0 0 0 0 0 0 

   Other  3 2 1 1 2 2 

   Unknown 7 3 5 3 1 1 

Hospice care       

   Enrolled 148 77 138 82 86 69 

   Not enrolled 27 14 19 11 35 28 

   Unknown 17 9 12 7 5 4 

Timing2       

Minutes between ingestion and unconsciousness       

   1 min – 10 min   110 57 122 72 84 67 

   11 min or more 44 23 9 5 11 9 

   Unknown 38 20 38 22 31 24 

   Range (min – max)   1 min 
– 11 
hours 

 
1 min–72 

min 
 

1 min–60 
min 

 

Minutes between ingestion and death       

Less than 90 min 102 53 104 62 91 72 

   91 min or more   57 30 36 21 10 8 

   Unknown   33 17 29 17 25 20 

   Range (min – max) 1 min to 
22 hrs 

 5 min–72 
hrs 

 
3 min–
18hrs 

 

Complications2       

   Regurgitation 7 4 3 2 2 2 

   Seizures 0 0 0 0 1 1 

   Awakened after taking prescribed medication  0 0 0 0 0 0 

   Other   2 1 2 1 0 0 

   None  162 84 150 89 121 96 

   Unknown 21 11 14 8 2 1 

Emergency Medical Services involvement2       

   Called for intervention after lethal medication 
ingested  

0 0 
0 0 

0 0 

   Called for other reason (including to pronounce 
death) 

3 2 
2 1 2 2 

   Not called after lethal medication ingested  171 89 151 89 117 93 

   Unknown 18 9 16 9 7 5 
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Notes: 

1 Data published in 2014 report: 

  http://www.doh.wa.gov/DataandStatisticalReports/VitalStatisticsData/DeathwithDignityData.aspx. 

 
2 Data are collected from the After Death Reporting form. At the time of publication, data are available 

   for 192 participants in 2016 who are known to have ingested the medication.  

  

http://www.doh.wa.gov/DataandStatisticalReports/VitalStatisticsData/DeathwithDignityData.aspx
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Appendix A 

Overview of Death with Dignity Act 
 

The Washington State Death with Dignity Act, chapter 70.245 RCW, was passed by voter 

initiative on November 4, 2008, and became law on March 5, 2009. The law allows terminally ill 

adults seeking to end their lives in a humane and dignified manner to request lethal doses of 

medication from medical and osteopathic physicians. These terminally ill patients must be 

Washington residents who have an estimated six months (180 days) or less to live. More 

information on the Death with Dignity Act is available on the Department of Health website 

(http://www.doh.wa.gov/dwda/). 

 

Role of Department of Health in Monitoring Compliance with the Act 
 

To comply with the act, attending physicians and pharmacists must file documentation with the 

department. Patient eligibility for participation in the act must be confirmed by two independent 

physicians (an attending physician and a consulting physician). Within 30 days of writing a 

prescription for medication under this act, the attending physician must file the following forms 

with the department: 
 

 Written Request for Medication to End Life Form (completed by the patient) 

 Attending Physician Compliance Form (completed by the attending physician) 

 Consulting Physician Compliance Form (completed by the consulting physician) 
 

A psychiatric or psychological evaluation is not required under the terms of the law. However, if 

the attending or consulting physician requests an evaluation, the psychiatrist or psychologist 

must complete a Psychiatric/Psychological Consultant Compliance Form and the attending 

physician must file this form within 30 days of writing the prescription. 

 

If the attending or consulting physician (or the psychiatrist or psychologist, if a referral is made) 

determines that a patient does not meet the qualifications to receive a prescription for medication 

under chapter 70.245 RCW, no forms have to be submitted to the department. 
 

Within 30 days of dispensing medication, the dispensing pharmacist must file a Pharmacy 

Dispensing Record Form. 
 

Within 30 days of a qualified patient’s death from ingestion of a lethal dose of medication 

obtained under the act, or death from any cause, the attending physician must file an Attending 

Physician After Death Reporting Form. 
 

To receive the immunity protection provided by chapter 70.245 RCW, physicians and 

pharmacists must make a good faith effort to file required documentation in a complete and 

timely manner. 

 

Under Washington law, a death certificate must be completed within 72 hours of death and filed 

with the local health agency where the death occurred. Local health officials may hold death 

http://www.doh.wa.gov/dwda/
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certificates for 30 to 60 days before filing them with the state health department. As a result, an 

After Death Reporting Form may reach the state before the death certificate arrives. 

 

The department received the following documentation for 2016 Death with Dignity participants 

(people who received medication) as of June 30, 2017: 

 

Table 5. Documentation Received for 2016 Participants. 

Form  Number 

Written Requests to End Life 236 

Attending Physician Compliance 238 

Consulting Physician Compliance 237 

Psychiatric/Psychological Consulting 10 

Pharmacy Dispensing Form 248 

After Death Reporting Form 236 

Death Certificates 239 

 

 

 

Confidentiality 

 

The Death with Dignity Act requires that the department collect information and make an annual 

statistical report available to the public (RCW 70.245.150). The law also states that, except as 

otherwise required by law, the information collected is not a public record. That means it is not 

subject to public disclosure. To comply with that statutory mandate, the department will not 

disclose any information that identifies patients, physicians, pharmacists, witnesses, or other 

participants in activities covered by the Death with Dignity Act. The information presented in 

this report is limited to items with sufficient numbers in a reporting field to ensure that 

confidentiality is protected. 


