Applicant name



Washington State Dispensing Optician Program State Law Examination

Please circle the correct response.

- 1. Who is responsible for maintaining a record of the dispensing optician apprentice's hours?
 - a) The Department of Health
 - b) The Department of Health Supervisor of the Dispensing Optician Program
 - c) The apprentice's primary supervisor and the apprentice
 - d) The apprentice's employer
- 2. Who must notify the Secretary when the apprenticeship training is terminated and provide the total number of apprenticeship hours accumulated during the training period?
 - a) The apprentice's employer
 - b) The apprentice
 - c) The Department of Health Supervisor of the Dispensing Program
 - d) The apprentice's primary supervisor
- All application documentation and fees must be submitted to the Department of Health at least _________ days prior to the scheduled examination.
 - a) 15
 - b) 30
 - c) 60
 - d) 90
- 4. Every qualified applicant must pass an examination with a score of at least _____ percent in each of the three examination sections.
 - a) 65
 - b) 70
 - c) 75
 - d) 80
- 5. Which of the following is NOT included in the examination?
 - a) Written basic optical concepts
 - b) Practical
 - c) Written contact lenses
 - d) Written and practical refraction

- 6. If an applicant fails to pass the entire examination after three consecutive regularly scheduled examinations (emergencies may be considered), the applicant is required to complete
 - a) Reexamination on all three sections
 - b) A one year waiting period
 - c) Additional coursework
 - d) A passing rate of 80%
- 7. Applicants must complete ____ clock hours of AIDS education.
 - a) 2
 - b) 4
 - c) 6
 - d) 8
- 8. Contact lens records shall contain all the following information, except:
 - a) DK value of material
 - b) Base Curve
 - c) Power
 - d) Diameter
- 9. No person may practice or represent himself or herself as a dispensing optician without first having
 - a) ABO certification.
 - b) NCLE certification.
 - c) A valid license to do so.
 - d) A doctor's license to work under.
- 10. A prescription may be written for less than two years if:
 - a) Warranted by the ocular health of the eye
 - b) The prescription is for extended wear contact lenses
 - c) The patient is new
 - d) The prescription is more than plus or minus three diopters.

- 11. If a prescription is written for less than two years, the prescriber must:
 - a) Contact the optical lab
 - b) Send a notice to the patient prior to is expiration
 - c) Maintain a separate log of prescriptions that expire in less than two years
 - d) Enter an explanatory notation in the patient's record and provide a verbal explanation to the patient at the time of the eye examination
- 12. How many hours of continuing education must be completed by an optician?
 - a) 15 hours each year
 - b) 30 hours every 3 years
 - c) 12 hours every two years
 - d) 35 hours every two years
- 13. The finalized contact lens prescriptions shall be available to the patient or the patient's designated practitioner for replacement lenses and may be transmitted by:
 - a) Telephone
 - b) Facsimile or mail
 - c) Provided directly to the patient in writing
 - d) All of the above
- 14. Which of the following is NOT required as minimum equipment for a Washington licensed dispensing optician while fitting contact lenses?
 - a) Slit lamp or biomicroscope
 - b) Lensometer
 - c) Keratometer
 - d) Binocular indirect ophthalmoscope
- 15. An unlicensed person may perform mechanical work upon _____ in an optical office, laboratory or shop.
 - a) Inert matter
 - b) A patient
 - c) A customer
 - d) Any consumer
- 16. A dispensing optician license is required to engage in all of the following, except:
 - a) Engaging in the sale of spectacles, eyeglasses, magnifying glasses, goggles, sunglasses, telescopes, binoculars, or any such articles which are completely preassembled and sold only as merchandise.
 - b) Measuring pupillary distances on patients.
 - c) Measuring multifocal heights on patients.
 - d) Adjusting eyeglasses on patients.

- 17. A licensed dispensing optician may NOT
 - a) Own an optical business.
 - b) Fabricate, fit and dispense contact lenses upon prescription of an eye doctor.
 - c) Diagnose, treat, correct or prescribe for any human ailment, disease or injury.
 - d) Fabricate and dispense eyeglasses made to correct aphakia.
- 18. When may a licensed dispensing optician fit contact lenses?
 - a) Only upon the request of an established patient.
 - b) Only when a patient brings in the empty boxes for refill.
 - c) Up to 4 years after the initial prescription.
 - d) Only upon a written prescription of physician or optometrist.
- 19. A license to practice as a dispensing optician must
 - a) Be kept on the licensee's person at all times.
 - b) Be certified and kept on file at the licensee's county courthouse.
 - c) Be conspicuously displayed in the place of business of the licensee.
 - d) Be on file with the licensee's employer.
- 20. A contact lens fitting performed by a licensed dispensing optician, will include all but_____
 - a) Conversion of the spectacle power to contact lens equivalents.
 - b) Contact lens design.
 - c) Material and manufacturer of the lens.
 - d) Alteration of the effect of the written prescription.
- 21. Which of the following describes a "Contact lens prescription issue date"?
 - a) The date of the initial written prescription.
 - b) The date upon which the patient receives the finalized contact lens prescription at the completion of the fitting and follow-up evaluation.
 - c) The date the patient starts wearing the trial contact lenses.
 - d) The date the patient brings in their empty contact lens boxes for duplication.

- 22. Licensed opticians may adapt and fit contact lenses from a written prescription consisting of the refractive powers and a notation of "OK for Contacts" or similar language within ______ of the initial eye examination date.
 - a) six days
 - b) six weeks
 - c) six months
 - d) sixteen months
- 23. If the patient is fitted for contact lens by a practitioner other than the initial prescriber, the contact lens specification shall be provided to the patient and to _____
 - a) The initial prescriber.
 - b) A prescriber performing the follow-up evaluation.
 - c) The patient's medical doctor.
 - d) A third party designated by the patient.
- 24. When the prescriber completes the follow-up evaluation, the approved contact lens specifications shall become a _____
 - a) Valid contact lens prescription.
 - b) Permanent part of the prescriber's records.
 - c) Matter of public record.
 - d) Contact lens order form.
- 25. Which of the following is considered unprofessional conduct?
 - a) Providing false information when applying for a license
 - b) Misrepresentation or fraud in any aspect of the conduct of the business or profession
 - c) False or misleading advertising.
 - d) All of the above.
- 26. A practitioner's contact lens records must include all the specifications for the contact lenses. What must the opticians' records also include?
 - a) DK value of the lens.
 - b) ABBE value of the lens.
 - c) Documentation of written advisement to the patient of the need to obtain a follow-up evaluation by a prescriber
 - d) A signed HIPAA form.
- 27. All of the following are included on an initial prescription for contact lenses except:
 - a) Spectacle prescription.
 - b) Date of eye exam.
 - c) Contact lens specifications.
 - d) Signature of the prescriber.

- 28. In Washington State a contact lens prescription expires in:
 - a) One year
 - b) Two years
 - c) Three years
 - d) Four years
- 29. At the conclusion of an eye examination for an eyeglass prescription, the prescribing doctor must:
 - Personally walk the patient over to an affiliated eyeglass dispensary and hand the prescription to the optician.
 - b) Provide the patient one copy of the new eyeglass prescription.
 - c) Tell the patient the eyeglass prescription shall be mailed to him or her when the patient's insurance has paid the bill.
 - d) Provide the patient the new eyeglass prescription only if the patient insists.
- 30. A dispensing optician may supervise a maximum of _____apprentices at any one time.
 - a) 1
 - b) 2
 - c) 3
 - d) 5
- 31. When does a dispensing optician renew their license?
 - a) Annually on the birth anniversary
 - b) Every 2 years
 - c) Every 3 years
 - d) Every 5 years
- 32. Washington State licensed dispensing opticians are required to maintain patient contact lens records for a minimum of:
 - a) Seven years
 - b) Ten years
 - c) Five years
 - d) Eight years
- 33. A notation of "OK for contacts" on the prescription for corrective lenses indicates to the practitioner fitting the contact lenses that:
 - a) The patient has been provided with trial lenses
 - b) The patient has expressed an interest in wearing contact lenses
 - c) The initial fitting and follow-up must be completed within six months of the date of the eye examination
 - d) The patient's vision plan covers contact lenses