

# **Dentistry Expired License (over 3 years) Activation Application Packet**

### **Contents:**

1.	646-169	Contents List/SSN Information/Mailing Information	.1 page
2.	646-170	Application Instructions Checklist	2 pages
3.	646-171	License Requirements	2 pages
4.	646-172	Dental Expired License (over 3 years) Activation Application	5 pages
5.	646-125	Location of Practice	.1 page
6.	646-129	DEA Authorization	.1 page
7.	RCW/WAC	and Online Web Site Links	.1 page

# **Important Social Security Number Information:**

If you have a Social Security Number, the law requires you to disclose it on your application for a professional or occupational license. <u>42 U.S.C. § 666(a)(13)</u>; <u>RCW</u> <u>26.23.150</u>. It will be used under the state's child support enforcement program to locate individuals for purposes of establishing paternity and establishing, modifying, and enforcing support obligations. You are not required to have or obtain a Social Security Number to apply for or obtain a license from the Department of Health. If you do not have a Social Security Number, you are still eligible to apply for and obtain a credential if you meet the requirements. Please see the <u>Declaration of No Social Security Number</u> <u>Form</u>. Please call the Customer Service Center at 360-236-4700 if you have questions.

### In order to process your request:

Mail your application with initial documentation and your check or money order payable to:

Department of Health P.O. Box 1099 Olympia, WA 98507-1099

# Send other documents not sent with initial application to:

Dental Quality Assurance Commission Credentialing P.O. Box 47877 Olympia, WA 98504-7877

### **Contact us:**

360-236-4700

To request this document in another format, call 1-800-525-0127. Deaf or hard of hearing customers, please call 711 (Washington Relay) or email <u>civil.rights@doh.</u> wa.gov.



# **Application Instructions Checklist**

**Important background check Information:** Washington State law authorizes the Department of Health to obtain fingerprint-based background checks for licensing purposes. This check may be through the Washington State Patrol and the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI). This may be required if you have lived in another state or if you have a criminal record in Washington State. This would be at your own expense.

All information should be printed clearly in blue or black ink. It is your responsibility to submit the required forms.

#### Pay Late Renewal Fee.

#### Pay Current Renewal Fee.

Pay Expired License Activation Fee. All fees are non-refundable. You can check the online <u>fee page</u> for current fees.

#### **1. Demographic Information.**

**Social Security Number:** You must list your social security number on your application. You are not required to have or obtain a Social Security Number to apply for or obtain a license from the Department of Health. Please see the <u>Declaration of No Social Security Number Form</u>. Please call the Customer Service Center at 360-236-4700 if you do not have one.

**National Provider Identifier Number (NPI):** The National Provider Identifier (NPI) is a standard unique identifier for health care professionals available from the Federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services. The NPI is a 10 digit numeric identifier. If you have a NPI number, provide this on your application.

Legal Name: List your full name: first, middle, and last.

**Definition of legal name:** "Legal name" is the name appearing on your official certificate of birth or, if your name has changed since birth, on an official marriage certificate or an order by a court. The court must have the legal authority to change your name. We may ask you to prove your legal name. If you use any name other than your legal name on this form, your application may be denied.

Birth date: Provide the month, date and year of your birth.

**Address:** List the address we should use to send any information about your credential. Be sure to include the city, state, zip code, county, and country. This will be your permanent address with Department of Health until we have been notified of a change. See <u>WAC 246-12-310</u>.

**Phone, Fax and Cell Numbers:** Enter your phone, fax and cell numbers, if you have them.

**Email:** Enter your email address, if you have one.

**Other Name(s):** Indicate whether you are known or have been known under any other names. If you have a name change, you must notify the Department of Health in writing. You must include proof of this change. See <u>WAC 246-12-300</u>.

#### **2. Personal Data Questions:**

All applicants must answer the same personal data questions. They are focused on your fitness to practice the essential skills of this profession.

If you answer "yes" to any questions in this section, you must provide an appropriate explanation. You must also provide the documentation listed in the note after the question. If you do not provide this, your application is incomplete and it will not be considered.

- Question 5 includes misdemeanors, gross misdemeanors and felonies. You do not have to answer yes if you have been cited for traffic infractions. You can get copies of court records through the county courthouse where the conviction, plea, deferred sentence, or suspended sentence was entered.
- Another jurisdiction means any other country, state, federal territory, or military authority.

#### 3. Professional Training and Experience:

Please list in date order all professional work experience. Include all periods of time from the date of graduation from dental school to present whether or not engaged in activities related to dentistry. Attach additional pages if you need more space.

#### 4. Other License, Certification, or Registration:

List all states, including Washington, where credentials are or were held. Attach additional completed pages if you need more space. You must also print the <u>Verification Form</u> and provide it to each state or jurisdiction that you have listed, requesting that they complete and submit the form directly to the Department of Health.

#### 5. Disciplinary Action Attestation. Required by WAC 246-12-040.

6. Continuing Education Attestation. Required by WAC 246-12-040.

#### **7.** Applicant's Photograph:

Attach a current photograph in the box provided or attach it to the application. Indicate date the photograph was taken and sign in ink across the bottom of the photo. The photograph must be a clear, close up and a front view. Your application will not be processed without a current photograph.

**8. Applicant's Attestation.** You must sign and date this for us to process the application.

You will be notified in writing if further documentation is required.

- The application is considered incomplete if requested information is left blank. State N/A or place a line through section instead of leaving blank.
- The initial license will expire on your birthday unless the license is issued within 90 days of your next birthday. See <u>WAC 246-12-020 (3)</u>.
- You will receive a courtesy renewal notice if your address of record is kept up to date. Any renewal postmarked or presented to the department after midnight on the expiration date is late.



# **License Requirements**

### **Additional Information and Instructions**

Thank you for applying to activate your dentistry license in Washington State. To expedite the license process, ensure the following information has been included with your application.

- If your Washington State dentist license has been expired for more than three years and you have not been actively practicing in another United States jurisdiction, proof of successful completion of a practical/practice examination is required according to <u>WAC 246-817-120</u>; or a qualifying postgraduate residency program, approved by or administered under the direction of the Dental Quality Assurance Commission.
- Proof of the following is required. If you would like the department to obtain your original application file for this information, please indicate this in a separate cover letter.
  - National Board Scores (Part I and II)
  - Practical/Clinical Examination Score. <u>WAC 246-817-120</u>.
  - Transcript from a Commission on Dental Accreditation (CODA) dental school.

#### **Location of Practice**

This information is necessary to verify your practice history and should correspond with the chronology portion of your application. Indicate if you are in the military.

#### Jurisprudence Examination

Complete the <u>online examination</u>. Print and send your certificate of completion with your application. It is a multiple choice exam and designed to familiarize you with the Washington State dentistry laws. Current laws can be found <u>here</u>.

The following require you to verify the primary source, they will only be accepted when mailed directly to the department from the source. These items should not be included with your application. They should be sent to:

Dental Quality Assurance Commission Credentialing PO Box 47877 Olympia, WA 98504-7877.



Complete this form if you have ever had a DEA number and submit it directly to the Drug Enforcement Administration in Seattle. To contact the Seattle DEA, call 1-888-219-1418. (Form enclosed) If you have not had a DEA number please send a statment to indicate that.

#### **License Verifications**

License verifications must be requested by the applicant and submitted directly from every state.

Note: Many states charge a verification processing fee. Contact them prior to request to prevent delays in processing.



#### Malpractice Clearance

You must have malpractice carriers submit a letter verifying dates of coverage and any claims history. In the event of a claims history, appropriate legal documentation must also be submitted. If coverage is provided via an umbrella policy through a school, or if you are practicing in the military, please indicate in writing.

#### Military/Commanding Officer Letter

If you are on active duty in the military, a letter must be submitted from the commanding officer outlining duties, length of service, and whether any adverse actions have been reported or taken.

#### Note: You cannot practice dentistry until your license is activated.



#### Revenue 0251030000

# Dentist Expired License (over 3 years) Activation Application

Please print clearly in ink. Follow the instructions provided. It is the responsibility of the applicant to submit or request all required supporting documentation. Failure to do so may result in a delay in processing your application.

### **1. Demographic Information**

<b>Social Security Number (SSN)</b> (If you do not have a SSN, see instructions)		<b>itional Provider Id</b> nter 10 digit number)	<b>'I)</b> ☐ Male ☐ Female ☐ Prefer Not to Answer ☐ X			
Name First	i	Middle	Last			
Birth date (mm/dd/yyyy)						
Address						
City	State	Zip Code	County			
Country						
Phone (enter 10 digit #)	Phone (enter 10 digit #) Fax (enter 10 digit #) Cell (enter 10 digit #)					
Email address			· · ·			
Mailing address (if different from a	bove)					
City	State	Zip Code	County			
Country						
Note: The mailing and email addresses you provide will be your addresses of record. It is your responsibility to maintain current contact information on file with the department.						
Have you ever been known under any other name(s)?						
Will documents be received in another name?  Yes No If yes, list name(s):						

2.	Personal Data Questions		No		
1.	. Do you have a medical condition which in any way impairs or limits your ability to practice your profession with reasonable skill and safety? If yes, please attach explanation				
	<b>"Medical Condition"</b> includes physiological, mental or psychological conditions or disorders, such as, but not limited to orthopedic, visual, speech, and hearing impairments, cerebral palsy, epilepsy, muscular dystrophy, multiple sclerosis, cancer, heart disease, diabeter mental retardation, emotional or mental illness, specific learning disabilities, HIV disease, tuberculosis, drug addiction, and alcoholism.				
	If you answered yes to question 1, explain:				
	1a. How your treatment has reduced or eliminated the limitations caused by your medical condition.				
	<ol> <li>How your field of practice, the setting or manner of practice has reduced or eliminated the limitations caused by your medical condition.</li> </ol>				
	Note: If you answered "yes" to question 1, the licensing authority will assess the nature, severity, and the duration of the risks associated with the ongoing medical condition and the ongoing treatment to determine whether your license should be restricted, conditions imposed, or no license issued.				
	The licensing authority may require you to undergo one or more mental, physical or psychological examination(s). This would be at your own expense. By submitting this application, you give consent to such an examination(s). You also agree the examination report(s) may be provided to the licensing authority. You waive all claims based on confidentiality or privileged communication. If you do not submit to a required examination(s) or provide the report(s) to the licensing authority, your application may be denied.				
2.	Do you currently use chemical substance(s) in any way which impair or limit your ability to practice your profession with reasonable skill and safety? If yes, please explain				
	"Currently" means within the past two years.				
	"Chemical substances" include alcohol, drugs, or medications, whether taken legally or illegally.				
3.	Have you ever been diagnosed with, or treated for, pedophilia, exhibitionism, voyeurism or frotteurism?				
4.	Are you currently engaged in the illegal use of controlled substances?				
	"Currently" means within the past two years.				
	<b>Illegal use of controlled substances</b> is the use of controlled substances (e.g., heroin, cocaine) not obtained legally or taken according to the directions of a licensed health care practitioner.				
	Note: If you answer "yes" to any of the remaining questions, provide an explanation and certified copies of all judgments, decisions, orders, agreements and surrenders. The department does criminal background checks on all applicants.				
5.	Have you <b>ever</b> been convicted, entered a plea of guilty, no contest, or a similar plea, or had prosecution or a sentence deferred or suspended as an adult or juvenile in any state or jurisdiction?				
	Note: If you answered "yes" to question 5, you must send certified copies of all court documents related to your criminal history with your application. If you do not provide the documents, your application is incomplete and will not be considered.				
	To protect the public, the department considers criminal history. A criminal history may not automatically bar you from obtaining a credential. However, failure to report criminal history may result in extra cost to you and the application may be delayed or denied.				

2. Per	sonal D	ata Questions (cont.)		Yes N	0
a. Po dru b. Div c. Vio	ssessed, us ugs in any w /erted contro lated any d	een found in any civil, administrative or criminal procee sed, prescribed for use, or distributed controlled substan vay other than for legitimate or therapeutic purposes? olled substances or legend drugs? rug law? ntrolled substances for yourself?	nces or legend		
regul	ating the pra	een found in any proceeding to have violated any state actice of a health care profession? If "yes", please attac f all judgments, decisions, and agreements?	h an explanation and		
	•	ad any license, certificate, registration or other privilege d, revoked, suspended, or restricted by a state, federal	•		
	•	urrendered a credential like those listed in number 8, in state, federal, or foreign authority?			
		een named in any civil suit or suffered any civil judgme alpractice in connection with the practice of a health ca	•		
		een disqualified from working with vulnerable persons t alth Services (DSHS)?			ם
3. Tra	ining an	d Experience			
program, all period	technical or s of time fro	of your professional training and experience including c professional school and practice pertaining to the prof m the date of graduation to present. You do not have to es if you need more space.	ession you are applying for. Ir	nclude	
From	ates To	Name and address of institute, place of practice.	Degree/certificate and date re Nature of experience or spe		
(mm/dd/yyyy)	(mm/dd/yyyy)				

### 4. Other License, Certification, or Registration

List all states where credentials are or were held. Specifically list credentials granted as temporary, reciprocity, exemption or similar with type, date, grantor, and if credential is current. Attach additional pages if you need more space.

State	Profession	Certif		Permanent or	License re		Currently in
		Year issued	Number	Temporary	Examination	Other	force
				🗌 Perm 🗌 Temp			🗌 No 🗌 Yes
				🗌 Perm 🗌 Temp			🗌 No 🗌 Yes
				🗌 Perm 🗌 Temp			🗌 No 🗌 Yes
				🗌 Perm 🗌 Temp			🗌 No 🗌 Yes
				🗌 Perm 🗌 Temp			🗌 No 🗌 Yes
				🗌 Perm 🗌 Temp			🗌 No 🗌 Yes
			_				

#### **5. Disciplinary Action Attestation**

I certify no action has been taken by any state or federal jurisdiction or hospital, which would prevent or restrict my right to practice my profession.

I further certify I have not voluntarily given up any credential or privilege or have not been restricted in the practice of my profession in lieu of or to avoid formal action.

Applicant's Initials	Date

# 6. Continuing Education/Continuing Competency Attestation

I certify I have met all continuing education and competency requirements for the past two years, 42 hours. I am enclosing documentation on all classes attended/claimed.

Applicant's Initials	Date

7. Applicant's Photograph					
Photo Here	Attach Current Photograph Here. Indicate Date Taken and Sign in Ink Across Bottom of the Photo.				
	NOTE: Photograph <b>Must</b> Be: 1. Original, not a photocopy				
	<ul><li>2. No larger than 2" X 2"</li><li>3. Taken within one year of application</li></ul>				
	<ul> <li>4. Close up, front view—not profile</li> <li>5. Instant Polaroid Photographs not acceptable</li> </ul>				

### 8. Applicant's Attestation

, declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of (Print applicant name clearly) Ι,

the state of Washington the following is true and correct:

- I am the person described and identified in this application.
- I have read RCW 18.130.170 and RCW 18.130.180 of the Uniform Disciplinary Act.
- I have answered all questions truthfully and completely.
- The documentation provided in support of my application is accurate to the best of my knowledge.

I understand the Department of Health may require more information before deciding on my application. The department may independently check conviction records with state or federal databases.

I authorize the release of any files or records the department requires to process this application. This includes information from all hospitals, educational or other organizations, my references, and past and present employers and business and professional associates. It also includes information from federal, state, local or foreign government agencies.

I understand that I must inform the department of any past, current or future criminal charges or convictions. I will also inform the department of any physical or mental conditions that jeopardize my ability to provide quality health care. If requested, I will authorize my health providers to release to the department information on my health, including mental health and any substance abuse treatment.

Dated \_\_\_\_\_(mm/dd/yyyy)

\_\_\_\_\_ at \_\_\_\_\_(City, state)

By: \_\_\_\_\_

(Signature of applicant)



Dental Quality Assurance Commission Credentialing P.O. Box 47877 Olympia, WA 98504-7877 360-236-4700

# **Proof of Practice**

De	mographics:						
Nar	ne First Middle	Last					
Wa	shington Credential #, if applicable	Date of Birth					
Ado	Iress						
City	/	State	Zip Code				
Lo	cation of Practice:						
-	<ul> <li>If you have been at the location listed for less than four years, attach an additional sheet of paper, listing other practice locations.</li> <li>I certify that I am in the practice of dentistry at the following location, I further certify I have practiced dentistry, as defined in RCW 18.32.020, for at least a minimum of twenty hours per week for the four years</li> </ul>						
	proceeding this application in another U.S. State	e or territory.					
	Address:						
	City:	_State:Zip Co	de:				
	From to						
	(mm/yyyy) Federal Tax No						
	I certify that I am a dentist serving in the United States federal services. I will submit a letter from my commanding officer outlining my duties, length of service and whether any adverse actions have been reported or taken.						
	I certify that I am a dentist employed by a dental school, I will submit documentation from the dean or the appropriate administrator of the institution regarding the length, terms of employment, responsibilities and any adverse actions or restrictions.						
	I certify that I am a dentist in a dental residency program, I will submit documentation from the director or the appropriate administrator of the residency program regarding the length of the residency, duties and responsibilities and any adverse actions or restrictions.						
	Applicant's Signature	Date					



# **DEA Authorization**

#### To the Applicant: Fill out this form if licensed in another state.

Please complete the identifying information and submit this form directly to:

Drug Enforcement Administration Attention: Edie—Diversion Unit 300 5th Ave Ste 1300 Seattle, WA 98104

Date: \_\_\_\_\_

To Whom It May Concern:

I am applying for a license to practice dentistry in the state of Washington. Please send this form directly to the Dental Quality Assurance Commission Credentialing.

Thank you for your assistance.

Name:

Date of birth: \_\_\_\_\_

DEA Registration Number: \_\_\_\_\_

Address where DEA number is registered:

Applicant's signature

Please print name:\_\_\_\_\_

#### To be completed by the Drug Enforcement Administration:

Response:

Applicant has surrendered (for cause) or had a federal controlled substance registration revoked, suspended, restricted, or denied. Yes No

Please mail this completed form to the Dental Quality Assurance Commission Credentialing Section at the address listed above, or you can fax it directly to 360-236-4918.



# **RCW/WAC and Online Web Site Links**

## **RCW/WAC Links**

Uniform Disciplinary Act, RCW 18.130 Administrative Procedure Act, RCW 34.05 Administrative Procedures and Requirements, WAC 246-12 Standard of Professional Conduct Rules, WAC 246-16 Dental Professionals Laws, RCW 18.260 Dentistry Rules, WAC 246-817 Dentistry Laws, RCW 18.32

### Online

Dental Quality Assurance Commission, Web page Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA), www.deadiversion.usdoj.gov Washington State Dental Association, www.wsda.org/ American Dental Association (ADA), www.ada.org/

Get important information about your credential type by subscribing to email alerts.

## **Required Continuing Education**

Continuing education (CE) Training after license has been issued, WAC 246-817-440