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In accordance with Federal law and Department of Agriculture USDA policy, this institution is 

prohibited from discriminating on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, age, or disability. 

To file a complaint of discrimination, write USDA, Director, Office of Adjudication, 1400 

Independence Avenue, SW, Washington, D.C. 20250-9410 or call toll free (866) 632-9992 

(Voice).  Individuals who are hearing impaired or have speech disabilities may contact USDA 

through the Federal Relay Service at (800) 877-8339; or (800) 845-6136 (Spanish).  USDA is an 

equal opportunity provider and employer. 

Washington State WIC Nutrition Program does not discriminate. 
 

For persons with disabilities, this document is available on request in other formats. 
To submit a request, please call 1-800-841-1410 (TDD/TTY 711). 
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POLICY: Table of Eligibility Time Periods 

 

A CPA (competent professional authority) must complete an assessment to determine eligibility 

for WIC.  

 

The amount of time a client is eligible for WIC depends on the client’s category.  

 

Client Services sets the client’s eligibility period based on federal regulation. 

 

Category Priority Eligibility 

Begins 

Eligibility 

Ends 

Pregnant Women 1, 4 Date of Certification Last day of the month woman 

turns 6 weeks postpartum. 

Breastfeeding 

Women 

1, 2, 4 Date of Certification  

 

Last day of the month woman 

turns 12 months postpartum. 

Infants 1, 4 Date of Certification 

 

If certified less than 7 months 

of age, last day of the month 

infant turns 12 months old. If 

certified 7 months or older, 

last day of the month of a 6 

month period. 

 2* Date of Certification 

 

Last day of the month infant 

turns 12 months of age. 

Children 3, 5 Date of Certification 

 

Last day of the month of a 12 

month period until the last day 

of the month the child turns 5 

years old. 

Postpartum Women 6 Date of Certification  

 

Last day of the month woman 

turns 6 months postpartum. 

 

*Infants 6 months and older and new to WIC must be Priority 1 or Priority 4 to qualify for WIC.  

 

Note:  Staff enroll an infant of a WIC mom as Priority 2.  
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PROCEDURE: 

 

The CPA: 

 

A. Pushes the Calculate Eligibility button in Client Services to document the eligibility 

begins and ends dates. 

 

Note:   WIC has a priority system. Priority 1 is the highest priority. When funds and 

caseload are limited, the priority system makes sure clients with the greatest risk 

receive WIC benefits before those with lower risk. See Volume 1, Chapter 5 - 

Priority System and Waiting Lists for more information. 
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POLICY: Eligibility Period for Pregnant Women 
 

 The eligibility period for a pregnant woman begins on the day of the WIC certification 

and ends on the last day of the month she turns 6 weeks postpartum. Pregnant women are 

Priority 1 or 4. 

   

Information: 

 

 The pregnant woman is eligible for the “Pregnant” Food Package through the end of the 

month the woman turns six weeks postpartum. The end of a pregnancy includes a: 

 Live birth 

 Miscarriage 

 Termination  

 Fetal death 

  

Example: Staff certify a pregnant woman on January 5
th

. Her due date is July 2
nd

. 

Her pregnancy eligibility period begins January 5
th

 (the date of 

certification) and ends August 31
st
 (the last day of the month the woman 

turns 6 weeks postpartum). 
 

When staff enroll the breastfeeding infant of a woman, the woman receives the Fully 

Breastfeeding Food Package even though she is in the “Pregnant” category. 
 

Example: Staff certify a pregnant woman on January 5
th

. Her due date is July 2
nd

.  

Staff enroll her breastfeeding infant on July 6
th

. The woman receives her 

Fully Breastfeeding Food Package on July 6
th

. Staff schedule her 

breastfeeding recertification appointment the following month.  
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POLICY: Eligibility Period for Breastfeeding Women 
 

 The eligibility period for a breastfeeding woman begins on the day of the WIC 

certification and ends on the last day of the month she turns 12 months postpartum. 

Breastfeeding women are Priority 1, 2, or 4. 

 

Note: In the month the infant turns 12 months old, a breastfeeding woman doesn’t get 

checks if her baby has reached the first birthday. Refer to Volume 1, Chapter 23 – 

WIC Foods. See the table in “Food for Infants in the Month They Turn One Year 

Old” policy. 

 

Example: On January 15
th

, staff certify a fully breastfeeding woman (baby born on 

January 3
rd

). Her eligibility period ends January 31
st
 (one year 

postpartum).  

 

1. If she picks up checks on January 2
nd 

(before her baby’s first 

birthday) of the following year (one year postpartum), she receives 

her Fully BF Food Package checks. Her baby receives the infant 

Fully BF 6 to 12 Months Food Package.  

 

2. If she picks up checks on January 3
rd

 or 4
th

 (on or after her baby’s 

first birthday) of the following year (one year postpartum), she 

doesn’t receive checks. Her baby receives the Child 1 year Food 

Package.   

 

Information: 

 

 If a breastfeeding woman stops breastfeeding and is within the 6 months 

postpartum, she may qualify as a postpartum woman. If a breastfeeding woman 

stops breastfeeding and is more than 6 months postpartum, her eligibility ends. 

 

Example: On April 7
th

, staff certify a breastfeeding woman (baby born on 

March 3
rd.

) Her eligibility period begins April 7
th

 (the day of 

certification) and ends on March 31
st
 (one year postpartum) as 

long as she continues breastfeeding.  

 

If she stops breastfeeding before 6 months postpartum (for 

example in July) she would be eligible for WIC as a postpartum 

woman (through the end of September). Staff take her off the 

program if it is after 6 months postpartum.  
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POLICY: Eligibility Period for Postpartum Women 
 

 The eligibility period for a postpartum woman begins on the day of the WIC certification 

and ends on the last day of the month she turns six months postpartum. Postpartum 

women are Priority 6. 

 

Information: 

 

Postpartum refers to the 6 month period following the end of pregnancy. The end of 

pregnancy includes a: 

 Live birth 

 Miscarriage 

 Termination  

 Fetal death 

 

A woman on WIC during pregnancy, who doesn’t breastfeed, receives the Pregnant Food 

Package through the end of the month she turns six weeks postpartum.  She may be 

recertified as Postpartum and receive the Pregnant Food Package through the end of the 

month. 

 

Example: A WIC client has her baby on June 17
th

. Staff recertify her from pregnant 

to postpartum on July 25
th

.  As a pregnant woman, her eligibility extends 

through the end of the month she turns six weeks postpartum, July 31
st
. On 

July 25
th

, she is eligible for the Pregnant Food Package even though staff  

recertified her as a postpartum woman. In August she receives a 

Postpartum Food Package. Her postpartum eligibility period begins July 

25
th

 and ends December 31
st
 (the end of the month she turns 6 months 

postpartum). 
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POLICY: Eligibility Period for Infants 
 

 The eligibility period for infants entering the WIC program from birth through 6 months 

of age (through the end of the month the infant turns 6 months old) begins on the day of 

WIC certification and ends on the last day of the month the infant turns 12 months old. 

These infants are Priority 1, 2, or 4. 

  

Note: Most infants are enrolled as a Priority 2 “Infant of a WIC Eligible Mom (<6 

months).”  

 

The eligibility period for infants entering the program between 7 and 12 months of age 

begins on the day of the WIC certification and ends the last day of the month of a six-

month period. These infants must be a Priority 1 or 4 to be eligible for WIC.  

 

Information: 

  

Infant under 6 months of age example: 

 Staff enroll an infant born February 2
nd

 on February 25
th

. The infant’s eligibility begins 

on February 25
th

 (the date enrolled as an infant of a WIC mom) and ends February 28
th

 of 

the following year (the end of the month the infant turns 12 months old). 

 

Infant over 6 months of age new to WIC example: 

 Staff complete a new certification for a nine-month old infant on December 11
th

. The 

infant’s eligibility begins on December 11
th

 (the date certified eligible for WIC) and ends 

May 31
st
 (last day of a six month period; the client receives six sets of checks).  

 

Note:  The client (with an infant category) receives a Child 1 Year Food Package on the 

day of the 1 year birthday or later.  
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POLICY: Eligibility Period for Children 
 

 The eligibility period for children begins on the day of the WIC certification and ends the 

last day of the month of a 12 month period. A child may participate and receive checks 

through the end of the month the child turns 5 years old. Children are Priority 3 or 5. 

 

For a new certification, the eligibility begins the day of the WIC certification. 

 

For a recertification, eligibility begins: 

 

1. On the first day of the month following the end of a current certification period  

 

      Or 

 

2. On day of the certification when eligibility period has ended. 

 

Staff must not certify or recertify a child on the day of or after the day the child turns 5 

years old.  

   

Information: 
 

Examples: Staff certify a 2 year old child on November 20
th

. The child’s eligibility 

begins November 20
th

 and ends November 30
th

 the following year. 

 

 Staff certify a 4 year, 8 month old child on August 17
th

. The child’s 

eligibility begins August 17
th

 and ends December 31
st
 . This is the last day 

of the month the child turns age five. She may receive checks until 

December 31
st
.  
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POLICY: Providing WIC Services to Clients in the Expired Status 
 

Staff have the option to provide one month of WIC benefits to clients with an “expired” 

status when appointments aren’t available for the recertification. Staff must complete the 

recertification the following month before providing checks or other WIC benefits. 

Note: Prescriptions for infants end at midnight on the day before the first birthday. 

Follow the rules for inactive prescriptions. Refer to Volume 1 Chapter 24 – WIC 

Prescriptions. 

PROCEDURE: 

Staff: 

A. Work with the client to find a time for the recertification appointment during the last 

month of the eligibility period. 

B. Offer WIC benefits to clients with an “expired” status equally. 

C. Issue only one month of WIC checks to the client with an “expired” status. 

D. Tell the client she must complete the recertification to receive additional WIC benefits. 

E. Schedule a recertification appointment for the next month. 
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