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Frequently Asked Questions 

When is the training in my area? 
Trainings are offered quarterly in seven regions around the state.  Follow this link to the 
training schedule.  http://www.doh.wa.gov/Portals/1/Documents/Pubs/140-036-
TrainingSchedule.pdf  

If I complete the training, will I be a certified community health worker? 
No.  If you complete the training, you will receive a Certificate of Completion for 30hrs 
of continuing education in the field of community health work. 

Can I use the credentials CHW after I take CHW training? 
This is your choice. 

Does this course count for Continued Education Units? 
Yes. Record 30 hours of continuing education in the Community Health Worker field in 
your CEU log and hold onto the certificate.   

Is the training appropriate for me to attend? 
This training is appropriate for you if: 

 you help connect clients/patients to health services

 you do outreach, peer counseling, health education, patient navigation, case
management, or another similar task

Is the in-person training day required? 
Yes. In order to complete the course and receive the certificate of completion, you must 
attend both in-person training days. 

Is there an alternative to the in-person training day? 
At this time participants must attend the in-person training days to complete the training 
and receive a certificate of completion. We are exploring the idea of video conferencing 
with participants for the in-person training segment.   

Can I enroll in the training if I live outside of Washington State? 
You do not have to live in Washington State but you must attend both in-person training 
days to complete the training and receive a certificate of completion. 

Do I have to attend the training in my region? 
You may attend the training in any region as long as you can attend the in-person 
training days.  

http://www.doh.wa.gov/Portals/1/Documents/Pubs/140-036-TrainingSchedule.pdf
http://www.doh.wa.gov/Portals/1/Documents/Pubs/140-036-CHWTSIInPersonDates.pdf
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Is there a cost for the training? 
Each course costs approximately $20,000 to build.  Staff are paid to manage the 
registration process, provide training at the in-person day and facilitate the online 
learning. Participants may attend the training for free.   

What does the Affordable Care Act and health reform have to do with the 
community health worker? 
Provisions outlined in the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act of 2010 relevant to 
community health workers will launch over the next four years.  By developing a training 
system focused on commonly practiced skills, knowledge, and ability, our state will be 
better prepared with community health workers that are well positioned for success in 
this new health reform environment. Follow this link to learn more about Community 
Health Workers and the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act.  

What is the difference between the Core Competencies and the Health Specific 
Modules?  
Participants must complete the Core Competency course prior to enrolling in a Health 
Specific Module.  This curriculum is based on strengthening common skills and 
knowledge the community health worker uses including community health worker roles 
and boundaries, communication skills, documentation skills, assessment skills, care 
coordination skills, and case study development and presentation.   

Do I need to have a computer to take the training? 
You need to have access to a computer at least two to four hours a week to complete the 
online training.  

Do I need to have the internet to take the training? 
You need to be able to access the internet two to four hours a week to complete the 
training.  

What happens if I get sick and cannot complete the training? 
Participants may join another class in a future quarter and make up the work if they are 
unable to complete the training.  

Do I need to provide my own lunch at the in-person training? 
Lunch is provided at the first in-person training held from 8:30 am to 4:00 pm.  Lunch is 
not provided at the last in-person training held from 8:30 to 12:00. 

Can high school students take the training? 
If you are a high school senior you may take the training. 

http://www.healthcare.gov/law/full/index.html

