Washington State Department of

Y Health

DOH 348-165 March 2011

Perinatal Hepatitis B
Prevention Program
Guidelines

Chapter 3: What Hospitals Need to Know

Table of Contents Pages 57-74

Perinatal Program: Goal and Objectives
Hepatitis B Facts

Hospital Tasks Overview

Case Management Snapshot

Labor & Delivery Admission Orders
Required Notifications

Required Reportable Conditions

11) Reporting Matrix

12) Reporting LHJ Contact List

13) Notifiable Conditions

NogosrwdhE

8. Vaccine Specifics
1) Administering Vaccine
2) Recommended Doses
3) Administering HBIG
4) Storage and Handling
5) Ages and Intervals

9. References and Hospital Resources

1) Manual References

2) Give the Birth Dose

3) Medical Errors

4) Admission Orders for Labor & Delivery and Newborn Units to Prevent Hepatitis B
Virus Transmission

5) Sample Text for Admission Orders for Hepatitis B Vaccine Birth Dose in Newborn
Nursery

6) Stickers for Medical Charts (Mothers, Newborns, Babies)

7) Order Hepatitis B Materials

8) Pregnancy and Chronic Hepatitis B

9) WAC: Notifiable Conditions and the Health Care Provider

If you have a disability and need this document in another format, please call 1-800-525-
0127 (TDD/TTY 1-800-833-6388).

Perinatal Hepatitis B Prevention Program Guidelines, Chapter 3: What Hospitals Need to Know Page 57 of 98



Perinatal Program: Goal and Objectives

Federal recommendations

The Washington State Department of Health (DOH) Immunization Program CHILD
Profile (IPCP) follows federal recommendations for hepatitis B immunization. These
recommendations, made by the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP),
include control of perinatal hepatitis B virus infection (HBV). The latest updated ACIP
recommendations target delivery hospital policies and procedures and case
management programs.

To provide appropriate clinical care to a newborn, you must document the mother’s data
in the infant’s medical record. ACIP recommends putting maternal data in the baby’s
medical record and it does NOT violate the Health Insurance Portability and
Accountability Act (HIPAA). The HIPAA Privacy Rule allows the use of some health
information:

"A covered entity is permitted, but not required, to use and disclose protected
health information, without an individual's authorization, for the following purposes
or situations: (1) To the Individual; (2) Treatment, Payment, and Health Care
Operations......"

Clearly, for treatment and health care relevant to the newborn, we must gather and use
maternal health information. Find a summary document of the HIPAA Privacy Rule at
www.hhs.gov/ocr/privacy/hipaa/understanding/summary.

Goal

Washington State’s Perinatal B Prevention Program has an overall goal to reduce the
incidence of B virus (HBV) in babies born to hepatitis B surface antigen (HBsAQ)-
positive mothers. Local health jurisdictions in our state must complete the tasks to
reach this goal, including setting up effective delivery hospital policies and case
management to:

= |dentify HBsAg-positive pregnant women, their household contacts, sexual
partners, and babies.

= Make sure their at-risk contacts get a three-dose series of hepatitis B vaccine.

= Make sure their babies get proper post-exposure prevention. Correct post-
exposure prevention for babies includes hepatitis B immune globulin (HBIG)
and hepatitis B vaccine within 12 hours of birth, followed by two additional
doses of vaccine (at 1-2 months and 6 months of age).
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Objectives

Objectives to reach this goal include helping to ensure:

100 percent of all pregnant women get screened for HBsAg prenatally or at
delivery.

100 percent of delivery hospitals adopt written policies, procedures, and
written standing orders for HBsAg verification and for testing pregnant
mothers when they come to the hospital for delivery.

Identifying at least 90 percent of expected births to HBsAg-positive mothers.

At least 95 percent of babies born to HBsAg-positive mothers get hepatitis B
immune globulin (HBIG) and Dose #1 of hepatitis B vaccine within 12 hours of
birth and complete the 3-dose hepatitis B vaccine series by 6 months of age.

At least 90 percent of babies born to HBsAg-positive women get a blood test
(to check for HBV antibodies) 1-2 months after their last dose of hepatitis B
vaccine or by 9-18 months of age.

At least 90 percent of at- risk sexual partners and household contacts of
HBsAg-positive pregnant women complete the three-dose hepatitis B vaccine
series.

100 percent of all HBsAg-positive babies get reported to the Centers for
Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) through the National Notifiable
Disease Surveillance System (NNDSS).
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Hepatitis B Facts

B Acute (short-term) and chronic (long-lasting) effects of hepatitis B virus (HBV)
infection are a major health problem.

B The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) estimates that 79,000
infections occur in the United States (U.S.) each year with 21,000 of those acute
(short-term) and symptomatic (showing symptoms).

B About 1.25 million people in the U.S. have chronic HBV and can potentially
spread the disease to others.

B Many people with chronic HBV infection are at risk of getting long-term conditions
such as chronic liver disease and liver cancer. Each year, about 4,000-5,000 of
these people die from chronic liver disease.

B Hepatitis B infection in the Asian Pacific Islander population is 10 percent or 60
times greater than that of the general population.

B Hepatitis B infection can spread from mother to child during labor. About 19,000
babies born in the U.S. each year have an HBV-infected mother, which means
they are exposed to the virus. Unless they get proper post-exposure prevention,
up to 90 percent of these babies get infected. Of those infected, 90 percent will
become chronically infected. Up to 25 percent of the babies who become
chronically infected will die from primary hepatocellular carcinoma or cirrhosis of
the liver, usually as adults.

B Getting immunized with hepatitis B vaccine is the most effective way to prevent
HBV infection. Pregnant women who are carriers of HBV (or chemically infected
with HBV) — called hepatitis B surface antigen-positive or HBsAg-positive — can
prevent giving HBV to their babies during birth. These women must be identified
and their babies must get prevention after birth, which means:

= Hepatitis B immune globulin (HBIG) and hepatitis B vaccine within 12 hours
of birth, and

= Additional doses of vaccine at 1-2 months and 6 months of age.

B CDC recommends testing all pregnant women for HBV early in each pregnancy
even if they have had the vaccine or test previously. Women who test HBSAg-
negative early in pregnancy but are in a high-risk category for getting HBV should
be retested when they get to the delivery hospital.
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Hospital Tasks Overview

The following four strategies help guide hospitals to maximize their perinatal
hepatitis B prevention work.

1. Develop and follow a written policy and procedure to screen every pregnant
woman for HBsAg who has an unknown hepatitis B status and all who have risk
for HBV infection during pregnancy. Women with unknown status include those
with no prenatal care or who did not get tested by their health care provider. Risk
behaviors for HBV include:

B More than one sexual partner in the previous 6 months.
B Evaluation or treatment for sexually transmitted disease.
B Recent or current injection-drug use.

B HBsAg-positive sexual partner(s).

B Clinical hepatitis since previous testing.

The written policy should include the following procedures for each stage of the
hospital stay for women delivering babies. We list these stages as:

B Admission for Delivery

B After Delivery

B Standing Orders

B Infant Discharge

Admission for Delivery:

B Review hepatitis B surface antigen (HBsAQ) status of all pregnant women.

B Record maternal HBsAg test results on both the labor delivery record and on
the infant’s delivery summary sheet.

B Do HBsAg testing as soon as possible on women who do not have an HBsAg
test result, who have risk for HBV infection during pregnancy, and who had
clinical hepatitis since previous testing.

After Delivery:

B Give HBIG and Dose #1 of hepatitis B vaccine to infants of all HBsAg-positive
pregnant women, within 12 hours of birth.

B If the mom’s HBsAg test result has not returned at the time of delivery, give
Dose #1 of hepatitis B vaccine within 12 hours following birth. If the test result
comes back later but before she leaves the hospital (gets discharged) and is
positive, give HBIG to the infant as soon as possible.

W If the result comes back after she has left the hospital (after discharge) and is
positive, notify the pediatric health care provider that the infant needs to get
HBIG within three days of birth and that the mother and her household and
sexual contacts need medical follow-up.

B Document the mother's HBsAg-positive status and immunization of the infant
with HBIG and Dose #1 of hepatitis B vaccine at the hospital and give this
information to the pediatric care provider.
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Standing Orders:

W For all pregnant women, review HBsAg test results when admitted for
delivery. Make sure all mothers have been tested for HBsAg prenatally or at
the time of admission for delivery. Document the test results if they are not
already recorded.

B For women who do not have an HBsAg test result, do HBsAg testing as soon
as possible after admission for delivery.

B Premature infants weighing <2000 grams need a single dose of hepatitis B

vaccine. This dose should not be counted as part of the vaccine series. Three

more doses should be given starting when the infant reaches age one month.

Identify and manage all infants born to HBsAg-positive mothers.

Identify and manage all infants born to mothers with unknown HBsAg status.

For all infants, add the mother’s HBsAg test results to the infant’s medical

record, and the date and time the infant got HBIG and hepatitis B vaccine.

At time of infant discharge:
B Give the infant’'s immunization record to the mother and remind her to take it
to the baby’s first pediatrician visit.

2. For all delivery hospitals: Enroll in the federally funded Vaccines for Children
Program (VFC) to get free birth dose hepatitis B vaccine for eligible newborns.
Eligible newborns include Medicaid eligible, American Indian or Alaska Native,
underinsured, or uninsured babies.

3. Notify your local health jurisdiction (LHJ) of the birth of an infant to an
HBsAg-positive mother so follow-up can begin for the infant and the mother’s
household contacts and sexual partners. Remember that state law requires
that you report every case of perinatal hepatitis B (see WAC 246-101-101).
Your LHJ provides case management and follow-up services for infants,
household contacts, and sexual partners.

4, Counsel and provide information to every HBsAg-positive pregnant woman or
who has just delivered about:

How hepatitis B spreads.

How to prevent hepatitis B.

The need for her to get medical follow-up with a liver specialist.

Her infant’s need to get protection. The baby needs HBIG and hepatitis B

vaccine within 12 hours of birth, two additional doses of hepatitis B vaccine at

1-2 and 6 months of age, and post-vaccine screening at 9-18 months of age.

The need for her household contacts and sexual partners to get pre-

vaccination screening. If any of these people prove at risk, they need to get

three doses of hepatitis B vaccination at intervals of 0, 1-2, and 4-6 months.

B How her LHJ will contact her to follow-up with necessary services for her

family.
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Case Management Snapshot

Managing a perinatal hepatitis B case always starts with the pregnant woman and
involves: pre-screening, opening a confidential case report, finding household contacts
and sexual partners, tracking the woman'’s baby, following-up with phone calls and mail
as necessary with contacts, partners, and babies, and closing a case when follow-up is
finished. Cases may be open for as long as two years. Find a visual snapshot of this
system below. See next page for another snapshot of the procedure.

Health care Provider pre-
screens pregnant woman in
the first trimester of
pregnancy.

Woman tests

HBsAg-negative.

No hepatitis B case.

Hep B Coordinator closes
a case for other reasons,
such as if mother refuses

follow-up, can't be located,
or if the pregnancy ends.

00 0000000000000 00000COCCINITS
Also, cases get closed
for other reasons

When all follow-ups with
mother, baby, household
contacts, and sexual
partners have been
documented for pre-
screenings, HBIG,
vaccination series and post-
testing, Hep B Coordinator
“closes” the open case in the
online Perinatal Hepatitis B
Module.

Woman tests
HBsAg-positive.

-

1
Woman gets |

_ re-screened (if HBsAg- |
- positive) or pre-screened |
(if HBsAg-negative) at |

hospital at time of '
delivery. '

BABY is BORN!
Hospital gives
HBIG and birth
dose of Hep B.

]

Hep B Coordinator calls hospital
for infant’s information and dates
of HBIG and Hep B birth dose.
Hep B Coordinator enters infant
information into the mother’s
open case on the online Perinatal
Hepatitis B Module.

]

Hep B Coordinator works with
mother and pediatrician and
makes sure baby gets the full
vaccination series and gets

post-tested.

Health care provider or
I hospital reports HBsAg-
I positive woman to the LHJ
' Hepatitis B coordinator.

Hep B Coordinator opens a
confidential case on the HBsAg-
positive woman or mother using

“New Case” in the online

Perinatal Hepatitis B Module.

Hep B Coordinator gets
household contact and sexual
partner information from mother
or hospital. Hep B Coordinator
works with contacts AND
partners to make sure they get
pre-screened.

]

Hep B Coordinator enters
contact or partner information
into the mother’s open case in
the online Perinatal Hepatitis B

Module.

]

Based on pre-screening, Hep B

Coordinator either:

5. Refers contacts and partners
to a specialist or

6. Makes sure contacts and
partners get vaccinated and
post-tested.

d —
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To get the most updated versions of Prevention Procedures Detail, please print it
from the Internet: www.doh.wa.gov/cth/Immunize/documents/hepbprevproc.pdf
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Required Notification

Washington State follows three levels of required notification for certain medical
conditions to prevent and control communicable and noninfectious diseases. Different
agencies take care of these different notification levels.

1.

2.

3.

Notification to local health jurisdictions (LHJ): by every prenatal health care
provider or hospital.

Notification to the Washington State Department of Health: by every local
health jurisdiction.

Notification to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC): by the
Washington State Department of Health, Immunization Program CHILD
Profile (IPCP).

We consider each pregnancy in any HBsAg positive woman a notifiable condition in
Washington State. This can increase the chance that babies born to HBsAg-positive
mothers will get proper post-exposure prevention. Because of this, the notifications
must happen correctly as explained and shown in the picture below.

1.

2.

Health care providers notify the Hepatitis B Coordinator at his or her local health
jurisdiction of the woman'’s status.

The Hepatitis B Coordinator then enrolls the woman in the Perinatal Hepatitis B
Prevention Program, manages her case (including her baby, household contacts,
and sexual partners), and notifies the correct DOH programs.

As a nationally notifiable condition, IPCP notifies the CDC weekly about all
perinatal Hepatitis B cases.

Pregnant Woman tests
HBsAg-positive at her
Prenatal Care Provider,

Health Care Provider, or L. .
the Hospital. Hepatitis B Coc_)l_fdlnator
5) Contacts the HBsAg-positive woman to enroll
her in the Perinatal Hepatitis B Program so
that she, her baby, household contacts, and
sexual partners can be tracked and her
hepatitis B case managed.
6) Notifies these Department of Health programs
of the pregnancy and case management
. outcomes:
Prena!tal Car_e_ Provider or a. DOH Communicable Disease
HI‘(’;;’I'thae'arl‘t%t'ﬁissgﬁ:ﬂgrn,2'5 Epidemiology at 1-877-539-4344 or 206-
Hepatitis B Coordinator 418-5500 or through Public Health Issue
: Management System (PHIMS), and
b. DOH Immunization Program CHILD
Profile-360-236-3698.

DOH IPCP Hepatitis B staff notifies the CDC of
each Hepatitis B case through reports and
notifies them of all positive infant cases
through the Nationally Notifiable Diseases
Surveillance System.
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Required Reportable Conditions
Hepatitis B Surface Antigen (HBsAQ) Positivity During Pregnancy

Since December 2000 in Washington State, HBsAg-positive status during pregnancy
has been a required reportable condition. Health care providers must report this status
to local health jurisdictions within three working days, according to state law (see
Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 246-101-101).

Why Report?

B Identifying and reporting HBsAg-positive pregnant women during each
pregnancy helps prevent the spread of hepatitis B virus to their babies. These
babies have a very high risk of getting the infection and developing serious long-
term medical conditions unless they get proper post-exposure prevention.

B Local public health jurisdiction staff work with health care providers to make sure
that:

e Mothers get counseled about preventing the spread of HBV to their babies
and their household contacts.

e Mother’s sexual partner(s) get referred to a specialist for follow-up.

e Babies get hepatitis B immune globulin (HBIG) and hepatitis B vaccine
Dose #1 at birth, Dose #2 at 1-2 months of age, and Dose #3 at 6 months
of age.

e Babies get post-vaccination testing (HBsAg and anti-HBs) at 9-18 months
of age (1-2 months after the third dose of hepatitis B vaccine) to check for
infection and immune status.

e Household contacts and sexual partners get pre-vaccination testing and
immunization with hepatitis B vaccine, if at risk.

When to Report?

A report should be made at any time during each pregnancy in which the pregnant
woman tests HBsAg positive. It is the prenatal care provider’s responsibility to make
sure the delivery hospital knows of an HBsAg-positive mother prior to her baby’s birth
so that the baby gets proper treatment.

Reporting Requirements?

Health care providers who request the HBsAg test during prenatal care or at the time of
delivery must report all HBsAg-positive pregnant women to his or her local health
jurisdiction.

More Information
These resources may be helpful for you when reporting:
e Reporting Matrix
English only www.doh.wa.gov/cfh/Hepatitis/docs/rptmatrix.pdf
e Reporting LHJ Contact List
English only www.doh.wa.gov/notify/other/lhjcontacts.pdf
e Notifiable Conditions
English only www.doh.wa.gov/notify/other/providerposter.pdf
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If you have other questions, please contact your local health jurisdiction or the
Washington State Department of Health Immunization Program CHILD Profile at
360-236-3698.
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Vaccine Specifics:
Administering Vaccine for Preventing Hepatitis B

Route and Site

Give hepatitis B vaccine intramuscularly into the deltoid muscle of adults and children
and into the anterolateral thigh muscle of newborns and babies. Do not give hepatitis B
vaccine intradermally OR into the buttock.

You can give hepatitis B vaccine at the same time as other vaccines, but use separate

sites.

Dose and Schedule
You can use different brands of vaccine for the three hepatitis B doses.

Babies born to HBsAg-positive mothers should get 0.5 ml of Hepatitis B Immune
Globulin (HBIG) within 12 hours of birth and hepatitis B vaccine Dose #1
(Engerix-B 10mcg/0.5ml or Recombivax 5mcg/0.5ml) at the same time but at a
different site.

Give Dose #2 (Engerix-B 10mcg/0.5ml or Recombivax 5mcg/0.5ml) at 1-2
months of age.

Give Dose #3 (Engerix-B 10mcg/0.5ml or Recombivax 5mcg/0.5ml) at 6 months
of age.

Vaccination of Premature Babies

A premature infant born to HBsAg-positive mothers and mothers with unknown
status must get HBIG AND hepatitis B vaccine less than 12 hours after birth. If
these babies weigh <2,000 grams at birth, DO NOT count the first dose of
hepatitis B vaccine as one of the doses in the series. The baby should get three
additional doses of hepatitis B vaccine, starting when medically stable and at
least 1 month of age. (Redbook, 2009 Report of the Committee on Infectious
Diseases, 2009; and MMWR, 2005)

Premature babies born to HBsAg-negative mothers, regardless of birth weight,
should get vaccinated at the same chronological age and according to the same
schedule and precautions as full-term babies. Use the full recommended dose of
each vaccine, because divided or reduced doses cannot count as valid. Studies
demonstrate that decreased seroconversion rates might occur among certain
premature babies with low birth weight (<2,000 grams) after getting hepatitis B
vaccine at birth. However, we know that by chronological age 1 month, all
premature babies, regardless of initial birth weight or gestational age can
respond as adequately as older and larger babies. (General Immunization
Recommendations, update 2005)
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Vaccine Specifics:
Recommended Doses of Currently Licensed Monovalent Hepatitis

B Vaccines

Recombivax and Engerix-B vaccines have three doses in their series. Engerix-B also
has a licensed for a four-dose series given at 0, 1, 2, and 12 months. Dialysis patients
should get Engerix-B at 0, 1, 2, and 6 months.

Key:
HBsAg = Hepatitis B surface antigen
mcg = microgram
mL = milliliter
GSK = GlaxoSmithKline
Group Merck Recombivax HB Dosage

GSK Engerix-B Dosage

Babies,™ children &
adolescents (0—19 years of

age)

5mcg (0.5 mL)"’
Pediatric/Adolescent Formulation
YELLOW Top Vial

10 mcg (0.5 mL)™®
Pediatric Formulation
OLIVE GREEN Top Vial

Adolescent

(11-15 years of age) Merck
(11-19 years of age) GSK
A two dose series for
adolescents (11-15) is also
acceptable

10mcg (1.0)
Adult Formulation
GREEN Top Vial

10mcg (0.5 mL)
OLIVE GREEN Top Vial

Adults (20 years of age &
older)

10 mcg (1.0 mL)
Adult Formulation
GREEN Top Vial

20 mcg (2.0 mL)
Adult Formulation
ORANGE Top Vial

Predialysis and Dialysis
patients

Sources:

40 mcg (1.0 mL)
Dialysis Formulation
BLUE Top Vial

40 mcg (2.0 mL)
(Two 20 mcg doses)
Adult Formulation
ORANGE Top Vial

B MMWR, Centers for Disease Control, December 23, 2005/Vol. 54/No. RR-16:
www.cdc.gov/mmwr/PDF/rr/rr5416.pdf

B Recombivax HB package insert, December 2010.
B Engerix B package insert, December 2010.

'8 Infants born to HBsAg-positive mothers should also receive hepatitis B immune globulin (HBIG) 0.5 mL
intramuscularly at a site different from that used for the hepatitis B vaccine.

" Change in dose, licensed in 1998. Infants born to HBsAg-negative mothers now receive the same dose
as infants born to HBsAg-positive mothers. “If the suggested formulation is not available, the appropriate
dosage can be achieved from another formulation provided that the total volume of vaccine administered

does not exceed 1 mL.”

'8 Change in adolescent dose, licensed in 1995.
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Vaccine Specifics:
Administering HBIG

Route and Site

For newborns and babies: Give HBIG intramuscularly into the anterolateral thigh
muscle. You can give HBIG at the same time as hepatitis B vaccine, but use separate
sites.

Dose and Schedule

Newborns and babies should get 0.5 ml of HBIG within 12 hours of birth. They should
also get Dose #1 of hepatitis B vaccine at the same time at a separate site.

For other exposed persons, the dose of HBIG is 0.06 ml/kg of body weight. To calculate
the dose:

B Convert body weight to kilograms (kg).

B Multiply the number of kilograms by 0.06 ml/kg.

For example, if the person weighs 110 Ibs, the number of kilograms = 110 Ibs + 2.2
(number of pounds per kilogram) = 50.0 kg. The correct dose of HBIG is 50.0 kg x 0.06
mi/kg or 3.0 ml.

HBIG Dosage at a Glance
Use the following table to identify dosage based on weight.

Body Weightin | Body Weight in Dose in
pounds (Ibs) kilograms (kg) milliliter (ml)
100 45.5 2.7
110 50.0 3.0
120 54.5 3.3
130 59.1 3.5
140 63.6 3.8
150 68.2 4.1
160 72.7 4.4
170 77.3 4.6
180 81.8 4.9
190 86.4 5.2
200 90.9 5.5
210 95.5 5.7
220 100.0 6.0
230 104.5 6.3
240 109.1 6.5
250 113.6 6.8
Dose = 0.06 ml x kg of body weight; 1 kg = 2.2 Ibs
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Vaccine Specifics:
Storing and Handling Hepatitis B Vaccine and HBIG

Always read the package insert. Read the table below for storage and handling
supplemental information, but that this does not take the place of the package insert.

Shipping Requirements: Use insulated container. Must ship with
refrigerant.

Condition on Arrival: Should not have been frozen. Refrigerate on
arrival.
Storage Requirements: Refrigerate immediately upon arrival. Store at 2°-

8°C (35°-46°F). DO NOT FREEZE.

Shelf Life/Expiration: Hepatitis B Vaccine - up to 3 years. Check date
on container or vial.
HBIG - up to 12 months. Check date on container

or vial.
Instructions for Inspect visually for particulate matter or
Reconstitution or Use: discoloration. Shake vial or fill syringe well before
use.

Shelf Life After Reconstitution | Check expiration date on vial, or manufacturer-
or Opening: filled syringe. Give the vaccine shortly after
withdrawal. If pre-filled syringe, administer after
the needle is attached to the syringe.

Special Instructions: Rotate stock so that you use the material with the
earliest expiration date first.

Best Practices for Storing and Handling All Vaccines

1. Have policies and procedures in place to rotate stock and check expiration date
of vaccine weekly. Use vaccine with earliest expiration date so none become
outdated.

2. Do not use outdated vaccine.

3. Never store vaccine in refrigerator door.

4. When transporting vaccine, always use an insulated container with ice packs.
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Vaccine Specifics:
Ages and Intervals*®

The table below shows the vaccine dose of particular vaccines, with recommended
ages, intervals, and minimum ages for getting the vaccines.

Recommended Minimum Recommended Minimum
Vaccine & dose number , age for this interval to next interval to
age for this dose
dose dose next dose
Hepatitis B1% Birth—2 months Birth 1—4 months 4 weeks
Hepatitis B2 1—4 months 4 weeks 2—17 months 8 weeks
Hepatitis B3** 6—18 months 6 months® - -

Source:
B MMWR, Centers for Disease Control, December 23, 2005/Vol. 54/No. RR-16:
www.cdc.qgov/mmwr/PDF/rr/rr5416.pdf

19 Combination vaccines are available. Using licensed combination vaccines is preferred over separate
injections of their equivalent component vaccines. (Source: CDC Combination vaccines for childhood
immunization; recommendations of the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP), the
American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP), and the American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP).
MMWR 1999;48 [No. RR-5:5]. When administering combination vaccines, the minimum age for
administration is the oldest age for any of the individual components; the minimum interval between
doses is equal to the greatest interval of any of the individual antigens.

20 A combination hepatitis B-Hib vaccine is available (Comvax®, manufactured by Merck Vaccine
Division). This vaccine should not be administered to infants aged <6 weeks because the Hib component.
L Hepatitis B3 should be administered >8 weeks after Hepatitis B2 and 16 weeks after Hepatitis B1, and
it should not be administered before age 24 weeks (164 days). This applies to all infants, regardless of
mothers HBsAg status.

#2 Calendar months.
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References and Hospital Resources
References for this Hepatitis B Prevention Program Guidelines Manual and
Helpful Resources for Hospitals

Manual References

CDC Perinatal Hepatitis B Prevention Program Case Transfer Form
www.cdc.qov/hepatitis/Partners/Perinatal/docs/CDC Case Transfer Form.doc

CDC Hepatitis B Vaccine: What You Need to Know — Vaccine Information Sheet
(VIS) www.cdc.gov/vaccines/pubs/vis/downloads/vis-hep-b.pdf

Hepatitis B Facts: Testing and Vaccination www.immunize.org/catg.d/p2110.pdf

MMWR (Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report) Recommendations and Reports
— A Comprehensive Immunization Strategy to Eliminate Transmission of
Hepatitis B Virus Infection in the United States: Recommendations of the
Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP), 2005
www.cdc.gov/mmwr/PDF/rr/rr5416.pdf

MMWR (Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report) Recommendations and Reports
— Recommendations for Identification and Public Health Management of Persons
with Chronic Hepatitis B Virus Infection, 2008
www.cdc.gov/mmWR/PDF/rr/rr5708.pdf

WAC 246-101-101 Notifiable Conditions and the Health Care Provider:
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=246-101-101

Hospital Resources

Give the Birth Dose www.immunize.org/catq.d/p2125.pdf

Medical Errors www.immunize.org/catq.d/p2128.pdf

Admission Orders for Labor & Delivery and Newborn Units to Prevent Hepatitis B
Virus Transmission www.immunize.org/catg.d/p2130.pdf

B Sample Text for Admission Orders for Heaptatits B Vaccine Birth Dose in

Newborn Nursery www.immunize.org/catg.d/p2131.pdf

W Stickers for medical charts:

= Prenatal stickers: Reporting HBsAg-positive Mothers Required
(www.doh.wa.gov/cth/Immunize/documents/reportingmother.doc)
Print stickers on Avery mailing labels 5163 to flag prenatal medical charts
of HBsAg-positive pregnant women. Print in color.

= Hospital Sticker: ALERT: Give HBIG and Hep B Vaccine
(www.doh.wa.gov/cth/Immunize/documents/hepbalertbaby.doc)
Print stickers on Avery mailing labels 5163 to flag hospital medical charts
of babies born to HBsAg-positive mothers. Print in color.

Perinatal Hepatitis B Prevention Program Guidelines, Chapter 3: What Hospitals Need to Know Page 73 of 98



= Pediatric Sticker: This baby requires hepatitis B immunization
(www.doh.wa.gov/cfth/Immunize/documents/hepbthisbaby.doc)
Print stickers on Avery mailing labels 5163 to flag pediatric medical charts
of babies born to HBsAg-positive mothers. Print in color.

B Order Hepatitis B Materials www.doh.wa.gov/cth/immunize/forms/default.htm

B Pregnancy and Chronic Hepatitis B
www.hepb.org/learnquide/print/print.html#a21

B WAC 246-101-101 Notifiable Conditions and the Health Care Provider:
http://apps.leqg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=246-101-101
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