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Approval:

Gretchen Eslick (RN, DNS), Lewis Neace (DO, Chief of Staff), Shane
McGuire (CEO), Stephanie Carpenter (RN, COO)

Death with Dignity Act

PURPOSE:

To provide guidance to Columbia County Health System (CCHS) employed and

contracted

providers regarding the Death with Dignity (DWD) Act in Accordance with

SB 5179 (Laws of 2023) and RCW 70.245

POLICY:

1.

Washington law recognizes the rights and responsibilities of qualified patients
and health care providers under the DWD (‘Act”). Under Washington’s law, a
health care provider, including providers working at (CCHS) can assist a
qualified patient (resident of WA State, greater than 18 years of age and with
a documented terminal condition and/or prognosis of 6 months or less of life
expectancy, and mentally competent to make an informed medical decision)
in the processes and provisions outlined in the law ending that patient’s life.

CCHS providers can participate under the DWD Act if they choose. This
means that in the performance of their duties, CCHS employed and contracted
providers can assist (Facilitating a patients desire to participate in the
provisions outlined in the law) a patient in pharmacologically ending a
patient’s life under the Act in the patients’ home. In addition, the provider
may participate on the property owned and operated by the hospital.

No patient will be denied other medical care or treatment because of the
patient’s participation under the Act. The patient will be treated in the same
manner as all other CCHS patients. The appropriate standard of care will be
followed.

All providers at CCHS are expected to respond to any patient’s query about
life-ending medication with openness and compassion. CCHS believes our
providers have an obligation to openly discuss the patient’s concerns, unmet
needs, feelings, and desires about the dying process. Providers should seek to
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learn the meaning behind the patient’s questions and help the patient
understand the range of available options, including but not limited to comfort
care, hospice care, and pain control. Ultimately, CCHS’s goal is to help
patients make informed decisions about end-of-life care.

PROCEDURE:

Refer to: Death with Dignity Checklist-End of Life Washington.

1. The patient must make two verbal (oral) requests (referred to as the first oral
request [FOR] and second oral request [SOR]) which must be documented in their
medical record at least 7 days apart.

2. Two independent, qualified providers (Attending Provider AP and Consulting
Provider CP) must certify that a patient meets all the above eligibility criteria, and
each must inform the patient of the right to rescind the request.

3. Ifthere is concern from either the AP or CP about the patient’s decision-making
capacity, especially regarding underlying mental health issues, either provider can
request a psychiatric/psychological consultation. The psychiatric provider will
assess the patient and then complete the Psychiatric/Psychological Provider
Compliance Form.

4. After the patient is evaluated by the AP at least once (includes
virtual/telemedicine visits), the patient must initial, sign, and date the Written
Request to End my Life in a Humane and Dignified Manner (aka WR) form. They
also must have the form witnessed, initialed, signed, and dated by two witnesses
who attest to their belief that the patient is competent, acting voluntarily, and not
being coerced to sign the request. This form should then be sent to the AP.

5. Once all the elements described above have been completed, the AP can then
write and send (via fax, electronic submission, mail, or hand delivery) the
Medical Aid in Dying (MAID) prescription to a participating pharmacy.

a. The written prescription is usually held at the pharmacy until the patient
notifies them that they are within a few days from wanting to ingest the
meds, and then the medicine mixture will be compounded by the
pharmacy.

b. The written prescription is valid for 6 months. After 6 months, a new
prescription with an updated date will need to be re-sent.

c. Once the MAID medication cocktail is compounded, expert pharmacists
recommend a 6-month shelf life.
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6. Within 30 days of sending the MAID prescription to the pharmacy, the AP must
complete the AP Compliance form (found HERE), and is responsible for
submitting (via electronic portal, fax to 360-200-7408, or mail- see first page of
form for address) the following completed forms to the DOH: AP compliance
form, CP compliance form, WR signed by patient and initialed/signed by
witnesses, and the psychiatric assessment form if applicable.

7. Within 30 days of death by any cause, the AP is responsible to submit
(electronically, by fax, or by mail) the AP After-Death Reporting form to the
DOH.

8. For more information or connection with an End of Life WA volunteer, all forms
needed and counseling and tips, see Death with Dignity Checklist - End of Life

Washington.

9. Participating providers will be responsible for all forms and procedure above as
well as:

a. Informing the patient’s attending provider within one working day that the
patient wishes to take life-ending medications.

b. Ensuring that the medical record is complete, and all required
documentation is included. A copy of the Do Not Resuscitate (DNR)
order, copies of advance directives, and Physician Order for Life
Sustaining Treatment (POLST) form, if such documents are in the medical
record, are to be included.

c. Communicating with other clinicians involved with the patient to ensure
continuity of care.

d. Documenting all communication in the patient’s medical record.

10. In the event a patient decides to participate in the DWD Act, the provider will
notify the county coroner of the patient’s choice to participate in the DWD Act.

PUBLIC NOTICE.

CCHS will provide public notice of this policy in the following ways: posting the
policy information about the hospital’s stance on the Death with Dignity Act on
the hospital’s web page; DOH website, information in hospital materials
regarding advance directives; and including information in patient right’s
document.


https://nam11.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fendoflifewa.org%2Fdeath-with-dignity-patients%2Fdeath-with-dignity-checklist%2F&data=05%7C02%7CStephanieC%40cchd-wa.org%7Ca26e18858be1413eea6008dc067dfa31%7C458d451844dd4cc68d3f0fab72e49753%7C1%7C0%7C638392385353967638%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C3000%7C%7C%7C&sdata=InpqXafC2SaAtatViHI24Lyz3et5%2FZzFosnSt%2FGHos4%3D&reserved=0
https://nam11.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fendoflifewa.org%2Fdeath-with-dignity-patients%2Fdeath-with-dignity-checklist%2F&data=05%7C02%7CStephanieC%40cchd-wa.org%7Ca26e18858be1413eea6008dc067dfa31%7C458d451844dd4cc68d3f0fab72e49753%7C1%7C0%7C638392385353967638%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C3000%7C%7C%7C&sdata=InpqXafC2SaAtatViHI24Lyz3et5%2FZzFosnSt%2FGHos4%3D&reserved=0
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RESOURCES:

RCW: 70.245
https://apps.leq.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=70.245&full=true

Death with Dignity Checklist - End of Life Washington



https://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=70.245&full=true
https://nam11.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fendoflifewa.org%2Fdeath-with-dignity-patients%2Fdeath-with-dignity-checklist%2F&data=05%7C02%7CStephanieC%40cchd-wa.org%7Ca26e18858be1413eea6008dc067dfa31%7C458d451844dd4cc68d3f0fab72e49753%7C1%7C0%7C638392385353967638%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C3000%7C%7C%7C&sdata=InpqXafC2SaAtatViHI24Lyz3et5%2FZzFosnSt%2FGHos4%3D&reserved=0
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