

## Medical cannabis laws and rules

The Cannabis Patient Protection Act was signed into law April 2015 and went into full effect on July 1, 2016.

This law aligns licensing and regulation of all cannabis producers, processors, retail stores and patient cooperatives under the oversight of the Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board (WSLC).

The Washington State Department of Health manages the medical cannabis database system and credentialing of medical cannabis consultants who work in medically endorsed cannabis stores.

Read the specific laws and rules on the Washington State Legislature web site:

- RCW 69.51A.250
- RCW 69.50.331 (7-8)
- Chapter 314-55-410 WAC

A patient's guide to...

# Medical **Cannabis** Cooperatives

### Learn more...

Washington State Department of Health Medical Cannabis Program

www.doh.wa.gov/medicalcannabis

360-236-4819

medicalcannabis@doh.wa.gov



# What is a cooperative?

The medical cannabis cooperative law replaced the cannabis collectives law on July 1, 2016. Up to four medical cannabis patients or their designated provider\* may join together to grow cannabis for the patients' personal use.

Every member must be entered into the medical cannabis authorization database and have a medical cannabis recognition card. The total number of plants authorized for the participants may not exceed 60 plants.

Cooperatives must register with the **Washington State Liquor and Cannabis** Board (WSLCB) and follow all regulations.

### Record-keeping

The leader of the cooperative must:

- Maintain all records required by the WSLCB.
- Ensure that members notify the WSLCB within 15 days of joining or leaving the cooperative.
- Wait 60 days after a member leaves the cooperative before adding a new member.

# \*Who is the designated provider?

Medical cannabis patients may designate someone to purchase their cannabis product and/or grow the cannabis for them.



# How to form a cooperative...



Step 1: Have a medical cannabis authorization form To participate in a medical cannabis cooperative you must be authorized by your healthcare practitioner to use cannabis for medical purposes or be a designated provider for a patient.

### Step 3: Join together

Up to four cardholders may form a cooperative that must be located at the home of one of the members.



# Step 2: Get entered into the database

Each member of the cooperative must take their medical cannabis authorization form to a licensed and medically endorsed cannabis store in Washington. A consultant in the store can enter the information into the medical cannabis authorization database and create the medical cannabis recognition card.

### Step 4: Register your coopertive

One of the cooperative members must be designated as the leader and will complete the registration application on the Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board's (WSLCB) website. Photocopies of all cooperative members' medical cannabis recognition cards are needed for the application.



### **Step 5: Get your plants**

If you are starting a new cooperative, you must buy your plants from a **licensed WSLCB producer** so they will be entered into the tracking system. White you are waiting for approval from the WSLCB, be sure not to grow more than the number of authorized plants for the cardholder at the residence of the proposed cooperative site.

### Step 6: Keep your permit at the growing site

Once you have received your registration, make sure you keep it and copies of all the members' recognition cards near where the plants are being grown. WSLCB enforcement officers and local law enforcement may visit to ensure you are following regulations.



### Cooperative regulations

In order to form a cooperative, all members must follow the state law and rules.

### **Cooperative members may ONLY:**

- Be in a cooperative if they have a valid medical cannabis recognition card.
- Form a four member cooperative.
- Participate in a cooperative if they are at least 21 years of age.
- Grow up to the total number of plants authorized, with a maximum of 60 plants.
- Belong to one cooperative.
- Grow plants in the cooperative and not anywhere else.
- Use the cannabis and its products, and not sell or give away cannabis or cannabis products to anyone who is not in the cooperative.

#### A cooperative must be:

- Located at one of the member's homes.
- Limited to one cooperative per tax parcel.
- Enclosed by an 8-foot fence, if outdoors, and cannot easily be seen or smelled.

# No cooperative may be located in any of the following areas:

- Within one mile of a cannabis retailer;
- Within the smaller of either:
  - 1,000 feet of schools, playgrounds, recreation centers, daycare centers, or any facility restricted to people 21 years or older, or
  - The area restricted by ordinances; or
  - Where prohibited by city, town, or county zoning laws.