

Health News Release

For immediate release: January 9, 2023

(23-001)

Contact: DOH Communications

Public inquiries: Health Systems Customer Service 360-236-4700

State disciplines health care providers

OLYMPIA -- The Washington State Department of Health has taken disciplinary actions or withdrawn charges against the following health care providers in our state.

The department's Health Systems Quality Assurance Division works with boards, commissions, and advisory committees to set licensing standards for more than 80 health care professions (e.g., dentists, nurses, counselors). Information about disciplinary action taken against medical doctors and physician assistants can be found on the <u>Washington Medical Commission (WMC) website</u>. Questions about WMC disciplinary actions can be sent to <u>media@wmc.wa.gov</u>.

Information about health care providers is on the agency website. Click on "Look up a health <u>care provider license</u>" in the "How Do I?" section of the <u>Department of Health website</u> (doh.wa.gov). The site includes information about a health care provider's license status, the expiration and renewal date of their credential, disciplinary actions and copies of legal documents issued after July 1998. This information is also available by calling 360-236-4700. Consumers who think a health care provider acted unprofessionally are encouraged to call and report their complaint.

Benton County

In December 2022 the Nursing Commission and registered nurse **Krystabel Briony Pitts** (RN60872558) agreed to an order that places Pitts' credential on probation for at least 12 months. The order also requires quarterly performance reports, an ethics and boundaries course and exam, other coursework, and a report about the importance of ethics and boundaries in nursing. Pitts falsified forms and a COVID-19 test card to provide proof of a negative COVID test for herself and another person.

Clark County

In December 2022 the Dental Commission and **Brady Tucker Smith** (DE60506244) agreed to an order that requires him to take a 22-hour dental ethics and conduct course, pass the Commission's jurisprudence exam, pay a \$7,500 fine, pay \$2,159 to reimburse Commission expenses and cooperate with at least five unannounced patient records audits.

In December 2022 the Nursing Commission charged registered nurse **Tiffany Anne Davidson** (RN60325495) with unprofessional conduct when she allegedly failed to comply with a 2018 agreement that required that her health care employer submit quarterly performance evaluations.

Disciplinary actions January 9, 2023 Page 2

Cowlitz County

In December 2022 the Nursing Commission charged registered nurse **Joshua Donald Phelps** (RN60635723) with unprofessional conduct for allegedly failing to report to a patient's provider that the patient had low blood sugar and ensuring that the patient ate breakfast before administering Lispro to the patient.

King County

In December 2022 the secretary of health ended conditions on the dentist license of **Callisto Rojas** (DE60127734).

In December 2022 the Nursing Commission and registered nurse **Mary Jane S. Wayman**, also known as Mary Jane S. Bartose (RN60089672), agreed to an order that reinstates her license and places it on probation while Wayman completes an approved refresher class. Wayman must also actively participate in intake with a substance use monitoring program.

In December 2022 the Examining Board of Psychology withdrew charges against psychologist **Marsha A. Hedrick** (PY00000606).

Pierce County

In December 2022 the secretary of health granted with conditions a home care aide license to **Jason Norman Shrum** (HM61133755). Shrum, who agreed to the conditions, must have his employer submit quarterly performance evaluations. Shrum was convicted of driving while under the influence in 2016 and 2004.

In December 2022 the Veterinary Board of Governors ended conditions on the veterinarian license of **Corey L. Michel** (VT61021078).

In December 2022 the Nursing Assistant Program and registered nursing assistant Lucy Njeri **Mubeh** (NA60419680) agreed to an order that reinstates her credential with conditions. The conditions include probation for at least 18 months, quarterly performance evaluations, and unannounced audits.

Yakima County

In December 2022 the Nursing Commission charged licensed practical nurse **Margie Evelyn Eunice Hays** (LP60067369) with unprofessional conduct. Hays allegedly failed to administer daily inhaler medications to two patients for five days but had charted that she had administered the medications.

Out of State

Oregon: In December 2022 the Nursing Commission ended conditions on the registered nurse license of **Denise Susan Jones** (RN60974721).

Disciplinary actions January 9, 2023 Page 3

Utah: In December 2022 the secretary of health charged dentist **Spencer Charles Woodbury** (DE60283391) with unprofessional conduct for allegedly having sexual contact with a patient.

West Virginia: In December 2022 the secretary of health reinstated the registered and certified nursing assistant licenses of **Brianna Marie Sheppard**, also known as Brianna Marie Brewster (NA60108864, NC60123100).

Note to Editors: Health care providers charged with unprofessional conduct have 20 days to respond to the Department of Health in writing. The case then enters the settlement process. If no disciplinary agreement can be reached, the case will go to a hearing.

The <u>DOH website</u> is your source for *a healthy dose of information*. <u>Find us on Facebook</u> and <u>follow us on Twitter</u>. Sign up for the DOH blog, <u>Public Health Connection</u>.

###