

RULE-MAKING ORDER

CR-103P (May 2009) (Implements RCW 34.05.360)

Agency: Department of Health **Permanent Rule Only** Effective date of rule: **Permanent Rules** 31 days after filing. Other (specify) 11/01/2012 (If less than 31 days after filing, a specific finding under RCW 34.05.380(3) is required and should be stated Any other findings required by other provisions of law as precondition to adoption or effectiveness of rule? ⊠ No If Yes, explain: Purpose: Title 246 WAC - Amending rules to reduce the annual surcharge (fee) for fifteen health professions that supports the Health Evidence Resource for Washington (HEAL-WA) web portal provided by the University of Washington. The surcharge is authorized by RCW 43.70.110(3)(c). Reducing the fee will align the revenue the department collects with the spending authority to transfer funds to the UW. See attachment A for affected professions and WAC sections. Citation of existing rules affected by this order: Repealed: None Amended: See attachment A Suspended: None Statutory authority for adoption: RCW 43.70.110(3)(c) Other authority: RCW 43.70.250 PERMANENT RULE (Including Expedited Rule Making) Adopted under notice filed as WSR 12-15-056 on 07/17/2012 (date). Describe any changes other than editing from proposed to adopted version: None If a preliminary cost-benefit analysis was prepared under RCW 34.05.328, a final cost-benefit analysis is available by contacting: Name: phone Address: fax e-mail **Date adopted:** 09/18/12 **CODE REVISER USE ONLY** NAME (TYPE OR PRINT) OFFICE OF THE CODE REVISER STATE OF WASHINGTON Mary Selecky FILED DATE: September 18, 2012 SIGNATURE TIME: 3:51 PM They Electy WSR 12-19-088 TITLE Secretary

Note: If any category is left blank, it will be calculated as zero. No descriptive text.

Count by whole WAC sections only, from the WAC number through the history note. A section may be counted in more than one category.

The number of sections adopted in order to comply with:	The number	of	sections	ado	pted i	n	order	to	comp	oly	with:
---	------------	----	----------	-----	--------	---	-------	----	------	-----	-------

The number of sections adopted in or	der to co	omply w	vith:			
Federal statute:	New	<u>0</u>	Amended	<u>0</u>	Repealed	<u>0</u>
Federal rules or standards:	New	<u>0</u>	Amended	<u>0</u>	Repealed	<u>0</u>
Recently enacted state statutes:	New	<u>0</u>	Amended	<u>0</u>	Repealed	<u>0</u>
The number of sections adopted at the	e reques New	et of a n	ongovernmental e Amended	ntity:	Repealed	<u>0</u>
The number of sections adopted in the	e agency	_	initiative:	_		_
	New	<u>0</u>	Amended	<u>12</u>	Repealed	<u>0</u>
The number of sections adopted in or	der to cla	arify, st	reamline, or refor	m age	ency procedures:	
	New	<u>0</u>	Amended	<u>0</u>	Repealed	<u>0</u>
The number of sections adopted using	g:					
Negotiated rule making:	New	<u>0</u>	Amended	<u>0</u>	Repealed	<u>0</u>
Pilot rule making:	New	<u>0</u>	Amended	<u>0</u>	Repealed	<u>0</u>
Other alternative rule making:	New	<u>0</u>	Amended	<u>12</u>	Repealed	<u>0</u>

Purpose (continued):

Health professions affected by the HEAL-WA surcharge reduction, WAC sections amended, previous and amended fee amounts.

Profession*	WAC	Previous HEAL-WA Fee (annual)	Reduced HEAL-WA Fee (annual), Effective 11/1/12
Chiropractors	246-808-990	\$25.00	\$16.00
Marriage/Family Therapists	246-809-990	\$25.00	\$16.00
Massage Therapists	246-830-990	\$25.00	\$16.00
Mental Health Counselors	246-809-990	\$25.00	\$16.00
Midwives	246-834-990	\$25.00	\$16.00
Naturopathic Physicians	246-836-990	\$25.00	\$16.00
Optometrists	246-851-990	\$25.00	\$16.00
Osteopathic Physicians	246-853-990	\$25.00	\$16.00
Osteopathic Physician Assistants	246-853-990	\$25.00	\$16.00
Physicians	246-919-990	\$25.00	\$16.00
Physician Assistants	246-918-990	\$25.00	\$16.00
Podiatrists	246-922-990	\$25.00	\$16.00
Psychologists	246-924-990	\$25.00	\$16.00
Registered Nurses	246-840-990	\$20.00	\$16.00
Social Workers (advanced & independent)	246-809-990	\$25.00	\$16.00

^{*}East Asian Medicine Practitioners are not impacted by the fee change. Their HEAL-WA fee will remain at \$9.00 per year. Although assessed annually, some professions with a two-year renewal cycle pay the HEAL-WA fee for two years when the practitioner renews his or her credential.

Citation of existing rules affected by this order (continued):

Amended: WAC 246-808-990, 246-809-990, 246-830-990, 246-834-990, 246-836-990, 246-840-990, 246-851-990, 246-853-990, 246-918-990, 246-919-990, 246-922-990, and 246-924-990.

 $\underline{\text{AMENDATORY}}$ SECTION (Amending WSR 11-20-092, filed 10/4/11, effective 12/1/11)

WAC 246-808-990 Chiropractic fees and renewal cycle. (1) Licenses and registrations must be renewed on the practitioner's birthday every year as provided in chapter 246-12 WAC, Part 2.

(2) The following nonrefundable fees will be charged for chiropractic license:

Title of Fee	Fee
Application/full examination or reexamination	\$630.00
Temporary permit application	205.00
Temporary practice permit	105.00
Preceptorship	155.00
License renewal	582.00
Late renewal penalty	302.00
Expired license reissuance	302.00
Inactive license renewal	257.00
Expired inactive license reissuance	157.00
Duplicate license	30.00
Certification of license	30.00
UW on-line access fee (HEAL-WA)	((25.00)) 16.00

(3) The following nonrefundable fees will be charged for chiropractic X-ray technician registration:

Title of Fee	Fee
Application	47.00
Original registration	47.00
Renewal	62.00
Late renewal penalty	62.00
Expired registration reissuance	62.00
Duplicate registration	30.00
Certification of registration	30.00

<u>AMENDATORY SECTION</u> (Amending WSR 11-19-098, filed 9/20/11, effective 1/1/12)

WAC 246-809-990 Licensed counselor, and associate--Fees and renewal cycle. (1) Licenses must be renewed every year on the practitioner's birthday as provided in chapter 246-12 WAC, Part 2. (2) Associate licenses are valid for one year and must be renewed every year on the date of issuance. The associate license

Fee

may be renewed no more than four times.

Title

(3)	The following nonrefundable fees will be charged for licensed marriage and family therapist:					
	Application	\$150.00				
	Initial license	75.00				
	Renewal	140.00				
	Late renewal penalty	70.00				
	Expired license reissuance	85.00				
	Duplicate license	10.00				
	Certification of license	10.00				
	UW on-line access fee (HEAL-WA)	((25.00)) <u>16.00</u>				
(4)	The following nonrefundable fees will for licensed mental health counselor:	be charged				
	Application	140.00				
	Initial license	125.00				
	Renewal	138.00				
	Late renewal penalty	60.00				
	Expired license reissuance	65.00				
	Duplicate license	10.00				
	Certification of license	10.00				
	UW on-line access fee (HEAL-WA)	((25.00)) <u>16.00</u>				
(5)	The following nonrefundable fees will for licensed advanced social worker and independent clinical social worker:	be charged				
	Application	125.00				
	Initial license	125.00				
	Renewal	126.00				
	Late renewal penalty	63.00				
	Expired license reissuance	72.50				
	Duplicate license	10.00				
	Certification of license	10.00				

Title		Fee
	UW on-line access fee (HEAL-WA)	((25.00)) 16.00
(6)	The following nonrefundable fees will be charged for licensed marriage and family therapy associates:	
	Application	50.00
	Renewal	40.00
	Late renewal penalty	40.00
	Expired license reissuance	40.00
	Duplicate license	15.00
	Certification of license	15.00
(7)	The following nonrefundable fees will be charged for licensed mental health counselor associates:	
	Application	50.00
	Renewal	40.00
	Late renewal penalty	40.00
	Expired license reissuance	40.00
	Duplicate license	15.00
	Certification of license	15.00
(8)	The following nonrefundable fees will be charged for licensed advanced social worker associates and licensed independent clinical social worker associates:	
	Application	50.00
	Renewal	40.00
	Late renewal penalty	40.00
	Expired license reissuance	40.00
	Duplicate license	15.00
	Certification of license	15.00

[2] OTS-4890.1

AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 09-11-016, filed 5/7/09, effective 6/7/09)

WAC 246-830-990 Massage fees and renewal cycle. (1) Licenses must be renewed every year on the practitioner's birthday as provided in chapter 246-12 WAC, Part 2. ((The secretary may require payment of renewal fees less than those established in this section if the current level of fees is likely to result in a surplus of funds. Surplus funds are those in excess of the amount necessary to pay for the costs of administering the program and to maintain a reasonable reserve. Notice of any adjustment in the required payment will be provided to practitioners. The adjustment in the required payment shall remain in place for the duration of a renewal cycle to assure practitioners an equal benefit from the adjustment.))

(2) The following nonrefundable fees will be charged:

Title of Fee	Fee
Written examination and reexamination	\$65.00
Practical examination and reexamination	50.00
Initial license	90.00
Renewal	65.00
Late renewal penalty	50.00
Expired license reissuance	50.00
Inactive license renewal	50.00
Expired inactive license reissuance	50.00
Certification of license	10.00
Duplicate license	10.00
Intraoral massage endorsement	25.00
UW ((library)) on-line access fee (HEAL-	((25.00))
<u>WA)</u>	<u>16.00</u>

 $\underline{\text{AMENDATORY}}$ SECTION (Amending WSR 11-19-098, filed 9/20/11, effective 1/1/12)

WAC 246-834-990 Midwifery fees and renewal cycle. (1) Licenses must be renewed every year on the practitioner's birthday as provided in chapter 246-12 WAC, Part 2.

(2) The following fees are nonrefundable:

Title of Fee	Fee
Initial application	\$500.00
National examination administration (initial/retake)	103.00
State examination (initial/retake)	155.00
Renewal	500.00
Late renewal penalty	250.00
Duplicate license	25.00
Certification of license	25.00
Application feeMidwife-in-training program	978.75
Expired license reissuance	300.00
UW on-line access fee (HEAL-WA)	((25.00))
	<u>16.00</u>

AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 10-19-071, filed 9/16/10, effective 10/15/10)

- WAC 246-840-990 Fees and renewal cycle. (1) Applicants for a practical nurse license must pay the application fee and the nursing center surcharge fee when applying for a license. Licenses for practical nurse must be renewed every year on the practitioner's birthday as provided in chapter 246-12 WAC, Part 2. Practical nurses must pay the renewal fee and the nursing center surcharge fee when renewing licenses.
- (2) Applicants for a registered nurse license must pay the application fee, the RN UW (($\frac{1}{1}$)) on-line access fee ($\frac{1}{1}$), and the nursing center surcharge fee when applying for a license. Licenses for registered nurse must be renewed every year on the practitioner's birthday as provided in chapter 246-12 WAC, Part 2. Registered nurses must pay the renewal fee, the (($\frac{1}{1}$) HEAL-WA fee, and the nursing center surcharge fee when renewing licenses.
- (3) Licenses for advanced registered nurse must be renewed every two years on the practitioner's birthday as provided in chapter 246-12 WAC, Part 2.
- (4) Registrations for nursing technicians must be renewed every year on the practitioner's birthday as provided in chapter 246-12 WAC, Part 2. The renewal must be accompanied by an attestation as described in RCW 18.79.370. This attestation will include the nursing technician's anticipated graduation date. If the anticipated graduation date is within one year, the registration will expire thirty days after the anticipated graduation date. The expiration date may be extended to sixty days after graduation if the nursing technician can show good cause as defined in WAC 246-840-010(15).
- (5) ((The secretary may require payment of renewal fees less than those established in this section if the current level of fees is likely to result in a surplus of funds. Surplus funds are those in excess of the amount necessary to pay for the costs of administering the program and to maintain a reasonable reserve. Notice of any adjustment in the required payment will be provided to practitioners. The adjustment in the required payment shall remain in place for the duration of a renewal cycle to assure practitioners an equal benefit from the adjustment.
- (6))) The following nonrefundable fees shall be charged by the health professions quality assurance division of the department of health. Persons who hold an RN and an LPN license shall be charged separate fees for each license. Persons who are licensed as an advanced registered nurse practitioner in more than one specialty will be charged a fee for each specialty:

RN/LPN fees:

Title of Fee	Fee
RN application (initial or endorsement)	\$67.00
LPN application (initial or endorsement)	87.00
RN license renewal	76.00
LPN license renewal	91.00
Late renewal penalty	50.00
Expired license reissuance	70.00
Inactive renewal	40.00
Expired inactive license reissuance	40.00
Inactive late renewal penalty	30.00
Duplicate license	20.00
Verification of licensure/education (written)	25.00
Nursing center surcharge	5.00
RN UW ((library)) <u>on-line access</u> fee (<u>HEAL-WA)</u>	((20.00)) <u>16.00</u>
egistered nurse fees:	

Advanced reg

Title of Fee	Fee
ARNP application with or without prescriptive authority (per specialty)	\$92.00
ARNP renewal with or without prescriptive authority (per specialty)	96.00
ARNP late renewal penalty (per specialty)	50.00
ARNP duplicate license (per specialty)	20.00
ARNP written verification of license	
(per specialty)	25.00

Nurse technologist fees:

Title of Fee	Fee
Application fee registration	\$92.00
Renewal of registration	91.00
Duplicate registration	15.00
Registration late renewal penalty	50.00

[2] OTS-4893.1 AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 10-19-071, filed 9/16/10, effective 10/15/10)

WAC 246-851-990 Optometry fees and renewal cycle. (1) Licenses must be renewed every year on the practitioner's birthday as provided in chapter 246-12 WAC, Part 2. ((The secretary may require payment of renewal fees less than those established in this section if the current level of fees is likely to result in a surplus of funds. Surplus funds are those in excess of the amount necessary to pay for the costs of administering the program and to maintain a reasonable reserve. Notice of any adjustment in the required payment will be provided to practitioners. The adjustment in the required payment shall remain in place for the duration of a renewal cycle to assure practitioners an equal benefit from the adjustment.))

(2) The following nonrefundable fees will be charged:

Title of Fee	Fee
Application	\$175.00
Out-of-state seminar	100.00
License renewal	199.00
Late renewal penalty	100.00
Expired license reissuance	75.00
Inactive license renewal	75.00
Duplicate license	15.00
Certification of license	25.00
UW ((library)) <u>on-line access</u> fee (HEAL-WA)	((25.00)) <u>16.00</u>

AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 11-14-038, filed 6/28/11, effective 8/15/11)

- WAC 246-853-990 Osteopathic fees and renewal cycle. (1) Licenses must be renewed every year on the practitioner's birthday as provided in chapter 246-12 WAC, Part 2, except postgraduate training limited licenses.
- (2) Postgraduate training limited licenses must be renewed every year to correspond to program dates.
- (3) The following nonrefundable fees will be charged for osteopathic physicians:

Title of Fee	Fee
Endorsement application	\$600.00
Active license renewal	600.00
Active late renewal penalty	250.00
Active expired license reissuance	250.00
Inactive license renewal	350.00
Expired inactive license reissuance	225.00
Inactive late renewal penalty	175.00
Endorsement/state exam application	500.00
Reexam	100.00
Certification of license	50.00
Limited license application	325.00
Limited license renewal	300.00
Temporary permit application	70.00
Duplicate certificate	20.00
Substance abuse	
monitoring surcharge	25.00
UW on-line access fee (HEAL-WA)	((25.00))
	16.00

(4) The following nonrefundable fees will be charged for osteopathic physician assistants:

Title of Fee	Fee
Application	\$250.00
Renewal	250.00
Late renewal penalty	150.00
Expired license reissuance	100.00
Certification of license	30.00
Practice plan	70.00
Interim permit	200.00
License after exam	100.00

Title of Fee	Fee
Duplicate certificate	20.00
Substance abuse	
monitoring surcharge	25.00
UW on-line access fee (HEAL-WA)	((25.00))
	16.00

<u>AMENDATORY SECTION</u> (Amending WSR 09-16-120, filed 8/4/09, effective 8/15/09)

WAC 246-918-990 Physician assistants fees and renewal cycle.

- (1) Licenses must be renewed every two years on the practitioner's birthday as provided in chapter 246-12 WAC, Part 2.
- (2) The applicant or licensee must pay the following nonrefundable fees:

Title of Fee	Fee
Physician assistants:	
Application (annual)*	\$((125.00))
	<u>116.00</u>
Two-year renewal*	((220.00))
	<u>202.00</u>
Expired license reissuance	50.00
Duplicate license	15.00

^{*((}Includes:)) The application or renewal fee((τ)) includes the Washington physician health program surcharge (RCW 18.71A.020(3)) assessed at \$50.00 per year, and ((the fee to access)) the University of Washington (UW) HEAL-WA web ((site)) portal access fee (RCW 43.70.110) assessed at \$((25.00)) 16.00 per year.

AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 09-16-120, filed 8/4/09, effective 8/15/09)

WAC 246-919-990 Physician and surgeon fees and renewal cycle.

- (1) Licenses must be renewed every two years on the practitioner's birthday as provided in chapter 246-12 WAC, Part 2, except postgraduate training limited licenses.
- (2) Postgraduate training limited licenses must be renewed every year to correspond to the program's date.
- (3) A retired active physician who resides and practices in Washington and obtains or renews a retired active license is exempt from all licensing fees except for the impaired physician program surcharge authorized by RCW 18.71.310.
- (4) The applicants and licensees must pay the following nonrefundable fees:

Fee

Title of Fee

Title of Fee	ree
Physicians and surgeons: Chapter 18.71 RCW	
Application (annual)*	\$((500.00))
	<u>491.00</u>
Two-year renewal*	((675.00))
	<u>657.00</u>
Late renewal penalty	262.50
Expired license reissuance	262.50
Certification of license	50.00
Duplicate license	15.00
Temporary permit	50.00
Application fee for transitioning from a	((175.00))
postgraduate training limited license (annual)*	<u>166.00</u>
Retired active physicians and surgeons: (Two-year cycle)	
Retired active physician who resides and practices in-state per RCW 18.71.080 and 18.130.250 (Washington physician health program surcharge)	100.00
Retired active physician license renewal	((350.00))
*(does not meet in-state exemption)	<u>332.00</u>
Retired active late renewal penalty	50.00
Postgraduate limited license fees: RCW 18.71.095	
(One-year cycle)	
Limited license application*	((400.00))
	<u>391.00</u>
Limited license renewal*	((400.00))
	<u>391.00</u>

Title of Fee Fee

Limited duplicate license

15.00

*((Includes:)) The application or renewal fee((;)) includes: The Washington physician health program surcharge (RCW 18.71.310(2)) assessed at \$50.00 per year, and ((Includes: Access)) the University of Washington (UW) HEAL-WA web ((Includes: Access fee the text of t

<u>AMENDATORY SECTION</u> (Amending WSR 08-15-014, filed 7/7/08, effective 7/7/08)

- WAC 246-922-990 Podiatry fees and renewal cycle. (1) Licenses must be renewed every year on the practitioner's birthday as provided in chapter 246-12 WAC, Part 2, except for postgraduate training limited licenses. ((The secretary may require payment of renewal fees less than those established in this section if the current level of fees is likely to result in a surplus of funds. Surplus funds are those in excess of the amount necessary to pay for the costs of administering the program and to maintain a reasonable reserve. Notice of any adjustment in the required payment will be provided to practitioners. The adjustment in the required payment shall remain in place for the duration of a renewal cycle to assure practitioners an equal benefit from the adjustment.))
- (2) Postgraduate training limited licenses must be renewed every year to correspond to program dates. ((The secretary may require payment of renewal fees less than those established in this section if the current level of fees is likely to result in a surplus of funds. Surplus funds are those in excess of the amount necessary to pay for the costs of administering the program and to maintain a reasonable reserve. Notice of any adjustment in the required payment will be provided to practitioners. The adjustment in the required payment shall remain in place for the duration of a renewal cycle to assure practitioners an equal benefit from the adjustment.))
 - (3) The following nonrefundable fees will be charged:

Title of Fee	Fee
Application	\$975.00
License renewal	975.00
Inactive license renewal	175.00
Inactive late renewal penalty	100.00
Active late renewal penalty	300.00
Active expired license reissuance	300.00
Expired inactive license reissuance	67.50
Duplicate license	30.00
Certification of license	50.00
Retired active status	275.00
Temporary practice permit	50.00
Limited license application	400.00
Limited license renewal	475.00
Substance abuse monitoring surcharge	25.00

Title of Fee	Fee
UW ((library)) on-line access fee	((25.00))
(HEAL-WA)	16.00

 $\underline{\text{AMENDATORY}}$ SECTION (Amending WSR 11-20-092, filed 10/4/11, effective 12/1/11)

WAC 246-924-990 Psychology fees and renewal cycle. (1) Licenses must be renewed every year on the practitioner's birthday as provided in chapter 246-12 WAC, Part 2.

(2) The following nonrefundable fees will be charged:

Title of Fee	Fee
Application	\$275.00
Renewal	300.00
Renewal retired active	105.00
Late renewal penalty	155.00
Expired license reissuance	155.00
Duplicate license	30.00
Certification of license	30.00
Amendment of certificate of qualification	35.00
UW on-line access fee (HEAL-WA)	((25.00))
	<u>16.00</u>

AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 12-13-104, filed 6/20/12, effective 7/21/12)

WAC 246-836-990 Naturopathic physician licensing fees and renewal cycle. (1) Licenses must be renewed every year on the practitioner's birthday as provided in chapter 246-12 WAC, Part 2. (2) The following nonrefundable fees will be charged:

Title of Fee	Amount
Application initial/retake	\$100.00
State examination (initial/retake)	100.00
Initial license	100.00
License renewal	325.00
Late renewal penalty	62.50
Expired license reissuance	62.50
Duplicate license	15.00
Certification of license	15.00
UW ((library)) on-line access fee (HEAL-	*((25.00))
$\underline{\text{WA}}$	<u>16.00</u>

^{*} The ((\$25)) University of Washington HEAL-WA web portal access fee ((for the University of Washington HEAL-WA library web portal)), required under RCW 43.70.110, is assessed with the initial application fee and the license renewal fee.