
Certified Counselors & Advisers in Washington 
 

 

Determining the type of services and 
provider that best meets your needs 
There are many certified counselors and certified 
advisers in the state of Washington. They provide 
counseling services dealing with issues related but 
not limited to: 

• Gaining awareness and achieving sensitivity of self 
and others 

• Discovering and building on strengths/abilities 
• Gaining a stronger sense of self-confidence 

• Gaining a stronger sense of resiliency in dealing with 
life’s challenges and changes 

• Coping with grief and loss 
 

What you should expect from a 
certified counselor or certified adviser 
Your certified counselor or certified adviser is required 
by law to provide you with a disclosure statement, which 
should contain the following information: 

• Name and business contact information. 
• Washington State credential number. 
• Education, training, and experience. 
• Description of the types of counseling or therapeutic 

orientation. 
 

Your certified counselor or adviser should also: 

• Inform you of the costs of your treatment, billing 
practices, and how your records are maintained. 

• Give you the opportunity to discuss matters of 
confidentiality, privacy, and release of information. 

 

• Assist you in referrals to other professionals, if necessary 
or requested. 

• Treat you with respect and dignity. 
 

Maintaining a professional 
relationship 
Your relationship with your certified counselor or certified 
adviser should be professional in nature. Counseling 
may include discussing the most private aspects of your 
life and relationships. It is your therapist’s or counselor’s 
responsibility to provide an atmosphere of trust and 
respect. 

Counseling often deals with difficult and emotional issues. 
There may be a time when you feel confused or troubled by 
something that occurs during counseling. 

You are encouraged to talk about this with your counselor 
or adviser so that you may gain more clarity. If you don’t 
feel the issue has been resolved, you may wish to get a 
second opinion. 

You may also review the section of the law that 
describes forms of unprofessional conduct covered in 
RCW 18.130.180. Unprofessional conduct includes, 
but is not limited to: 
• Misrepresentations or false advertising 
• Incompetence, negligence, or malpractice 
• Violation of any state or federal code 
• Willful betrayal of confidentiality 
• Sexual misconduct 

What to Know 
Before You Go 



Certified Counselors & Advisers in Washington: What to Know Before You Go 
 
 

As with all counseling services, we encourage you to: 
• Determine the best fit for you, your children, or your 

family. 
• Review the personal disclosure statement of the 

counselor or adviser you are considering. 
• Ask questions about your particular situation. 

 
Certified counselors must: 
• Hold a bachelor’s or advance degree from a program 

accredited by nationally recognized standards. 
• Pass a state-approved exam. 
• Have a written consultation/supervisory agreement. 
• Complete 36 hours of continuing education every two 

years, with six hours being in law and ethics, and 
three hours of suicide assessment, screening, and 
referral every six years. 

 
Certified advisers must: 
• Hold an associate’s degree from a program accredited 

by nationally recognized standards 
• Pass a state-approved exam. 
• Have a written supervisory agreement. 
• 36 hours of continuing education every two years, 

with six hours of law and ethics, and three hours of 
suicide assessment, screening, and referral. 

 
Confidentiality and health care 
information access and disclosure 
Your certified counselor or certified adviser will create 
records about your counseling sessions. Your counselor 
or adviser should have a clear procedure to maintain 
confidentiality of your records. You have the right to 
expect that anything you tell your counselor or adviser 
will be held in confidence with a few specific exceptions: 
• If you are involved in a civil or criminal lawsuit, a 

judge can order your file be turned over to the court. 
• If you make statements that a child, elderly, or 

disabled person has been abused or neglected, law 
requires your counselor or adviser to report that 
information to the appropriate authorities. 

• If you make statements that indicate you intend to 
harm yourself or others, your counselor or adviser 
may report that information to the appropriate 
authorities. 

 
DOH 670-185 January 2023 
To request this document in another format, 
call 1-800-525-0127. Deaf or hard of hearing 
customers, please call 711 (Washington 
Relay) or email civil.rights@doh.wa.gov. 

Other circumstances may include inquiries or consultation 
with other healthcare providers. You will be asked to sign an 
authorization for release of information about your sessions. 
You should be informed of the reason for such disclosures 
and are encouraged to ask questions about anything that 
is unclear to you, prior to signing this authorization. 

Once signed and dated by you and your certified 
counselor or certified adviser, the disclosure statement 
is kept as part of your counseling record. 

 
The Certified Counselors and 
Hypnotherapists Advisory Committee 
An advisory committee, made up of two certified 
counselors, two registered hypnotherapists, and three 
public members, meets quarterly to provide advice to the 
Department of Health. 

The committee welcomes the public to attend meetings. 
Contact the Department of Health for meeting information 
or refer to the certified counselors or certified advisers 
website. 

The Health Systems Quality Assurance Division within 
the Department of Health has information on all health 
care professionals in the state. This information 
includes credential status and current restrictions or 
disciplinary actions since July of 1998. If you have a 
question about a provider, contact the Department of 
Health. 

 

 

Remember: Your involvement in developing goals, 
requesting a change in approach to services, or in 
decisions about termination of services is encouraged. 
 
If for any reason you are unable to resolve such a 
concern with your counselor or adviser, you may choose 
to file a complaint with the Department of Health. 
Contact the Customer Service Center for assistance: 

Customer Service Center 
(360) 236-4700 Fax: (360) 236-4818 
www.doh.wa.gov/hsqa hsqa.csc@doh.wa.gov 

Provider Credential Search Website 
https://fortress.wa.gov/doh/providercredentialsearch/ 

For additional information on certified counselors and 
certified advisers go to: 
https://www.doh.wa.gov/Certified-Counselors 
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